Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Does Bacon Have Gluten?
0

4 posts in this topic

Hi I am on Canada but wondering does bacon typically have gluten? What are the ingredients in bacon to watch for?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

bacon wouldn't typically have gluten ingredients no. The ingredietns to watch for would be the same as in any other product. Anything that says wheat, barley or rye, or things derived from wheat barley or rye.

You might want to be careful of back bacon if it is coated in corn meal. Not because corn meal is gluten, but it may be processed in a facility that also processes wheat. The allergen information on the label should state that though, same as any othe product.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In the U.S. bacon is almost without exception gluten-free. We've heard of one small brand, Farmer Johns, that uses soy sauce (very weird) and very clearly lists wheat. McDonald's "bacon" used to contain wheat and wasn't what I'd consider real bacon, but it appears from their ingredients list that has changed. Every other bacon I've checked has been gluten-free. Bacon is not a product I worry about any more.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0