Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Balsamic Vinegar And Soy Sauce?


  • Please log in to reply

4 replies to this topic

#1 KRP78

 
KRP78

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
 

Posted 08 December 2009 - 02:15 PM

I'm very new to a gluten-free diet and am trying to figure out what I can and cannot eat. Is balsamic vinegar generally gluten-free? I saw "caramel coloring" on one, and I know that's risky. If it is a brand-by-brand issue, does anyone know of specific brands that are safe?

Also, I know that many soy sauces have wheat -- does anyone have recommendations for soy sauces that do not?

Thanks for your help!
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 psawyer

 
psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,070 posts
 

Posted 08 December 2009 - 02:33 PM

Caramel color is one of those celiac urban myths that just won't go away.

Here is Shelley Case's take on it, from Gluten-Free Diet A Comprehensive Resource Guide:

Although gluten-containing ingredients (barley malt syrup and starch hydrolysates) can be used in the production of caramel color, North American companies use corn as it has a longer shelf life and makes a superior product. European companies use glucose derived from wheat starch, however caramel color is highly processed and contains no gluten.

[Emphasis in original]
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#3 Ahorsesoul

 
Ahorsesoul

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,261 posts
 

Posted 08 December 2009 - 05:43 PM

Soy Sauce: La Choy soy sauce and San-J wheat free Tamari
  • 0
1960s-had symptoms-could have been before but don't remember
1970s-told had colitis or nervous stomach-was given phenobarbital, felt great but still had symptoms
Me, dd and ds diagnosed with Lactose Intolerance
2000-osteopenia
2001-had stroke because of medications I was given
June 2003-saw Chiropractor who specialized in nutrition: Celiac Disease not Lactose Intolerance, went gluten free with once in awhile cheating, off soy and dairy for about 6 months
June 2003-found excellent doctor for fibromyalgia (who has found out she has Celiac Disease)
May 2006-went gluten free with NO cheating-excellent! Made all the difference in the world

#4 KRP78

 
KRP78

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
 

Posted 08 December 2009 - 08:18 PM

Thank you!
  • 0

#5 lovegrov

 
lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,537 posts
 

Posted 09 December 2009 - 09:26 AM

Although some folks have said on here that balsamic vinegar COULD contain gluten, I have yet to see anybody list one that does. As for soy sauces, La Choy, Kroger brand and San-J wheat-free tamari are gluten-free. The San J is more expensive but IMO it's the best of the bunch.

richard
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: