This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Substitutes For Bisquick And/or Ritz Crackers

kyga

kyga Rookie

I like to make casseroles, etc. that use Bisquick or Ritz crackers. I'm relatively new to the gluten free thing, and every time I think of making something, I have that moment where I hit my forehead and lament that I cannot make that item.

As far as Bisquick goes, I know there's gluten-free biscuit mix but would it still work if I didn't make biscuits with it but used it in a recipe for something else? Part of the reason I like Bisquick is that it's lower in fat and it seems like gluten-free biscuit mixes all involve shortening. Suggestions there?

I make a couple dishes that involve crumbled Ritz crackers. Any decent substitutes?

Thanks so much! You all are helping me through this adventure in cooking!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Wenmin Enthusiast

Never tried my hand at making biscuits, but for the ritz crackers, a good substitute is Glutino GLuten Free Crackers. I get the Cheddar Crackers, but there are several different kinds. These don't taste like cheddar, but they remind me of a similar version of Ritz. I use them to eat turkey/chicken salad, with salads, with peanut butter, etc. They can be found at Whole Foods.

Wenmin

curlyfries Contributor