Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Drinking Scotch Whisky With Malt


  • Please log in to reply

8 replies to this topic

#1 taszoo

 
taszoo

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
 

Posted 28 April 2010 - 03:35 AM

I have just been diagnosed as a celiac and I was wondering if anybody knows if I can still drink scotch whisky with malt in it. Such as Chivas Regal or Glenfiddich. I am having difficulty find any information about what happens when the malt is added.
  • 0
Taszoo

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 irish daveyboy

 
irish daveyboy

    The Irish Coeliac

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 689 posts
 

Posted 28 April 2010 - 02:18 PM

I have just been diagnosed as a celiac and I was wondering if anybody knows if I can still drink scotch whisky with malt in it. Such as Chivas Regal or Glenfiddich. I am having difficulty find any information about what happens when the malt is added.


All distilled spirits are Gluten Free.
The protein does not pass over during distillation.

http://www.celiac.co...ages/Page1.html

Best Regards,
David
  • 0
Chronically Ill and lost 56lbs in 3 Months Prior to Diagnosis.
Diagnosed in Nov 2005 after Biopsy and Blood Tests
Cannot tolerate Codex Wheat Starch.
Self Taught Baker.
Bake everything from scratch using naturally gluten-free ingredients.

#3 Jestgar

 
Jestgar

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,755 posts
 

Posted 28 April 2010 - 02:29 PM

Although beware of some blends. I have heard, but not verified, that some companies put in a bit of undistilled mash to balance the flavor between batches.
  • 0
"But then, in all honesty, if scientists don't play god, who will?"
- James Watson

My sources are unreliable, but their information is fascinating.
- Ashleigh Brilliant

Leap, and the net will appear.

#4 Wolicki

 
Wolicki

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 948 posts
 

Posted 28 April 2010 - 03:45 PM

All distilled spirits are Gluten Free.
The protein does not pass over during distillation.

http://www.celiac.co...ages/Page1.html

Best Regards,
David

My gut tells me differently. I've gotten violent gluten reactions from scotch.
  • 0
Gluten free is not so bad! If you are new, hang it there, it gets easier!

#5 Jestgar

 
Jestgar

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,755 posts
 

Posted 28 April 2010 - 04:12 PM

I drink quite a bit of single malt and have never had a reaction.
  • 0
"But then, in all honesty, if scientists don't play god, who will?"
- James Watson

My sources are unreliable, but their information is fascinating.
- Ashleigh Brilliant

Leap, and the net will appear.

#6 ravenwoodglass

 
ravenwoodglass

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,791 posts
 

Posted 28 April 2010 - 04:41 PM

My gut tells me differently. I've gotten violent gluten reactions from scotch.


There are some of us who will react to even distilled gluten grains. I also am one of them. If someone is newly diagnosed IMHO it is best to be completely healed before trying them. Chances are you will be fine but some like Wolicki and myself might as well eat a wheat based pizza. They have the same effect.
  • 0
Courage does not always roar, sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying
"I will try again tommorrow" (Mary Anne Radmacher)


celiac 49 years - Misdiagnosed for 45
Blood tested and repeatedly negative
Diagnosed by Allergist with elimination diet and diagnosis confirmed by GI in 2002
Misdiagnoses for 15 years were IBS-D, ataxia, migraines, anxiety, depression, fibromyalgia, parathesias, arthritis, livedo reticularis, hairloss, premature menopause, osteoporosis, kidney damage, diverticulosis, prediabetes and ulcers, dermatitis herpeformis
All bold resoved or went into remission with proper diagnosis of Celiac November 2002
Some residual nerve damage remains as of 2006- this has continued to resolve after eliminating soy in 2007

Mother died of celiac related cancer at 56
Twin brother died as a result of autoimmune liver destruction at age 15

Children 2 with Ulcers, GERD, Depression, , 1 with DH, 1 with severe growth stunting (male adult 5 feet)both finally diagnosed Celiac through blood testing and 1 with endo 6 months after Mom


Positive to Soy and Casien also Aug 2007

Gluten Sensitivity Gene Test Aug 2007
HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 1 0303

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 2 0303

Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 3,3 (Subtype 9,9)

#7 Korwyn

 
Korwyn

    Don't forget your towel!

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 602 posts
 

Posted 04 May 2010 - 01:57 AM

I am super sensitive to most things but I've had no problem with any single malts which I find interesting since some other super sensitives do seem to react to single malt.
  • 0
Undiagnosed for 20 years since first symptoms.
March 2009 - Negative Blood work
April 24, 2009 - Gluten-free
April 29, 2009 - Notably positive response to gluten-free Diet.
May 2, 2009 Dairy Free
May 6, 2009, Soy Free
May 27, 2009 Enterolab Results: Positive Anti-gliadin IgA, tTG IgA, Casein, HLA DQ2.2, HLA DQ8
June 4, 2009 Refined sugar free (except Raw Honey, pure Maple syrup)
June 29, 2009, Dad diagnosed Celiac by GI specialist via blood work and dietary response.
July 2009, Dad's gene test: double DQ8! Thanks Dad - I'll try to get you something nice for Christmas! :)
August 8, 2009 Really Soy free this time - Thanks Blue Diamond for the soy lecithin in the almond milk! :(

#8 Skylark

 
Skylark

    Glutenologist

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,490 posts
 

Posted 09 May 2010 - 08:49 AM

I do OK with Irish and Scottish single malts too, and I've gotten pretty sensitive lately.

I wonder whether occasional issues with whiskey are from the casks. Wikipedia says that while sherry casks are preferred and old bourbon casks are common, red wine and even beer casks can be used. There's an old discussion on here about flour paste being used to seal oak casks, and an old beer cask is obviously an issue.
  • 0

#9 starrytrekchic

 
starrytrekchic

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 192 posts
 

Posted 11 May 2010 - 07:19 AM

I have just been diagnosed as a celiac and I was wondering if anybody knows if I can still drink scotch whisky with malt in it. Such as Chivas Regal or Glenfiddich. I am having difficulty find any information about what happens when the malt is added.


I second the recommendation to skip it for now. Give yourself a few months to adjust to the diet and get a handle on it. I'm one of those who reacts violently to anything distilled. You may react to it, you may not, but early on, I'd recommend erring on the side of caution.
  • 0




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: