Jump to content



   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


- - - - -

Dextrin


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_imsohungry_*

Guest_imsohungry_*
  • Guests

Posted 12 May 2005 - 12:25 PM

Hi there everyone.

I went today to Whole Foods, and I thought I purchased only gluten-free items. The only thing not labled gluten-free were some of their natural veggie chips and carrot chips in the containers in the vegetable section (meant to be a replacement for potato chips). I scanned the ingredients (there were only four) and they all looked fine. It wasn't until I had eaten a handful that I noticed the chips I bought said Dextrin and not Dextrose. I pulled out my gluten-free ingredient list and next to Dextrin it says "verify source." How do I do that? Is dextrin usually not gluten-free? How do I know the source? Just curious if I should eat these veggie chips and if I can buy them again. (They're REALLY good!) :D Thanks. -Julie ;)
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 lovegrov

lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,533 posts

Posted 12 May 2005 - 12:50 PM

You have to call the company that makes the chips.

richard
  • 0

#3 celiac3270

celiac3270

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,263 posts

Posted 12 May 2005 - 12:51 PM

Dextrin can be made of wheat, but also of corn. For example, in Starburst, the dextrin is derived from corn and is safe.
  • 0

#4 Carriefaith

Carriefaith

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,861 posts

Posted 12 May 2005 - 01:05 PM

What is the brand name of the chips?
  • 0
Carrie Faith

Diagnosed with Celiac Disease in March 2004
Postitive tTg Blood Test, December 2003
Positive Biopsy, March 3, 2004

#5 PreOptMegs

PreOptMegs

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 296 posts

Posted 12 May 2005 - 03:04 PM

From my experience, the Dextrin is usually bad. Maltodextrin is another very common ingredient. I stay away from it, always.
  • 0
I LOVE JESUS!

#6 KaitiUSA

KaitiUSA

    Be the change you wish to see in the world!

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,583 posts

Posted 12 May 2005 - 03:17 PM

From my experience, the Dextrin is usually bad. Maltodextrin is another very common ingredient. I stay away from it, always.

Maltodextrin is ok in the US..they have to put on the label if it is not made from corn.
  • 0
Kaiti
Positive bloodwork
Gluten-free since January 2004
Arkansas

Jeremiah 29:11- "For I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for you to prosper and not harm you,plans to give you a hope and future"

"One Nation, Under God"

Feel free to email me anytime....jkbrodbent@yahoo.com

#7 celiac3270

celiac3270

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,263 posts

Posted 12 May 2005 - 03:32 PM

Yes...maltodextrin is nearly always gluten-free, but when from wheat, has to be listed as wheat maltodextrin. And dextrin is always iffy...you need to call.
  • 0

#8 Guest_imsohungry_*

Guest_imsohungry_*
  • Guests

Posted 13 May 2005 - 07:44 AM

Hey everyone. Thank you all for the replies! :)

The chips are made by Whole Foods, and I called yesterday evening and left a message asking someone to please let me know if they are gluten-free.

celiac3270,

Your message was very helpful. I needed to understand why the gluten-free grocery list I had told me to "identify the source" of dextrin. You answered it simply: It can be made from wheat or corn. Thank you! B)

Hopefully, Whole Foods will contact me soon and let me know if their product is in fact gluten-free.

Take Care. -Julie
  • 0

#9 aaascr

aaascr

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 168 posts

Posted 13 May 2005 - 08:14 AM

Whole Foods has a Gluten-free shopping list:
They list their veggie chips on it, though I don't
know how updated it is.
  • 0
alicia
been gluten-free 4 yrs.
too many food allergies to list!

#10 Guest_imsohungry_*

Guest_imsohungry_*
  • Guests

Posted 13 May 2005 - 10:27 AM

I went to their website and printed off their gluten-free list. I saw many brands of chips, and I read a few brands of gluten-free veggie chips, but no "Whole Foods" company name vegetable chips. I spoke with someone at the store and she is researching it for me....Apparently, they have never been asked this before (or at least did not make note of the answer). I have spoken with seven different people so far. Well, I bought two boxes of the chips, if they do contain gluten, my hubby agreed to eat them so they don't go to waste. It is quite a drive to Whole Foods to return them (too much gas $)...so if they aren't gluten-free, they go to my hubby.

Take Care all. :)
-Julie (currently stuck with six dollars worth of possibly glutened veggie chips) :rolleyes:
  • 0

#11 terri

terri

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 286 posts

Posted 13 May 2005 - 11:41 AM

The 365 Veggie Chips in the bag are gluten-free and made by Whole Foods. I have eaten them but like the Eatsmart ones made by Snyder better. As you said yours are in a box, then they are not the ones on their list. Your hubby will enjoy, I'm sure...
  • 0
Terri
Northern Virginia

gluten-free since March 27, 2004

#12 Guest_imsohungry_*

Guest_imsohungry_*
  • Guests

Posted 13 May 2005 - 12:31 PM

terri,

I like the Eatsmart veggie chips too! :) I thought I would give these a try....I'm still holding out hope that they are gluten-free. If not, you're right, the hubby will enjoy :rolleyes:
  • 0

#13 Guest_imsohungry_*

Guest_imsohungry_*
  • Guests

Posted 17 May 2005 - 02:33 PM

Well ya'll,

I received a call back from Whole Foods. I was told that their brand of Vegetable Chips do contain gluten. I'm not sure if she knows for sure or just got tired of me calling! :P

She said that she asked, and she was told that they are not gluten-free.

Thanks everyone for the feedback! I was lost ;) -Julie
  • 0

#14 Guest_BellyTimber_*

Guest_BellyTimber_*
  • Guests

Posted 29 May 2005 - 01:47 PM

:unsure:

The US is ahead of the UK on maltodextrin, here it is always made from wheat but they don't have to declare it and it is claimed to have no traces of wheat or gluten.
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: