5 replies to this topic

#1 RollingAlong

RollingAlong

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 262 posts

Posted 24 February 2010 - 11:13 AM

I emailed Tazo for info and they asked me to call them.
I spoke with a very pleasant rep.
She told me that all the teas contain "natural flavors" and none of the Tazo teas at Starbucks can be guaranteed to be gluten-free.

I wasn't asking for a guarantee, I just want to know what I am drinking.

So does knowing "natural flavors" is an ingredient help?

Do we have a script for these sort of calls? I've been keeping things pretty simple so I am new to this part of the game.

Is anyone drinking tea at Starbucks these days?

thank you!

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 missy'smom

missy'smom

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,953 posts

Posted 24 February 2010 - 11:50 AM

I've been calling on spices and natural flavors alot these past few months-not from a gluten standpoint but because of possible allergens for us. I'll just share my experience even though it may not answer your gluten question. I start with asking what they are, and many companies have divulged all ingredients if they won't then I take the approach, or sometimes they make the offer, for me to tell them what I can't have and they check the natural flavors and/or spices for allergen x, y, and z etc. as I list them off. In many of the meats, I have found that natural flavor is rosemary oil. Most gave me answers right then and there but a few others took a couple of days to get back to me.