This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Glutened?

Sanson

Sanson Newbie

I made a quinoa, veggie and tahini bowl for dinner tonight and I think I've been glutened. I'm new to gluten-free and waiting for blood work to come back. I'm on day 7 and I've been 'poisioned' twice so far...or so I think! (I've cleared out all the gluten in my house that is obvious to start) Half an hour after dinner I started getting symptoms that I equate to Gluten. Extremely tired, headache, a few hives, acidic stomach etc. The only other time I've gotten a headache like this was with another Asian product, Coconut Milk that claimed to only have one ingredient. The Tahini I have is also "100% Sesame Seeds" but is from Lebanon. I've researched Asian labelling laws and can't find anything. Anyone else experience anything similar? I was wondering if if could be MSG as well eventhough it says nothing on the label?!?!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

mushroom Proficient

I don't know, it may not even be gluten. When you first go gluten free your gut is in a very fragile state and often has problems with things that would not normally be a problem. You really have to expect some unexpected reactions especially in the first couple of weeks. It could be that your digestive system did not like the quinoa--gluten free grains are often a problem to start with. Was this a full gluten reaction for you?

Mskedi Newbie