Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

McDonald's McFrappes


  • Please log in to reply

19 replies to this topic

#16 Kaiasmom

 
Kaiasmom

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
 

Posted 19 April 2011 - 07:39 AM

It could also be the artificial vanilla. My daughter has celiac and cannot tolerate any vanilla that is not all natural and gluten free.

It very well be cross contamination. The person that makes your frappe is also handling the french fries ( which are not gluten free) and also the sandwich wrappers that have been touched by the person making the sandwich. A fast food restaurant is a mine field of cross contamination. If I purchase even a drink from McDonalds for my daughter, I emtpy it into a cup that I keep inthe car so that it is not contaminated.
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#17 rogerscity

 
rogerscity

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
 

Posted 13 June 2012 - 12:30 PM

MFS is most commonly tapioca. Perhaps you are sensitive to tapioca?


This is not correct. mfs is most commonly wheat flour.
unless it looks like this: "modified food starch (corn),"ect..

also i thought i'd mention that the drizzle(chocolate sauce) does have gluten
in it. only enough for someone with severe sensitivity to it.
I have not had any problems when i ask with no chocolate sauce.
Does anyone know if they do use the same machine or w/e to fix it.. ??
  • 0

#18 psawyer

 
psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,070 posts
 

Posted 13 June 2012 - 12:49 PM

This is not correct. mfs is most commonly wheat flour.
unless it looks like this: "modified food starch (corn),"ect.

Please cite your source for this claim.

I have been gluten-free for twelve years, and have yet to find a single case of MFS being wheat. In both Canada and the US, if it was wheat, that fact would be required to be clearly disclosed.
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#19 kareng

 
kareng

    HO! HO! HO!

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,312 posts
 

Posted 13 June 2012 - 02:12 PM

This is not correct. mfs is most commonly wheat flour.
unless it looks like this: "modified food starch (corn),"ect..

also i thought i'd mention that the drizzle(chocolate sauce) does have gluten
in it. only enough for someone with severe sensitivity to it.
I have not had any problems when i ask with no chocolate sauce.
Does anyone know if they do use the same machine or w/e to fix it.. ??


Your info is incorrect for the US.
On top of what Peter said, the McDonalds website gives the ingredients to the chocolate drizzle:

Chocolate Drizzle:
Corn syrup, dextrose, water, sugar, glycerin, hydrogenated coconut oil, cocoa (processed with alkali), food starch-modified, nonfat milk, natural (plant source) and
artificial flavor, salt, gellan gum, disodium phosphate, potassium sorbate (preservative), soy lecithin, artificial flavor (vanillin).
CONTAINS: MILK AND SOY LECITHIN.
  • 0

santa-dance.gif

 

Once again, we come to the Holiday Season, a deeply religious time that each of us observes, in his own way, by going to the mall of his choice. - Dave Barry
 
“The main reason Santa is so jolly is because he knows where all the bad girls live.”  - George Carlin
 
“One can never have enough socks," said Dumbledore. "Another Christmas has come and gone and I didn't get a single pair. People will insist on giving me books.”  - J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone
 
 
 
 
 

 


#20 Lisa

 
Lisa

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,802 posts
 

Posted 13 June 2012 - 02:17 PM

Your info is incorrect for the US.
On top of what Peter said, the McDonalds website gives the ingredients to the chocolate drizzle:

Chocolate Drizzle:
Corn syrup, dextrose, water, sugar, glycerin, hydrogenated coconut oil, cocoa (processed with alkali), food starch-modified, nonfat milk, natural (plant source) and
artificial flavor, salt, gellan gum, disodium phosphate, potassium sorbate (preservative), soy lecithin, artificial flavor (vanillin).
CONTAINS: MILK AND SOY LECITHIN.

Oh, Karen beat me to it! :P Here's the link:

http://nutrition.mcd...edientslist.pdf
  • -1
Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: