6 replies to this topic

#1 Joe0123

Joe0123

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 86 posts

Posted 09 April 2010 - 05:35 PM

So what vitamins or supplements do I need to get while being gluten free? I know magnesium cuz of constipation, but what else should I get?

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 kayo

kayo

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 324 posts

Posted 10 April 2010 - 09:37 AM

Great question. Looking forward to what people have to suggest as I'm new to the vitamin portion of dealing with this lifestyle as well.

I'm currently on 50k units of vitamin D once a week (Rx from GI doc, my D level was super low)
In addition I take a multivitamin and a calcium/vitamin D daily
I take a digestive enzyme, grapefruit seed extract pill and probiotic with dinner
40 year old former foodie on a quest to feel better!

-IgE to oats and rye
-Diagnosed with Colitis via endoscopy/colonoscopy Oct '10
-Following FODMAP diet since June '10, Positve SIBO test, July '10
-Diagnosed non-celiac gluten intolerant June '10 (celiac in March '10, endocsocopy in Oct '10 shows no signs of celiac)
-Osteopenia June '10
-Gluten free since July '09 & Soy free since December '09
-Dairy free since '06
-IBS & Sjogren's diagnosed '05
-RA diagnosed as a toddler

#3 masterjen

masterjen

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 96 posts

Posted 10 April 2010 - 01:33 PM

I would suggest you get blood tests done to determine if you are low in any vitamins or minerals (I'm not sure if they can test for all of the main ones or not, but they can test several). I know that some vitamins can cause harm if taken in excess, so you don't want to take what you don't need. If you suffer from weakness, like I have, ask that your potassium levels be checked in addition to the others.
Life throws us curve-balls sometimes, but if we didn't have challenges we would become too complacent and forget to respect the value of life itself.

#4 detritus

detritus