arrowShare this page:

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    

Photo
- - - - -

McDonald's Fries In Canada? Gluten-Free?

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 kaiess

kaiess

Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 61 posts

Posted 31 January 2010 - 08:42 AM

I'd like to hear from the experts if McD fries are gluten-free in Canada. I'm just learning now b/c I think we've got a diagnosis on it's way shortly. I thought I had heard they were gluten-free and they were cooked in their own oil not contaminated by any other products but I was recently told by a mom she thought they were coated in flour. Do any of you Canadian's know for sure and do you eat them with no reaction?

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 psawyer

psawyer

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,994 posts

Posted 31 January 2010 - 09:30 AM

Yes, the fries at McDonalds in Canada are gluten-free. They are not coated in anything. They are fried in dedicated fryers which fry only potatoes. I eat them from time to time and have no issues.
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#3 KristaleeJane

KristaleeJane

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 114 posts

Posted 31 January 2010 - 02:05 PM

Yes Mcdonalds fries are gluten free if they are cooked in a seperate fryer then the gluten stuff. Every Mcdonalds is different so It does not hurt to ask them when you go in. From experience, depending on the location, and how busy they are so I always ask if they are using a seperate fryer for their fries. They are not coated in flour. Enjoy! :)
Gluten Free since Apr 14-08
Mar 08.....Blood work-Positive for Celiac Results were High (92)