This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Where Your Contribution Counts!
    eNewsletter
    Support Us!

Hair Loss And Dandruff

crsgal98

crsgal98 Newbie

Hello fellow Celiacs I am new at this and its been very difficult at times to deal with, my biggest worry and I hope there is someone who might help is my hair. I have lost 40% of my hair and I have pain in my scalp and lots of flakes. Has anyone else had this problem, or something close? By the way wishing everyone a Happy Easter.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

WheatChef Apprentice

The itching and dandruff will probably continue for a while after going gluten free. Have you noticed any change in shed hairs since dropping gluten? I know I noticed a severe drop in daily shed hairs after a week of gluten free.

boysmom Explorer

I had lost a lot of hair before I went gluten-free, but I began to notice less daily shedding and, for the first time in YEARS, tiny new growth hair. I'm 10 mos gluten-free now and my hair is not only growing back in, and growing, but my receding hairline (and I'm female) is back to where it was when I was in high school.

The itchiness and flakiness has taken longer and some juggling of shampoo to figure out, but I think I finally have that under control too. I've known since high school that shampoos with sodium lauryl/laureth sulfate made me break out around my hairline, so I have to find a shampoo that has none of that (REALLY hard to find) AND has no wheat, barley, or oat as well. I do have a wheat allergy in addition to celiac, so you may want to look into whether you have additional allergies that may be playing into your scalp problems.