Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Does Bacon Have Gluten?
0

51 posts in this topic

Hi there can anyone tell me if bacon has gluten and if so what brands do not. Thanks

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I have never encountered bacon that was not gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have never encountered bacon that was not gluten-free.

Thanks for the reply. Could you also recommend a brand of peanut butter that is gluten free as well as nuts. Thanks, Mya

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have never encountered bacon that was not gluten-free.

Neither have I. OMG, I would die without bacon. Seriously. :D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That's one label I always have to very carefully check; some of ours does :(

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I always read the label but have only seen one that had gluten - Farmer John's contains regular soy sauce.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have never encountered bacon that was not gluten-free.

Thanks for the reply. I have a million questions. Can you please tell me if you have to be careful with plain rice? Is it often contaminated with gluten? Also for my little guy are there any fries that are safe. We tried the Ian's but he didn't like them. I called Mccain today and they have some that don't contain gluten but are cooked in the same areas where they process fries with gluten.....so if anyone can tell me any other types of fries that are safe would be much appreciated. Thank-you, Mya

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Plain rice would be gluten-free. Most items with only one ingredient are safe, unless the ingredient is obviously a gluten source such as flour.

Try these links for useful information:

Unsafe ingredients.

Safe ingredients.

Here's a list of companies that have a clear gluten policy. If you don't see "wheat, rye, barley, barley malt, oats" on the labels, its not there, or hidden in "flavors, starches, etc." Although this list is from the United States, the Canadian affiliates of these companies follow the same policy.

VH is a Con Agra brand sold only in Canada. VH Soya Sauce is gluten-free--we use it regularly. McCormick will clearly label any gluten ingredient. Use their single-ingredient spices with complete confidence. We do.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the reply. Could you also recommend a brand of peanut butter that is gluten free as well as nuts. Thanks, Mya

Arrowhead Mills Creamy Organic Peanut Butter. They also have Crunchy as well. The label states "Gluten Free".

Ingredients: 100% Organic Dry Roasted Peanuts

Contains: Peanuts. (May contain traces of soy and tree nuts)

It's my favorite! Hope this helps.

-- Rocky

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I haven't run across bacon that contains gluten, although watch out in restaraunts for bacon bits. I know Tony Roma's bacon bits do contain gluten.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Arrowhead Mills Creamy Organic Peanut Butter. They also have Crunchy as well. The label states "Gluten Free".

Ingredients: 100% Organic Dry Roasted Peanuts

Contains: Peanuts. (May contain traces of soy and tree nuts)

It's my favorite! Hope this helps.

-- Rocky

Can you tell me where you can buy this peanut butter. Thanks!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Peanut butter is generally gluten-free. I can't name one in the U.S. that isn't.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hormel Natural Choice bacon states it is gluten free right on the package. I love it!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think you are in Alberta? I am in Alberta too. Kraft peanut butter is gluten-free. Co-op (if you are in southern AB) has a nice Organic no-stir peanut butter. Western Family makes a nice Organic need-to-stir peanut butter (at Save-On Foods or Sobeys). Bacon I'm not sure.

I've lived in northern and southern AB so PM me if you want any info.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi there can anyone tell me if bacon has gluten and if so what brands do not. Thanks

I haven't had a problem with Bacon at all. If you are in Southern Alberta, have you gone to gluten-free Patisserie? They make the best gluten free products. They are located in Cochrane (west of Calgary). They have a great restaurant in town called Oliver R Twist. They label celiac friendly dishes on their menu. If you are craving Chinese food, check out Oriental Palace in Calgary. They make the best gluten free lemon chicken.

Here are their websites:

gluten-free Patisserie

122 3 Avenue West

Cochrane, AB T4C 1X8

Get Directions

(403) 990-9565

http://orientalpalace.blogspot.com/

http://maps.google.ca/maps/place?sourceid=navclient&rlz=1T4RNWI_enCA321CA321&um=1&ie=UTF-8&q=oliver+r+twist&fb=1&gl=ca&hq=oliver+r+twist&hnear=Calgary,+AB&cid=16303476157374210272

Paula :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi there can anyone tell me if bacon has gluten and if so what brands do not. Thanks

In Calgary and Edmonton (Farmer's Market) there is a vendor called SUN WORKS they are a celiac family that farms grass fed animals...all their meat is gluten free (not grain fed) and that includes their bacon also eggs.

They also have various breakfast susages,chicken weinners, chicken meatloaf luch meat, rst.beef lunch meat, lamb, etc... a really great selection! Tasty! And a busy vendor!!

I believe on their website they can accomodate people that can't get to the market...they are a really great family

Hope this helps! Also ORGANIC!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In Calgary and Edmonton (Farmer's Market) there is a vendor called SUN WORKS they are a celiac family that farms grass fed animals...all their meat is gluten free (not grain fed) and that includes their bacon also eggs.

They also have various breakfast susages,chicken weinners, chicken meatloaf luch meat, rst.beef lunch meat, lamb, etc... a really great selection! Tasty! And a busy vendor!!

I believe on their website they can accomodate people that can't get to the market...they are a really great family

Hope this helps! Also ORGANIC!

This will be good news for those seeking organic foods.

Meat is gluten-free regardless of what the animal from which it came was fed.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As Peter said, it makes no difference at all what the animal is fed. The meat is gluten-free even if the animal eats wheat or barley.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In Calgary and Edmonton (Farmer's Market) there is a vendor called SUN WORKS they are a celiac family that farms grass fed animals...all their meat is gluten free (not grain fed) and that includes their bacon also eggs.

They also have various breakfast susages,chicken weinners, chicken meatloaf luch meat, rst.beef lunch meat, lamb, etc... a really great selection! Tasty! And a busy vendor!!

I believe on their website they can accomodate people that can't get to the market...they are a really great family

Hope this helps! Also ORGANIC!

THANK-YOU! :) :) :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

SunWorks Farms rocks! I've been buying their products for years. Their products are also nitrate- and MSG-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"Plain rice would be gluten-free. Most items with only one ingredient are safe, unless the ingredient is obviously a gluten source such as flour."

I unfortunately had a bad experience with rice. I had Unico long grain rice and OH boy I was in pain for days. I added other ingredients such as eggplants and lentils I had those both by themselves and was fine so rice had to be the culprit. It's such a pain because it's not listed anywhere on the packaging "may contain wheat, soy etc." I'm going to shoot them an e-mail about this see if there was some cross contamination.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I live in Alberta and HAVE seen bacon containing soy sauce derived from wheat! Cannot recall which brand, though. So, carefully read the labels.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In Safeway, there is back bacon slabs that you slice yourself. These are labelled gluten free. Also, their old fashioned peanut butter (needs to be stirred) has only "peanuts" on their ingredient list. I use it, never had any problems with it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Know is thread is old, but it's still the first hit in google for 'is bacon gluten free' and I do have some input.

BF recently bought the Maple Leaf Naturals bacon, which has Naturals gluten-free weiners, so he thought the bacon was also gluten free. Unfortunately the ingredient list was unclear, go 'spices'!

I emailed Maple Leaf and they said that the ONLY products they guarantee that are gluten-free are ones with Gluten Free right on the package. So their Natural bacon is NOT gluten free, for whatever reason. Being a large manufacturer of many other pork products that involve wheat, they probably don't have the gluten-free production line or whatever or maybe their 'spices' aren't gluten-free.

Furthermore, many bacons have natural and artificial flavors and colors listed in their ingredients, which may not be safe. And Maple Leaf probably isn't the only bacon brand that is likely to have cross contamination, since lots of companies make ham and weiners and bologna etc, as well as bacon. Bacon is a processed meat, not a cut of fresh pork.

I was largely only buying local bacon from my local farmer's market prior my dx (because their pigs actually have a semblance of a life, short though it probably is, not merely a tortured existence), which happens to also be gluten-free. It's tastier anyways.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Unfortunately the ingredient list was unclear, go 'spices'!

No grain can legally be listed as "spices." Spices as an ingredient are always gluten-free. Do not confuse "spices" with "seasoning"--the terms are quite different.

I have never found a bacon that had gluten in twelve years gluten-free.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,641
    • Total Posts
      921,552
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Hi Kasia2016, Yes, celiac disease symptoms can vary widely.  Some people have no symptoms, we call that silent celiac.  Other have difficulty walking (gluten ataxia), skin rashes (dermatitis herpetiformis), and thyroid disease (Hashimoto's thyroiditis).  The list goes on and on.  GI symptoms can vary widely too, from mild symptoms at times to severe symptoms.
    • Hi egs1707, Welcome to the forum! Irene is right, you should not be gluten-free until all testing is completed.  The celiac disease tests are checking for immune system reactions and damage, and when you go gluten-free that starts to decline.  So the tests may not show the true immune reaction that is going on or the normal damage.  They may not show any damage in fact and you could get a false negative diagnosis.  You body starts healing and out the window go the test results.  Your doctor gets an "F" grade if they told you to go gluten-free now. But you aren't alone in having a doctor who doesn't understand the celiac disease testing process.  Many of them are woefully ignorant of proper testing for celiac disease.  That why the current estimate is somewhere in the range of 85% of celiacs in the USA are undiagnosed.  It doesn't help when doctors screw up the testing themselves.  Or refuse to test people.  Which is also far too common. I was vegetarian for 5 years.  I am not anymore and don't recommend it.  It is hard enough living gluten-free and finding safe food to eat and adequate nutrition for healing a damaged body.  I used to eat a lot of soy products when I Was vegetarian, but now soy makes me physically sick.  We can sometimes develop reactions to foods we eat a lot of while our guts are inflamed IMHO.  Soy is not a healthy food anyway from my reading. I can't do dairy now but may people who start out lactose intolerant end up being able to eat dairy after they have recovered. The best advice I can give is to avoid as much processed food as you can, and eat mostly whole foods you cook yourself at home.  When you do cook, cook big, and freeze the leftovers.  That way you can quickly take a small portion of food out of the freezer and reheat it.  Being celiac it is more important to learn how to cook.  Unless you are wealthy all those gluten-free processed foods add up quick.  Plus gluten-free processed foods often are lacking in fiber and vitamins. You'll want to watch out for vitamin deficiencies also.  Since celiac disease damages the villi in the small intestine, the vitamins and minerals etc are not digested and absorbed well.  So celiacs can be low on vitamin D, calcium,  and one other one I forget.  Vitamin B-12 may be low also ( it is important for nerve health).  Then there are some vitamins that vegetarians tend to have problems getting enough of also to consider. Adjusting to living with celiac disease means adjusting to a new diet and some lifestyle changes.  There's lots of us that make that change every year though, it's not impossible.  You will most likely end up eating better, more nutritious food than many of your peers.  And you will avoid a pletora of additional health concerns that can come along with untreated celiac disease. Learning to cook can be an adventure and you may enjoy it once you start.  you may find your taste in foods changes once you have been gluten-free for a while too. Recovery from celiac disease can take some months.  The immune system is very serious about protecting us and doesn't give up quickly.  Also it always remembers so it will react to even small amounts of gluten.  I live with gluten eaters at home and I do fine.  I just am careful about rinsing dishes off and so forth before using them. There is a Newbie 101 thread at the top of the coping with forum subsection.  It may provide some helpful info.  
    • That's great to hear you are feeling better Nightsky.  I really think when our GI systems are in distress already that it doesn't take much to set off symptoms.  Once I eliminated the other foods that cause me symptoms that helped a lot too.  And added some extra vitamin D to my diet and selenium. Many of us have developed reactions to other foods besides gluten and need to avoid them to keep symptoms at bay.  For me nightshades, carrots, soy, dairy, and celery all cause symptoms.  It took me awhile to figure out all those food culprits, but it made a big difference getting them out of my diet. But we are all individuals, and our bodies react individually.  So you may or may not have additional food intolerances develop. Celiac is one of those life journey things and we learn as we go.  Just keep the bottle of aspirin handy!
    • Pastry chain goes gluten-free, using mangoes ... But gluten is also believed to cause celiac disease, non-celiac gluten sensitivity, and wheat allergy, ... View the full article
    • I know that Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce  in the US is gluten free, I also know that in Canada it is NOT. This is a very reliable site: http://www.glutenfreedietitian.com/vinegar/ But it is in the US. I'm agast that the Irish Celiac Society says malt vinegar is gluten free.  I wouldn't use it. No sense taking any chance at all.
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,644
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    Jross69
    Joined