Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Kraft Miracle Whip


  • Please log in to reply

14 replies to this topic

#1 thack

 
thack

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
 

Posted 14 December 2009 - 03:34 PM

Is kraft regular Miracle Whip Gluten free? I cant get a straight answer. Thanks!
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 jerseyangel

 
jerseyangel

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,939 posts
 

Posted 14 December 2009 - 03:42 PM

As with any Kraft product, all you have to do is read the label. They are a company that will disclose any gluten in the ingredient list. :)
  • 0
Patti


"Life is what happens while you're busy making other plans"

"When people show you who they are, believe them"--Maya Angelou

"Bloom where you are planted"--Bev

#3 thack

 
thack

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
 

Posted 14 December 2009 - 06:44 PM

I am new to this and have read the label, I am still unsure.
  • 0

#4 lovegrov

 
lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,537 posts
 

Posted 14 December 2009 - 06:49 PM

If the label doesn't clearly say wheat, rye or barley, then it's gluten-free. It's not any more difficult than that with Kraft.

And, yes, Miracle Whip is definitely gluten-free.

richard
  • 0

#5 Lisa

 
Lisa

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,802 posts
 

Posted 14 December 2009 - 06:50 PM

I am new to this and have read the label, I am still unsure.



http://www.kraftfood...nfreefoods.aspx

Miracle Whip is gluten free, as it does not list any form of gluten.
  • 0
Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

#6 thack

 
thack

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
 

Posted 14 December 2009 - 06:55 PM

Thank you for your help. : )
  • 0

#7 boomstick

 
boomstick

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
 

Posted 07 March 2011 - 06:13 AM

I have just went through what has proven to be a horrible, sleepless night thanks to Kraft Miracle Whip Light. Despite what it says, it is absolutely NOT gluten free.

I've been a celiac for several years, and have gotten my diet down to a science. Thus, I seldom have attacks anymore, thank goodness. Recently I decided to get some light miracle whip just for a change of pace...not to mention I love the taste. I put some on my chicken, and 2 hours later, wham. Now, I know it couldn't be anything else I ate, because I made everything else from scratch, and thus had total control. The miracle whip was the only questionable item. I noticed that its 4th ingredient was modified food starch. The only allergen listed was egg, even though it also contained soybean oil.

Needless to say, I don't trust Kraft anymore. I believe that they are lazy with their ingredient list. I believe that their modified food starch was in fact wheat-based. I will never buy anything from them again unless they start being more accountable for their labeling.
  • 1

#8 Takala

 
Takala

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,555 posts
 

Posted 07 March 2011 - 03:37 PM

It was likely a reaction to the modified food starch. If I had to speculate, a supplier or distributor (a lot of these ingredients are now processed overseas, where the labor is cheaper, and imported) was careless or mixed batches.

Kraft may label well, but they do not check each and every batch for cross contamination.

I take mayonnaise that is labeled gluten free, and then add a bit of extra sweetener and cider vinegar, if I want something that tastes like Miracle Whip. Also, in manufactured sauces, I try to avoid anything labeled with "modified food starch," especially if it is a "lite" diet version, because I've had several reactions. I haven't eaten the Kraft Miracle Whip in years, because it was one of the first things I noticed a distinct difference in between a full fat version of some sauces (no reaction with real mayonnaises) and a hit and miss reaction to mayo type salad dressings with the modified food starch.
  • 0

#9 lovegrov

 
lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,537 posts
 

Posted 08 March 2011 - 05:19 AM

Of course, boomstick, you can believe whatever you want, but in the celiac community Kraft is considered one of the best companies out there. And there's absolutely no way in heck they'd make their modified food starch from wheat, which is actually more expensive than other alternatives, and then hide it, violating U.S. law.

IMO, you're wrong.

richard
  • 4

#10 psawyer

 
psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,069 posts
 

Posted 08 March 2011 - 08:21 AM

Also, boomstick, the fact that soy is not declared in the "contains" statement is consistent with FALCPA, which explicitly exempts "highly refined oils" from the declaration requirement. Click here for a detailed discussion of FALCPA.

Click here for Kraft's label policy regarding gluten.
  • 2
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#11 catsmeow

 
catsmeow

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 290 posts
 

Posted 08 March 2011 - 03:20 PM

I have a severe wheat allergy, I don't like Miracle whip, I like real mayo. Here's my experience with Kraft real mayo. I've been severely glutened by it 3 times....The last time was by accident. I was trying to use it up on guests. I made chicken salad, not intending to eat it myself, however, I absent mindedly licked the spoon before placing it in the sink. Even with that tiny amount, I broke out in hives and suffered a 3 day migraine. I use Hellman's real mayo and have not had a reaction to it at all, and it actually says gluten free on the label. I threw out the Kraft, because I did not ever want that to happen again...
  • 0
You've cat to be kitten me right meow

Wheat Allergy-April 2010
Gluten Intolerant-April 2010
Dairy/casien intolerant-Aug 2012
Lactose intolerant- Aug 2012
Soy Intolerant-November 2012
October 2012- I learned that I am 1/2 Irish with a strong family history of Gluten Intolerance/Celiacs. I will never know If I am Celiac because I will never eat gluten again in order to test postive, it's poison and I do not ever want to feel the way I felt before implementing the gluten free diet EVER again!!!

#12 psawyer

 
psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,069 posts
 

Posted 08 March 2011 - 06:17 PM

Trish_Trish, I don't doubt that you react to something in the Kraft mayo. But I do sincerely doubt that there is hidden gluten in ANY Kraft product. They are very open in their labeling. As noted above, the soybean oil could have been legally listed as "vegetable oil" and is not an allergen that can be listed in the "contains" statement. Nevertheless, Kraft clearly listed it as soybean oil.
  • 1
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#13 Lisa

 
Lisa

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,802 posts
 

Posted 08 March 2011 - 06:24 PM

Do other (non gluten sensitive) people in your household use the jar of mayo, and double dip?....thus contaminating the mayo.
  • 1
Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

#14 catsmeow

 
catsmeow

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 290 posts
 

Posted 08 March 2011 - 08:00 PM

No one else used the Kraft mayo. In fact, I was glutened from the first use, brand new, freshly opened. The only other reason I can think of is maybe that one jar of mayo that I had, had some CC from the production line. I could buy another jar and test the theory....but I sure don't want to get glutened again.

Hellman's mayo has soybean oil too. I don't react to it at all.

The first time Kraft mayo made me sick was when I mixed it with a can of crab meat (I thought the crab meat somehow got me back then)

The second and third time it got me was when I made chicken salad using chicken that I stewed my self. It was gluten free for sure. The only logical conclusion I can make is that it was the mayo.

I have no problem with Kraft ranch dressing.

Or maybe I react a little bit differently because I have a wheat allergy versus celiacs? I really don't know. I just know one thing. Kraft Mayo made me very sick with a histamine reaction.

Just like benefiber did. The ingredients are "wheat dextrin" and it states "gluten free" on the package. I was sick for my standard 3 days from one teaspoon. This was my first month after diagnoses....I'm smarter now. I know I have to have wheat AND gluten free.
  • 0
You've cat to be kitten me right meow

Wheat Allergy-April 2010
Gluten Intolerant-April 2010
Dairy/casien intolerant-Aug 2012
Lactose intolerant- Aug 2012
Soy Intolerant-November 2012
October 2012- I learned that I am 1/2 Irish with a strong family history of Gluten Intolerance/Celiacs. I will never know If I am Celiac because I will never eat gluten again in order to test postive, it's poison and I do not ever want to feel the way I felt before implementing the gluten free diet EVER again!!!

#15 ravenwoodglass

 
ravenwoodglass

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,791 posts
 

Posted 09 March 2011 - 04:29 AM

I am very sensitive and use Kraft Miracle Whip all the time, however I do not use the light version. Have you tried regular Miracle Whip to see if the same thing happens? I do think you are reacting to something else in it other than gluten. Sometimes we do have other intolerances that can mimic a gluten reaction. I thought I was being CC'd for years until I found out that I am also intolerant to soy and that was what I was reacting to. Kraft is a really good company for labeling. No matter what it is you are reacting to it sounds like you need to avoid this product as your body doesn't care for it.
  • 0
Courage does not always roar, sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying
"I will try again tommorrow" (Mary Anne Radmacher)


celiac 49 years - Misdiagnosed for 45
Blood tested and repeatedly negative
Diagnosed by Allergist with elimination diet and diagnosis confirmed by GI in 2002
Misdiagnoses for 15 years were IBS-D, ataxia, migraines, anxiety, depression, fibromyalgia, parathesias, arthritis, livedo reticularis, hairloss, premature menopause, osteoporosis, kidney damage, diverticulosis, prediabetes and ulcers, dermatitis herpeformis
All bold resoved or went into remission with proper diagnosis of Celiac November 2002
Some residual nerve damage remains as of 2006- this has continued to resolve after eliminating soy in 2007

Mother died of celiac related cancer at 56
Twin brother died as a result of autoimmune liver destruction at age 15

Children 2 with Ulcers, GERD, Depression, , 1 with DH, 1 with severe growth stunting (male adult 5 feet)both finally diagnosed Celiac through blood testing and 1 with endo 6 months after Mom


Positive to Soy and Casien also Aug 2007

Gluten Sensitivity Gene Test Aug 2007
HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 1 0303

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 2 0303

Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 3,3 (Subtype 9,9)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: