Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Tocopheryl Acetate
1 1

18 posts in this topic

I just realized that I start nearly every meal with hand sanitizer that has tocopheryl acetate in the ingredients list. I didn't know that this ingredient could be derived from wheat. After lots of online research, I am still finding conflicting information, so if someone can clear the air for me it would be much appreciated!

Basically I have found sites that say tocopheryl acetate is derived from soy. Others say it is unsafe for celiacs because it can be made from wheat. Still another said that it was processed to the point where it is probably safe. Then to top it all off, I found several gluten free products available with tocopheryl acetate in the ingredients.

Someone help!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

From what I understand, Vitamin E or Tocopheryl can be derived from wheat, soy, or corn. If it is derived from wheat is it not safe for Celiacs. It can be safe if derived from corn or soy (I am assuming that is why it can be found on gluten free products). It is commonly found in lotion and make-up for the skin. I avoid Tocopheryl (Vitamin E) when possible, unless I email the company or it is label gluten free. For hand sanitizer I use burts bees or purell, they are gluten free. I believe on this forum is a school products list with gluten free wipes and hand sanitizer like Equate, Pampers, etc, you should check it out! gluten-free school supply list Scroll down to the updated 2009 list!

Hope it helps!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Whenever I see tocopheryl or vitamin E on an ingredients list, I call the company to inquire about the source. Most times, they have to check and get back to me since the reps don't always have that information in front of them.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Germ-x hand sanitizer is gluten free too, and it smells FANTASTIC.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Tocopherol acetate is a pain in the butt. I have to call about that ingredient more than any other. I know that it is in Cetaphil lotion and it is NOT safe. I've also found it in make-up, called the company, and many times it IS safe. It's a booger, that's for sure.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Is it sad that this information makes me happy?! I have been gluten-free for 3 months since my diagnosis and still dont feel 100%. I definitely use a lot of products with tocopheryl acetate -- specifically ALL of my hand sanitizers that I use before each meal! This new info will def. help clear out old lingering CC issues.

Of course, thank you for your responses and helpful information about safe products. Also, I have used Cetaphil several times because its hypoallergenic. DUH. Can get rid of that one!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Is it sad that this information makes me happy?! I have been gluten-free for 3 months since my diagnosis and still dont feel 100%. I definitely use a lot of products with tocopheryl acetate -- specifically ALL of my hand sanitizers that I use before each meal! This new info will def. help clear out old lingering CC issues.

Of course, thank you for your responses and helpful information about safe products. Also, I have used Cetaphil several times because its hypoallergenic. DUH. Can get rid of that one!

The only Cetaphil product that is gluten-free is the Gentle Skin Cleanser. I've been using it for a while now with no issues, and I'm very sensitive. When I inquired about their moisturizer, they told me that all of their other products can not be considered gluten-free. Here is the email from them--

The Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser does not contain ingredients that may be derived from grains and therefore does not contain gluten.

The other Cetaphil products contain ingredients that may be derived from grains and therefore possibly contains gluten.

A cleansing validation of the production lines is performed between runs of different products. However, we cannot claim with 100% certainty that cross contamination has not occurred.

Best regards,

Special Services Specialist

Galderma Laboratories, L.P.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Is it sad that this information makes me happy?! I have been gluten-free for 3 months since my diagnosis and still dont feel 100%. I definitely use a lot of products with tocopheryl acetate -- specifically ALL of my hand sanitizers that I use before each meal! This new info will def. help clear out old lingering CC issues.

Of course, thank you for your responses and helpful information about safe products. Also, I have used Cetaphil several times because its hypoallergenic. DUH. Can get rid of that one!

We tend to use Eucerine or Aquaphor as a moisturizer. Good for sensitve skin and free of the bad stuff.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My eye shadow (Revlon Cream to Powder Eye Shadow) makes my eyelids red and burn every time I've used it. I've just been looking to see if it contains wheat and tocopheryl acetate is the best that I can come up with. Has anyone already contacted Revlon to know if their use of T.A is derived from wheat? If not, I guess I'll be contacting them. I can't use it either way because I'm reacting to it, but I'm curious to know if it's because of wheat/gluten.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I use a facial cleansing product I buy at Walgreens called Cerave. I can't use Cetaphil - I break out in a rash. Hope this helps.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Tocopherol acetate is a pain in the butt. I have to call about that ingredient more than any other. I know that it is in Cetaphil lotion and it is NOT safe. I've also found it in make-up, called the company, and many times it IS safe. It's a booger, that's for sure.

Please don't tell me this about cetaphil. It's the only cleanser that doesn't cause my skin to break out.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The beginning of this thread is a year old.

However....

Was listening to the television news this morning and they had a story about how if you used hand sanitizers at the rate that doctors and nurses are supposed to use them in a clinical setting, i.e., like over 4 times an hour, after several hours of this there's enough alcohol absorbed thru the skin that you could set off a breathalizer test.

Happy next thing to worry about !

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Tocopherol acetate is a pain in the butt. I have to call about that ingredient more than any other. I know that it is in Cetaphil lotion and it is NOT safe. I've also found it in make-up, called the company, and many times it IS safe. It's a booger, that's for sure.

Cetaphil? Damn it. >_<

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Tocopherol acetate ~ Well, this does not make me smile. I didn't know about this one! Also I use hand wipes on the tables at restaurants all the time. Guess I need to rethink those as well. grrrrrr :(

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well heck, I am a nurse, I only work the weekends but I use a LOT of alcohol sanitizer. Now I am going to have to look at the ingredients. I didn't even think that it could contain wheat. I can't win for losin. :(

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ops - see below

Edited by Coltsneck24
Error in text
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi, 

I was just reading the label on a bottle of Kirkland Signature Vitamin E, 400 I.U. that contains dl-Alpha Tocopherol Acetate.  I've read that this chemical contains gluten; however, on the table it states "No starch, yeast or gluten."  Should I assume that it means it's a gluten free product (stating the obvious) or should I be concerned because there is no gluten-free stamp on the bottle.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

http://www.glutenfreedietitian.com/vitamin-e-from-wheat-germ-oil/

Here is an article that will explain why tocopherols are safe for Celiac's to consume.  There does not have to be a gluten free stamp on the bottle for it to safe.  The company stated there was no gluten and tocopherols are not unsafe for consumption.  I have used countless vitamins and supplements that contain this ingredient and have never once gotten sick and I am very sensitive.

 

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
1 1

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.