Pickles, Relish, And Olives
Posted 16 May 2005 - 03:21 PM
Thanks for your help,
-Red Sox Fan!!!!!
Posted 16 May 2005 - 09:43 PM
I don't do olives, so I cannot help with that part of your question.
9 yrs gluten-free
...also DH, fibromyalgia, neuropathy, osteopenia, hypothyroid...
After almost 10 years, I am doing soooo much better!
Posted 17 May 2009 - 08:49 AM
Why do some Celiacs react to vinegar and others don't? Is it all vinegars that can be a problem for people with Celiacs or just white vinegar? Are some vinegars better than others (e.g. apple cider or balsamic vinegar is better than white?)
Also what about olives - green, greek...? If vinegar is fine shouldn't all pickled things be okay, or am I missing something?
If some brands are fine and others aren't (for pickles, olives...etc) does anyone have suggestions on brands that still taste yummy and are easy to find?
I am still finding something is making me sick and I think I am eating completely gluten free. But it has only been a year and there seems to be so much to learn!
Help is appreciated!
Posted 17 May 2009 - 11:03 AM
"I will try again tommorrow" (Mary Anne Radmacher)
celiac 49 years - Misdiagnosed for 45
Blood tested and repeatedly negative
Diagnosed by Allergist with elimination diet and diagnosis confirmed by GI in 2002
Misdiagnoses for 15 years were IBS-D, ataxia, migraines, anxiety, depression, fibromyalgia, parathesias, arthritis, livedo reticularis, hairloss, premature menopause, osteoporosis, kidney damage, diverticulosis, prediabetes and ulcers, dermatitis herpeformis
All bold resoved or went into remission with proper diagnosis of Celiac November 2002
Some residual nerve damage remains as of 2006- this has continued to resolve after eliminating soy in 2007
Mother died of celiac related cancer at 56
Twin brother died as a result of autoimmune liver destruction at age 15
Children 2 with Ulcers, GERD, Depression, , 1 with DH, 1 with severe growth stunting (male adult 5 feet)both finally diagnosed Celiac through blood testing and 1 with endo 6 months after Mom
Positive to Soy and Casien also Aug 2007
Gluten Sensitivity Gene Test Aug 2007
HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 1 0303
HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 2 0303
Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 3,3 (Subtype 9,9)
Posted 21 May 2009 - 03:23 PM
Posted 27 May 2009 - 11:48 AM
Posted 07 June 2009 - 01:34 PM
I gave up hot dogs for a long time but last year got a craving for them. Had one without the bun, no problem...had a few more and got sick in a much different way than regular glutening. I'd get an extreme burning sensation in my lower back and caused nerve problems.
Went away after a while but we both like pickle relish and could never figure out why I might be getting sick. Its always the same. Foggy feeling and lower back pain that can cause nerve problems.
In searching for gluten-free hotdogs I ran across this:
**Please note that Hunt's will not guarantee their Ketchup or Barbeque Sauce to be gluten free because they contain distilled vinegar Read following information:
Distilled Vinegar: Scientific tests show that all harmful peptides (from wheat) are removed during the distillation process of Distilled Vinegar. But, if you use a distilled vinegar and you notice any indication that your child may have an intolerance discontinue using it. Distilled Vinegars can be from wheat, corn, potatoes, beets, wood, apples and many other things.
This is good info and honestly it was the last piece of the puzzle as to where my problems were coming from.
Posted 07 June 2009 - 03:45 PM
Distilled Vinegar: Scientific tests show that all harmful peptides (from wheat) are removed during the distillation process of Distilled Vinegar. But, if you use a distilled vinegar and you notice any indication that your child may have an intolerance discontinue using it. Distilled Vinegars can be from wheat, corn, potatoes, beets, wood, apples and many other things."
This is old information.
If the vinegar in their ketchup or BBQ sauce or anything else came from wheat, it would HAVE to by law be listed (in the U.S.). The fact is that only a very, very tiny percentage of distilled vinegar comes from wheat. Something like less than 5 percent last time I saw a figure, and, as I said, that would have to be clearly marked. If the vinegar doesn't say wheat or wheat isn't listed in the ingredients, the vinegar didn't come from wheat. It's that simple now.
Posted 08 June 2009 - 07:33 AM
dx fibromyalgia '02
dx lupus '03
dx raynauds '05
but luckily i'm much more than my disease(s)!
may '09: tested neg. for celiac but have extremity numbness, ataxia, headaches etc. -- in other words enough reason to go gluten free to test my response
0 user(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users