Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Hershey Chocolate Syrup
0

23 posts in this topic

A call out to all on Hershey's Chocolate Syrup. Is it gluten-free? We're using Nesquik, but I prefer Hershey over Nestle.

TIA,

Libby.

Dx celiac disease 2002

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Hershey's is a brand like Kraft so all you have to do is check the label. If it doesn't say wheat, rye, barley, or oats right on the label then it is safe :D

I love Hershey's syrup :D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Kaiti,

THANKS! I'm going to have my hubby check the Hershey bottle next shopping trip.

Libby.

Dx celiac disease 2002

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Regular chocolate syrup is gluten-free...I've used it before and have a bottle in the house and it's gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

>drool<Hershey's chocolate syrup!>sssllluuurrrppp<

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Yup Regular Hershey's syrup is safe, I use it regularly.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For those of you who cannot have the soy that is often in these things, take a tablespoon or two of water and add to it a dash of salt, a tsp of cocoa, and 2 tsp of sugar. Heat them either in the microwave or on the stove until just boiling. Stir well. If you like your syrup really rich, add a little butter. This makes a great syrup for hot or cold chocolate milk. If you heat your milk, do not let it come to a boil. Last of all, add a drop or two of vanilla.

You can let the chocolate boil for an extra few seconds and it makes a good syrup to pour over ice cream. I like to thicken mine just a little with some powdered sugar when I use it for ice cream.

This is a regular around our house. If you are dairy intolerant, it also works with other non-dairy beverages.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the recipe, Donna! Always nice to know what else can be done to satisfy that chocolate tooth!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok, you all. This is TOO much! AACCCKK!!!....CHOCOLATE!!! I'm hanging by the fingernails as it is....!!!

Libby.

Desparately wanting a Hershey bar :o

Dx celiac disease 2002 :

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

does anyone know if hershey's strawberry syrup is gluten free as well? I'm hesitant about the "artificial and natural flavors" listed and had a small reaction after having some today. I know the chocolate syrup is Gluten-free but are the other flavors Gluten-free as well?

Thanks!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My understanding is that the Hershey's chocolate syrup is gluten free. However, at least as of a year ago, Hershey STOPPED saying that they disclosed all gluten, and started saying that they could not say whether the natural flavors in their products were derived from rye/barley/oats (my main concern would be barley, since they are required by law to disclose wheat, and I have never heard of rye or oats being a source of natural flavors. However barley, although unlikely to be in natural flavors without being disclosed, can be a source of natural flavors). There are a few items with natural flavors that they have verified as gluten free (e.g., as of last time I called, this included kisses and chocolate bars). Nestles, on the other hand, is still a company that labels for all gluten, not just wheat.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
does anyone know if hershey's strawberry syrup is gluten free as well? I'm hesitant about the "artificial and natural flavors" listed and had a small reaction after having some today. I know the chocolate syrup is Gluten-free but are the other flavors Gluten-free as well?

Thanks!!

I just spoke with a Hershey's representative and they said that none of their artificial or natural flavors are derived from a gluten source. So I guess that means it's safe!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I just spoke with a Hershey's representative and they said that none of their artificial or natural flavors are derived from a gluten source. So I guess that means it's safe!

The statement Hersheys made to you today is in direct conflict with the statements they made to other members of the forum a few months ago (http://www.glutenfreeforum.com/index.php?s...44350&st=33) They will not confirm or deny if their natural flavors contain gluten. Hersheys is not a reliable company.

Hersheys has tested some of their products for gluten content. The very short list is below. I still will not buy any Hersheys product until they say whether or not there is gluten in their natural flavors.

Hershey Products that are Gluten-Free and Were Tested*

Kisses - Milk chocolate

Hershey Bar and Hershey Almond Bar

Jolly Rancher hard candy and lolly pops

Hershey's Cocoa - plain unsweetened

Unsweetened Baking Chocolate Bar and Semi-Sweet Chocolate Bar

Hershey Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips

Hershey Chocolate Syrup

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
The statement Hersheys made to you today is in direct conflict with the statements they made to other members of the forum a few months ago (http://www.glutenfreeforum.com/index.php?s...44350&st=33) They will not confirm or deny if their natural flavors contain gluten. Hersheys is not a reliable company.

Hersheys has tested some of their products for gluten content. The very short list is below. I still will not buy any Hersheys product until they say whether or not there is gluten in their natural flavors.

Hershey Products that are Gluten-Free and Were Tested*

Kisses - Milk chocolate

Hershey Bar and Hershey Almond Bar

Jolly Rancher hard candy and lolly pops

Hershey's Cocoa - plain unsweetened

Unsweetened Baking Chocolate Bar and Semi-Sweet Chocolate Bar

Hershey Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips

Hershey Chocolate Syrup

EXACTLY!!!!! I alway will not purchase Hershey products.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When I called Hershey at Easter the rep I spoke with was really helpful. She went through every candy I gave her and told me gluten-free or not. It isn't as helpful as Wonka/Nestle who sent me a list and coupons (just received those today!), but my experience was very positive. I wonder if I just got a really friendly person...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm so glad to hear that Hershey Chocolate Syrup is Gluten Free! I've been staying away from it because it says 'artificial flavor' on the label and I thought I had to stay away from anything that said that. I've just recently been diagnosed with Coeliac and have found out a lot of info today.

Do any of you know whether the Mocha drinks at Starbuck's are gluten free? I asked one of the managers and we looked on the ingredients of the syrup and it said that there are 'artificial flavors' in it so I've been abstaining from my Mocha's. They told me I could bring my own syrup if I wanted to.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I'm so glad to hear that Hershey Chocolate Syrup is Gluten Free! I've been staying away from it because it says 'artificial flavor' on the label and I thought I had to stay away from anything that said that. I've just recently been diagnosed with Coeliac and have found out a lot of info today.

Do any of you know whether the Mocha drinks at Starbuck's are gluten free? I asked one of the managers and we looked on the ingredients of the syrup and it said that there are 'artificial flavors' in it so I've been abstaining from my Mocha's. They told me I could bring my own syrup if I wanted to.

My husband has Celiac and he drinks the Mochas at starbucks all the time.

It's the "natural flavors" that you have to worry about, not the "artificial flavors" as far as I know. anything made from wheat, rye, barley or oats would be "natural flavors".

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We've been trying to stay from the high fructose corn syrups and just discovered that Nesquick syrup is made from sugar. Still not good for you, but better than the Hershey's as far as the high fructose.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does anyone know if chocolate in general is gluten-free? My husband was just diagnosed with celiac disease 2 weeks ago. He doesn't normally eat a lot of sweets, but he told me he's so hungry all the time now that he has cravings for chocolate. He is also wondering about sausage, bacon, and brats. He loves brats but was told by a coworker that the processed food was not good for him. Would meat like this straight from a deli counter be ok since it wouldn't have preservatives? (We are in different states right now due to my schooling, so I have been trying to help him from a distance. Everything in our house has gluten in it and anything he tries to make, our small boys eat up!)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Tell your hubby that you ALWAYS have to read the labels.

Things that you never would have thought had gluten in it, often do.

Hormel makes many gluten-free meat produts, including excellent Deli meat (Hormel Naturals I think). The problem with a regular deli is that their SLICERS and prep areas will almost certainly be contaminated.

As a point of illustration, Honey Baked Ham has wheat in the glaze. Never would have thought Xmas could be ruined that easily.

Keep reading and researching, it gets easier!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The Nestle strawberry syrup is claimed to be gluten free but I just read on their website that if their ingredients are derived from wheat, barely or rye and they are less than 20ppm gluten they are gluten free. I tried the Nestle strawberry syrup and got inflammation in my feet. So those who are hypersensitive to gluten shouldn't consume some if not any of these products.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The Nestle strawberry syrup is claimed to be gluten free but I just read on their website that if their ingredients are derived from wheat, barely or rye and they are less than 20ppm gluten they are gluten free. I tried the Nestle strawberry syrup and got inflammation in my feet. So those who are hypersensitive to gluten shouldn't consume some if not any of these products.

 

 

They don't say that they won't disclose gluten.

 

"The best way to determine if our products contain a gluten ingredient is to read our product label. This label includes an accurate, current listing of the ingredients in our products."

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.