15 replies to this topic

#1 ewp11100

ewp11100

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 06 May 2010 - 03:33 AM

I bought rice cakes at the store which had a gluten-free label. When I can home I notice they have Caramel coloring. Should I trust that what ever the caramel coloring is derived from is not wheat?
TIA I'm a newbie!
Erin

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Lisa

Lisa

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,799 posts

Posted 06 May 2010 - 04:13 AM

I bought rice cakes at the store which had a gluten-free label. When I can home I notice they have Caramel coloring. Should I trust that what ever the caramel coloring is derived from is not wheat?
TIA I'm a newbie!
Erin

Caramel color is not a concern for people with Celiac. If an ingredient was derived from wheat, it must be listed on the lable.
Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

#3 Kim27

Kim27

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 153 posts

Posted 06 May 2010 - 05:18 AM

Lisa,

Does this include drinks as well? For example, teas?
Thanks!!!

---------------------------------------------------
Kim

Newly diagnosed Celiac trying to learn the ropes

Very Positive tTG 3/10
Positive EGD/Biopsy 4/10

#4 psawyer

psawyer

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,049 posts

Posted 06 May 2010 - 05:33 AM

Caramel color is safe for celiacs. Period.
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#5 Kim27

Kim27

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 153 posts

Posted 06 May 2010 - 05:36 AM

good to know, thanks for the info!
Thanks!!!

---------------------------------------------------
Kim

Newly diagnosed Celiac trying to learn the ropes

Very Positive tTG 3/10
Positive EGD/Biopsy 4/10

#6 Lisa

Lisa

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip