3 replies to this topic

#1 Dcoughli

Dcoughli

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 20 May 2005 - 10:38 AM

Hi - this is my first time writing but I am at wits end in finding an answer. My daughter has been on "watch" for Celiac for 2 years. She is 8 years old and two years ago starting having stomach aches around dinner, she is often in the bathroom, stools are somewhat normal. Her Endomysial test is normal but the Transglut tests was 97 2 years ago, 44 last year and now is 89, all well above normal range. She had a scope 2 years ago that was normal. I am concerned given the non-treatment of this disease that we are waiting for a positive biospsy. She has since had an Impedance Probe test (last week) because she has so much gas in her she feels like she is going to vomit, so we are checking for reflux.

I have an appt on Tues to go over the lab and probe results and most likely will have another scope procedure for biopsies. What questions should I be asking? We took the new genetic test to rule her out and could not. She has not changed clothing size for over a year, he is 52 inches and 59 lbs.

Any guidance or comments are appreciated.

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 bean

bean

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 476 posts

Posted 20 May 2005 - 02:07 PM

Here's a little info on the tests:

The tTG is extremely sensitive. This is from the book "Dangerous Grains" (my fav. book to quote )

"The tTG test usually identifies about 98% of those who have celiac disease, and it is a very specific test that can be used to rule out celiac disease in 95% of patients. This test appears to be superior to endomysium antibody testing, not only because it is less costly but also because it is a little better at identifying celiac disease and because interpretive bias is reduced by the use of computer scanning."

As for EMA Testing: