Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

La Choy Soy Sauce
0

20 posts in this topic

Does anyone know if LA CHOY soy sauce is gluten free.I looked at the ingredients and it seems to be gluten free.

ingredients:WATER, SALT, HYDROLYZED SOY PROTEIN, CORN SYRUP, CARAMEL COLOR, POTASSIUM SORBATE(PRESERVATIVE)

Am I missing something?

Thanks :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Here is a list of gluten free soy sauces from this sites mainstream product list

Soy/Asian Sauces:

-Bragg's Liquid Aminos, distributed by Live Food Products, Santa Barbara, CA 93102. Tel: (800) 446-1990 and they accept credit card orders and deliver in three weeks.

-Chung King Soy Sauce (HVP from soybeans and corn)

-Chung King Teriyaki Sauce (HVP from soybeans and corn)

-Eden Brand Wheat-free Tamari Soy Sauce, Imported (better than domestic)

-Eden Brand Wheat-free Tamari Soy Sauce, Domestic

-La Choy Stir Fry Mandarin Soy Sauce

-La Choy Stir Fry Spicy Szechuan Sauce

-San-J International, Inc. - Wheat-Free Organic Tamari Soy Sauce. Address: 2880 Sprouse Drive, Richmond, VA 23231, USA, 800-448-5500, a subsidiary of San-Jirushi, Kuwana, Japan manufacturer of Tamari brand Soy Sauce. They make many different kinds of soy sauce including a wheat free Soy Sauce.

Hope this helps

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks Kaiti! :) Just wondering, did you see anything that would be suspicious in the ingredients?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is gluten-free, though for things that you haven't checked on, calling on the caramel color is a good idea.

La Choy, however, in my OH so HUMBLE opinion :lol: sucks. Some people like it, but I don't. I highly encourage you to try finding San-J's wheat free tamari. And having Bragg's on hand is a good idea for the times when you want something like the flavor of soy sauce, but much lighter.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just want to say I'm a huge gluten reactor and every time I used La Choy I reacted. I have switched to San-J Wheat-Free Organic Tamari Soy Sauce and I've not had a single problem. I'm not saying that La Choy has gluten I'm just saying SOMETHING in it bothers me.

Susan

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




La Choy Soy Sauce is made by ConAgra foods. I called them about it a few days ago and was told that their labeling policy is if it has any gluten ingredients (wheat, rye or barley) they will be listed as that ingredient or in the case of things like natural flavors it would be in parenthesis - for example natural flavors (derived from WHEAT). They, like Kraft, go above and beyond the labeling laws. I can't speak for the taste since I haven't tried it yet, but I will say that I will support companies with policies like these with my hard earned dollars.

If you react to the soy sauce, you're definitely reacting to something in it, but it's pretty safe to say that it's not gluten.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

La Choy is most definitely gluten-free and always has been. Wheat is the ingredient that most soy sauces have and in the U.S. it HAS to be listed. In fact, it was always listed even before the allergen law.

As for caramel color, the alleged danger there is wheat (I've never found caramel color with wheat), not barley, rye or oats. Again, in the U.S. it would have to be listed.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Can you provide a link where this product list is given?

Thanks!

Here is a list of gluten free soy sauces from this sites mainstream product list

Soy/Asian Sauces:

-Bragg's Liquid Aminos, distributed by Live Food Products, Santa Barbara, CA 93102. Tel: (800) 446-1990 and they accept credit card orders and deliver in three weeks.

-Chung King Soy Sauce (HVP from soybeans and corn)

-Chung King Teriyaki Sauce (HVP from soybeans and corn)

-Eden Brand Wheat-free Tamari Soy Sauce, Imported (better than domestic)

-Eden Brand Wheat-free Tamari Soy Sauce, Domestic

-La Choy Stir Fry Mandarin Soy Sauce

-La Choy Stir Fry Spicy Szechuan Sauce

-San-J International, Inc. - Wheat-Free Organic Tamari Soy Sauce. Address: 2880 Sprouse Drive, Richmond, VA 23231, USA, 800-448-5500, a subsidiary of San-Jirushi, Kuwana, Japan manufacturer of Tamari brand Soy Sauce. They make many different kinds of soy sauce including a wheat free Soy Sauce.

Hope this helps

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is gluten-free, though for things that you haven't checked on, calling on the caramel color is a good idea.

La Choy, however, in my OH so HUMBLE opinion laugh.gif sucks. Some people like it, but I don't. I highly encourage you to try finding San-J's wheat free tamari. And having Bragg's on hand is a good idea for the times when you want something like the flavor of soy sauce, but much lighter.

Bragg's is AWESOME!!! I liked it better than other brands before I was dx'd...for what it's worth.

Thx!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi, Just wanted to add that while La Choy Soy sauce may be gluten free, the "hydrolyzed soy protein" is derivative of msg and that may be what some people react to.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Where can I get San-J's? Regular grocery store or do I need to make a trip to the health food store? We have been using La Choy's but I don't like the way it tastes.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Where can I get San-J's? Regular grocery store or do I need to make a trip to the health food store? We have been using La Choy's but I don't like the way it tastes.

I bought San-J at a regular grocery store (specifically Giant Foods here in the East). A health food store would probably have it, too.

You may also want to look to see if they have the new gluten-free Kikkoman Soy Sauce. Kikkoman used to be my favorite before I went gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And the great thing about the Bragg is that sodium per serving is only about 110 mg. MUCH, MUCH less than even the reduced sodium soy sauce or San-J.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And the great thing about the Bragg is that sodium per serving is only about 110 mg. MUCH, MUCH less than even the reduced sodium soy sauce or San-J.

richard

If my calculations are correct, Bragg actually has more sodium. Assuming you are making a stir fry and use the same amount of either San-J low sodium or the Braggs Aminos. Maybe you use less Braggs? & add water for liquid (sauce)? A recipe I had said to use 1 tbsp of Braggs but I didn't have it & used 1 tbsp of San-J.

Braggs is 160 mg sodium per 1/2 tsp

San-J is 700 mg per tablespoon

3 teaspoons per tablespoons or 6 1/2 per tblsp.

6x 160 = 960 per tablespoon for Braggs

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Kikkoman just came out witha gluten-free soy sauce clearly marked gluten-free on front label...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I wasn't reading serving size carefully, although the Bragg I have says 110 mg, not 160.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I wasn't reading serving size carefully, although the Bragg I have says 110 mg, not 160.

richard

I got the 160 mg off the website. Might be some different versions. Or another example of the website & the product not matching up. The first rule of Celiac:

Read & go by the labels. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We called la Choy, they wanted the UPC code and said it is NOT gluten free.

 

My husband found 'Kikkoman Gluten Free' at Albertson's.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

These kinds of posts annoy me so much!! "We just called La Choy and said it was not gluten free". Why do you do things like that to mislead others??? If you don't know what you're talking about, why post anything at all?? I just got off the phone with La Choy. I spoke to a woman about my La Choy All Purpose Soy Sauce. We have no idea what product you were talking about, but THIS soy sauce does NOT contain any gluten. Furthermore, they test the lines after making anything that DOES contain gluten, before they move on to making another product. Their label will STATE if the product contains wheat, rye, or barley! This product does NOT contain gluten. It is not labeled "gluten free" because of our stupid govt regulations, but she did tell me they were "moving in that direction". If you only eat things labeled "gluten free", then don't eat it! But don't tell everyone it's not gluten free when it is. I have been using it for years, as have many other people, with no issues. Please don't come on here and make blanket statements that aren't even factual.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,345
    • Total Posts
      920,488
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Karen, the iodine test was a test for DH used in the 'olden' days. Iodine would be swabbed onto a spot and then it would be covered with a bandage. If someone had DH the iodined area would break out in lesions. I don't know how but we do know iodine can activate the antibodies. That is why some of us with DH have to avoid iodine in foods until the antibodies have cleared the dermis. OP, if you haven't been tested for celiac you should be and if you have active lesions a biopsy done next to a lesion by a DH knowledgable dermatologist may help in diagnosis.
    • The gluten-free diet (GFD) is the only validated treatment for celiac disease (celiac disease), but despite strict adherence, complete mucosal recovery is rarely ... View the full article
    • What's an " iodine test"?  Haven't heard doctors doing that to diagnose DH.
    • Hello! I've just been given my blood results and told they are highly suggestive of coeliacs but will have to wait till next month to see the gastroenterologist and who knows how much longer for a biopsy. My igA, igG and tissuetrans igA were all over 250 and tissuetrans igG was the only one that was normal. These results don't mean much to me yet but I'm told they are very high. I'm now quite fearful of how much damage I've gone to myself. I've had stomach problems for 25 years (just turned 40) and have often steered clear of too much bread and pasta for how bloated it made me feel but the symptoms were always vague and inconsistent so I kept eating. I had a couple of boats of gastro in the past few months (thanks kids) which I took a lot longer than normal to recover from which looking back may have been related. Then last Friday I had a blowout with wine, cheese, crackers, pizza and chocolate cake. I'm sure I've probably had blowouts like that before but I have never felt so sick before and am still slowly recovering. This is what finally prompted me to go back to my GP after being fobbed off so many times over the years. So I guess my question and my concern is whether there is still  chance of a false positive with levels like this? I worry what else it might be if not coeliac. I'm also worried that I may have done so much damage to myself that I will have several disorders going on! I'm also still recovering from last Friday and wondering when I'm going to feel better. I've stayed off gluten and dairy since my blood result a couple of days ago but feel like I'm allergic to food in general.  Thankyou!!    
    • Here's what the Klondike Bar makers say on the FAQ page of their website (August 2016): Are your products gluten free? Nope. They are not. We have not validated for gluten free. We do not operate allergen-free manufacturing sites, however we do have allergen management programs in all our facilities. The intent of these programs is to avoid unintentional cross-contamination of allergens between products. Our product labels adhere to the FDA’s strict regulations regarding declaration of ingredients and allergens. We do not use the terms “Natural” or “Artificial Flavorings” to hide the existence of any allergens. RECIPES CAN CHANGE. We strongly recommend that allergic consumers refer to ingredient declarations EVERY TIME they purchase processed foods.
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,415
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Ails123
    Joined