Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Tribe Hummus
0

12 posts in this topic

Does anyone know if this is still gluten-free? I know it used to say 'gluten-free' on the package, and when I was at the store today, I noticed none of them had the label, and then I checked their web site on my phone..and it says dairy-free, kosher, etc.... but nothing about being gluten-free, yet is has some natural flavoring in it, so I am nervous to eat it without knowing for sure. And of course it is the weekend, so I can't call them

Cheers!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Have you checked the Tribe website?

http://www.tribehummus.com/nutrition.html

I hate when companies are vague, suddenly change ingredients or come up with CYA statements even though their products may be gluten free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, I did check the web site as I was at the store, and that is the thing, they don't even mention gluten, yet they say it is dairy and soy-free. So if it was gluten-free, and it used to even label it gluten-free, why would they not mention it now??

Very interesting....mm......

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry, I realize this is not about Tribe hummus, but if you are looking for some gluten-free hummus before you find out for sure about Tribe, I checked with Cedar's in December 2009 after noticing a similar issue with the gluten free label going missing. They confirmed that they are changing packaging, and it is all gluten-free.

Yes, all of our hommus is gluten free. We are in the middle of changing our packaging and all of it will say gluten/wheat free.

Sorry for the confusion. Have a great new year!

Sincerely,

Cindy Giusti

Cedars Mediterranean Foods Inc

www.cedarsfoods.com

Does anyone know if this is still gluten-free? I know it used to say 'gluten-free' on the package, and when I was at the store today, I noticed none of them had the label, and then I checked their web site on my phone..and it says dairy-free, kosher, etc.... but nothing about being gluten-free, yet is has some natural flavoring in it, so I am nervous to eat it without knowing for sure. And of course it is the weekend, so I can't call them

Cheers!

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Who knows why! It is so aggravating. Or you email the company and don't know any more when you get their lame response to a simple question than you did before you even asked.

Like Wal-Mart's Great Value chicken broth - it used to say gluten free on the label but now there's a CYA statement with an allergy warning: Contains milk. May contain traces of eggs and shrimp. Shrimp? In chicken broth? That's why it takes me absolutely forever to shop, which I've come to hate even more since going gluten free.

I think the only way to avoid these ridiculous things is to make our own from scratch whenever possible so we know exactly what's in something. Obviously that has nothing to do with the Tribe Hummus you already bought. mad.gif

OK...I'll get off my soapbox now. blink.gif

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I think the only way to avoid these ridiculous things is to make our own from scratch whenever possible so we know exactly what's in something. Obviously that has nothing to do with the Tribe Hummus you already bought. mad.gif

Hummus is very easy to make. All is takes is a can of chick peas, some tahini, and whatever you want to make it your own like lemon juice or garlic or dill or sun dried tomatoes or anything really. You don't even need a food processor, though it does help :)

~Allison

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think the only way to avoid these ridiculous things is to make our own from scratch whenever possible so we know exactly what's in something.

But, you still will not really know for sure if you bought any ingredient from somebody else, or grew it in your own yard where a person or animal may have brought something into the yard. Grow your own everything in a greenhouse with positive air pressure differential and an airlock, and maybe then you can be sure.

Okay, that was a bit over-the-top, but my point is that whenever you buy something, you take a risk.

Shrimp in chicken broth? Yes, of course, if one of the other soups they make contains shrimp. That is what "may contain traces of x" means--a shared facility or equipment with another product that does contain it. I take it that your own home is absolutely 100% gluten-free; otherwise you have the *same risks* in your house.

Labels and cross-contamination risk are valid topics, but this one is about hummus, and a specific one at that.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, I know I can make hummus, and actually have all the ingredients on hand, but I will wanted something quick and easy and I used to always eat this brand, so that is why the new packaging and lack of explanation on their web site leaves me confused.

Thanks

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi, I emailed Tribe a couple of weeks ago and this is the response I got:

"Thank you for your interest in Tribe products and

taking the time to email us with your question.

Yes, all our hummus are gluten free. Hope this

eases your mind. Please feel free to enjoy.

I will drop some money saving coupons in the mail today.

Sincerely,

Peg Volpe

Consumer Affairs Specialist

Tribe Mediterranean Foods, Inc."

So, I tried it once again and it didn't sit well with me, not sure if it was something else in there I'm sensitive to. I stick with Cedar's now.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, I know I can make hummus, and actually have all the ingredients on hand, but I will wanted something quick and easy and I used to always eat this brand, so that is why the new packaging and lack of explanation on their web site leaves me confused.

That's so odd, then.

I just think of hummus as so easy to do and containing about 6 basic ingredients.

I can't imagine what they would put into hummus except "natural flavoring" that had gluten in it??

At least you got an answer from Mac below.

Now I wonder what is making her sick from it.

I like premade hummus but it's never garlicky or lemony enough for me, so I tend to make my own.

But you know, as I can't eat pita bread now ... I haven't made it in a while.

I have a recipe for gluten-free pita bread but I actually get down to trying to make it.

Hummus and pita bread are vital together though hummus and carrots come pretty close :)

~Allison

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I take it that your own home is absolutely 100% gluten-free; otherwise you have the *same risks* in your house.

Labels and cross-contamination risk are valid topics, but this one is about hummus, and a specific one at that.

I highly doubt that it's even humanly possible for anyone to make their home 100% gluten free. I just never dreamed grocery shopping would be so terribly frustrating.

My apologies for getting off topic.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Instead of pita, I like hummus with fresh cut veggies, especially red and yellow bell peppers and rice crackers.

I had some of the Tribe hummus today, and so far, so good (knock on wood)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,115
    • Total Posts
      919,446
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • I'm glad I found these forums!  I will spend some more time this evening reading through them.  But I wanted to get my question out there just to see if anyone else might have answers quicker than I can sift through the forum for them.      I've been feeling terrible for about a year, and after an elimination diet last month, figured out that if nothing else, gluten/wheat is a problem.  After lots of research, I abandoned the elimination diet and added gluten back in, so that I could get tested for Celiac.   I was off gluten for 3 weeks, from mid-June until early July.  I've had it back in my diet for almost 3 weeks now.    My question is this: Since I was off gluten for 3 weeks, and now back on for almost 3, is that enough time on to yield a positive Celiac blood test, if that indeed is what I have?  All the research I've done says 4-6 weeks for a gluten challenge, but is that really necessary if I was only not eating it for 3 weeks?  I am desperate to get this testing done and over with.  I feel terrible all the time and getting through the day is a struggle.  My doctor ran allergy panels already and everything came back clear except for a mild wheat allergy.  So if nothing else, I'll have to give up wheat for sure at the end of all this.  I get the feeling she doesn't know a ton about Celiac though, so I'm doing a lot of the research on my own. Any advice or information would be so appreciated! 
    • Hi Michael, That's quite a spike in blood pressure!  I haven't tested that myself and don't want to if it means I have to eat gluten.  Blood pressure testing to identify food reactions is something that has come up before.  It sounds like it might be possible but I don't know how much study has been done on it.  Probably not much since it is such a simple, straight forward idea. Welcome to the forum!
    • Hi Megan, Did the doctor test you for celiac disease?  You really shouldn't go gluten-free until all the testing for celiac disease is completed.  It is a little odd for a doctor to tell you to go gluten-free for no reason IMHO.  Did he/she explain the reason for it? Personally, I have learned over the years what I can eat safely and what I can't.  Occasionally I get hit but it is rare.  Simplifying your diet is a good first step.  Avoiding processed foods for a while and dairy also is good.  I suggest any change you make last for a month at least. Then try the food again. If you are eating 100 random ingredients/foods each day it is hard to figure these things out.  If you reduce it to a much smaller number of foods then things become simpler. Welcome to the forum!
    • Finally, proof that non-celiac gluten sensitivity is real. ... for the 30 percent of consumers who choose to buy gluten-free products and the 41 percent of ... View the full article
    • hey! Wondering if I can get some good info/help from you guys! I just signed up for this website couple weeks ago. Whenever I would Google things this was always the first to pop up and I always found info on things I googled. I am pretty new to the gluten free thing. I had a hernia surgery back in Jan and after that I kept throwing up after eating, the DR. told me it was probably acid reflex caused from surgery but all the meds I tried nothing helped. I went back and was told to cut gluten out. I have been doing so since. When I first started I felt like I had it under control and didn't throw up for 3 weeks, now I find it happening more often. I do buy gluten-free things and read labels to the best I can. My frustration comes from not knowing what its from. How do you know if its from the day before or what you just ate? I hate not knowing. Especially when I haven't had gluten (or so I think) I have been keeping a journal but I just find it so hard. I get this feeling in my stomach and can feel it in my throat. Sometimes I puke once sometimes 5 times! Yesterday for lunch I made an omlet with chicken mushrooms and feta cheese. I threw up almost 20 min after. I have also tried the no dairy thing and it doesn't seem to make a difference so I don't think dairy is an issue as well.
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,154
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    calla84
    Joined