Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  

Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:

Ads by Google:

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Thinking Of College.

9 posts in this topic

I am 16 and was diagnosed with celiac disease about a year and a half ago. I am not there yet but I am curious about how you go about eating correctly in college. I also need to know if there are any killer cookies you like, the kind I loved are not carried by my health food store anymore. Thanks.

Ads by Google:

I have my own house so it really makes things easy as far as food goes. I don't have roomates to contaminate anything. I am a great cook so cooking is a breeze, the only trouble I have is finding the time to cook. I have a SUPER busy semester right now and hardly any time to cook. What I attempt to do is cook on sunday and monday and then eat leftovers the rest of the week. I also have meals in the freezer that I can just pull out and heat up (put leftovers in glad or ziploc containers, label, date and freeze).

If you are thinking of living in the dorms, go and talk to the person in charge of the food program and explain to them your situation. They MUST work with you. Celiac disease is covered by the Americans with Disabilities Act. They have to provide adequate food for you.

You have pleanty of time to figure out all your questions. Great idea to get a head start on them now so you aren't rushing around to find answers later.

Best of luck.

-Jessica :rolleyes:

Those are some really informative tips thank you! I just want to have an idea what to do. Since I have been diagnosed I have become a pretty good cook myself and cookbooks help me with that. The freezing idea is great!