Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Labeled gluten-free But Had Caramel Coloring
0

16 posts in this topic

I bought rice cakes at the store which had a gluten-free label. When I can home I notice they have Caramel coloring. Should I trust that what ever the caramel coloring is derived from is not wheat?

TIA I'm a newbie!

Erin

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I bought rice cakes at the store which had a gluten-free label. When I can home I notice they have Caramel coloring. Should I trust that what ever the caramel coloring is derived from is not wheat?

TIA I'm a newbie!

Erin

Caramel color is not a concern for people with Celiac. If an ingredient was derived from wheat, it must be listed on the lable.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Lisa,

Does this include drinks as well? For example, teas?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Caramel color is safe for celiacs. Period.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

good to know, thanks for the info!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Lisa,

Does this include drinks as well? For example, teas?

Yes, it does Kim :)

For those learning the twists and turns of the diet, I would recommend www.CeceliasMarketplace.com, a Gluten Free Grocery Guide that is published annually.

After that first year, you will learn to read labels, which is the best way to purchase food and eat safely.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, it does Kim :)

For those learning the twists and turns of the diet, I would recommend www.CeceliasMarketplace.com, a Gluten Free Grocery Guide that is published annually.

After that first year, you will learn to read labels, which is the best way to purchase food and eat safely.

Wow Lisa! thanks for the website... Very inforamtive and helpful!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, it does Kim :)

For those learning the twists and turns of the diet, I would recommend www.CeceliasMarketplace.com, a Gluten Free Grocery Guide that is published annually.

After that first year, you will learn to read labels, which is the best way to purchase food and eat safely.

Wow Lisa! thanks for the website... Very inforamtive and helpful!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I avoid it unless I call and find out what it is made from. From the Unsafe list on this website:

http://www.celiac.com/articles/182/1/Unsafe-Gluten-Free-Food-List-Unsafe-Ingredients/Page1.html

The problem with caramel color is it may or may not contain gluten depending on how it is manufactured. In the USA caramel color must conform with the FDA standard of identity from 21CFR CH.1. This statute says: the color additive caramel is the dark-brown liquid or solid material resulting from the carefully controlled heat treatment of the following food-grade carbohydrates: Dextrose (corn sugar), invert sugar, lactose (milk sugar), malt syrup (usually from barley malt), molasses (from cane), starch hydrolysates and fractions thereof (can include wheat), sucrose (cane or beet). Also, acids, alkalis and salts are listed as additives which may be employed to assist the caramelization process.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I avoid it unless I call and find out what it is made from. From the Unsafe list on this website:

http://www.celiac.com/articles/182/1/Unsafe-Gluten-Free-Food-List-Unsafe-Ingredients/Page1.html

The problem with caramel color is it may or may not contain gluten depending on how it is manufactured. In the USA caramel color must conform with the FDA standard of identity from 21CFR CH.1. This statute says: the color additive caramel is the dark-brown liquid or solid material resulting from the carefully controlled heat treatment of the following food-grade carbohydrates: Dextrose (corn sugar), invert sugar, lactose (milk sugar), malt syrup (usually from barley malt), molasses (from cane), starch hydrolysates and fractions thereof (can include wheat), sucrose (cane or beet). Also, acids, alkalis and salts are listed as additives which may be employed to assist the caramelization process.

http://www.glutenfreeliving.com/ingredient.php

Caramel color

Corn is used to make caramel color in the U.S. The FDA does permit use of barley malt but all major caramel color producers say corn makes a better product.

http://celiacdisease.about.com/od/celiacdiseasefaqs/f/Caramel_Coloring.htm

BUT registered dietitian Shelley Case, who is on the medical advisory board of the Celiac Disease Foundation, the Gluten Intolerance Group, and the Canadian Celiac Association, told me that gluten-containing ingredients are no longer used to make caramel coloring in North America, and from my own correspondence with major manufacturers of caramel color that indeed seems to be the case. While gluten-containing ingredients can be used in the production of caramel color, North American companies are now using glucose from corn, or sometimes sucrose (table sugar). In Europe, Shelley says, companies use glucose syrup that's derived from wheat starch, but the caramel color is highly processed and contains no gluten.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

http://www.glutenfreeliving.com/ingredient.php

Caramel color

Corn is used to make caramel color in the U.S. The FDA does permit use of barley malt but all major caramel color producers say corn makes a better product.

http://celiacdisease.about.com/od/celiacdiseasefaqs/f/Caramel_Coloring.htm

BUT registered dietitian Shelley Case, who is on the medical advisory board of the Celiac Disease Foundation, the Gluten Intolerance Group, and the Canadian Celiac Association, told me that gluten-containing ingredients are no longer used to make caramel coloring in North America, and from my own correspondence with major manufacturers of caramel color that indeed seems to be the case. While gluten-containing ingredients can be used in the production of caramel color, North American companies are now using glucose from corn, or sometimes sucrose (table sugar). In Europe, Shelley says, companies use glucose syrup that's derived from wheat starch, but the caramel color is highly processed and contains no gluten.

Scott got his info straight from the FDA website (I just checked to be sure). At no place in the FDA website does it say that corn is the most common source but it of course could be.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In addition, as mentioned in the above quote, caramel color is so highly processed, any gluten, regardless of the source, is removed during that process.

Caramel color should be safe the the general Celiac community to consume.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Caramel Coloring in FOOD must be labeled if it was derived from wheat. In other products, I call just to be on the safe side. But, if it is a food item, labeled gluten free (with caramel coloring) but no mention of wheat, I would not worry. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here is Shelley Case's take on it, from Gluten-Free Diet A Comprehensive Resource Guide:

Although gluten-containing ingredients (barley malt syrup and starch hydrolysates) can be used in the production of caramel color, North American companies use corn as it has a longer shelf life and makes a superior product. European companies use glucose derived from wheat starch, however caramel color is highly processed and contains no gluten.
[Emphasis in original]
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Caramel color is safe for celiacs. Period.

I disagree, at least as far as my own system is concerned. I've had several reactions that were tied back to caramel coloring.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I disagree, at least as far as my own system is concerned. I've had several reactions that were tied back to caramel coloring.

Same for me. I avoid all sugars/starches and all their derivates unless their origin is clearly stated on the label. "Better safe than sorry" is my motto when it comes to eating processed food. For the same reasons I avoid vinegars - I don't believe white vinegar is any safer than grain vodka or whisky (both make me sick).

But as for the original question, I wouldn't worry about caramel colour if it's labelled gluten-free.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,665
    • Total Posts
      921,655
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • You're welcome! Yes, I too, hate waiting for lab results. Ugh!
    • I understand this is not a doctor's office and that I need proper testing done to rule out Celiac disease, however, I am stuck waiting until November to even see a GI doctor. So I need some suggestions soon on which test to go for first and what to do as I wait. Also do note, I am 28 years old.

      Right now, the most suspecting culprits to my symptoms have been Gallbadder, Celiac disease, and IBS. I have also been recently diagnosed with pre-diabetes and I am obese.  My Ultrasound and CT scan have all come up as normal and no signs of gallstones. However, I was in extreme pain as my upper abdomen was examined during the ultra sound. My white blood cell count also seems to be high at 12,000 but all blood work came back normal for liver and everything else.

      Symptoms included are: diarrhea
      yellow-stools (Sometimes foul smelling but always sink)
      light gnawing pain in area a few inches above belly button
      burning in chest
      sometimes pain below upper right rib cage.
      Tenderness all around the upper abdomen, but more so on the right and center.
      burping frequently after meals
      Gassy
      bloating in abdomen The pains used to come and go for the past few years as something very mild, but then the yellow stools happen at least four months ago and at a constant rate. Everyday it is either yellow or orange.  Sometimes the stools are lose and other times they are not. Two months in, I was finally diagnosed with pre-diabetes and have been having a strict low calorie and non fatty diet.

      So far the upper right pain has subsided but the pain above my belly button would continue. The gassy and bloated feeling would come and go as well. I get severe heart burn after almost every meal. But I felt it especially after eating whole wheat sandwiches or whole wheat pasta. I however don't feel it when I eat a Nature Valley granola bar, or pack of peanut butter crackers. I also had a chicken and vegetable stir fry with soy sauce cooked in that also had little effect on me. A bowl of cereal also made the heart burn act up pretty bad. I sometimes feel numb or light headed after various meals. Especially larger ones. In fact, it seems the more I eat, the worse I feel. But the less in the stomach, the more the pain above my belly button starts to act up.

      It is usually in the morning and afternoon I feel the most with gas and bloating. Especially after any large meals from the previous day. Despite the diet and work outs I have had, nothing has changed the stools. However, taking fish oil pills has greatly reduced the pain in my upper abdomen as well as the pain  in the the area above my belly button. My question now is, is there a very likely chance of this being celiac disease? Should I go on a gluten free diet to test since I Have to wait so long? Also, which test should I ask the doctor for first, as it will take a GREAT deal of time to pay off each one. Colonoscopy, HIDA scan, or endoscopy. 

      Again, I understand this isn't a site to get compete medical advice or to know exactly what my illness is, but I am trying to narrow down the possibility or what is most likely. If this has a chance of being celiac disease, I would rather know sooner than later.
    • Thank you very much for all the info Squirmingitch. The doctor told me as we were talking he was going to order some tests with urine so I don't know why he didn't mark that. Maybe he forgot as we were talking? Duly noted about the bladder Cancer to watch out for too. Doctor said it will take about a week to get the lab results back usually from this lab. The wait will seem like forever I'm sure. Yes I will press to have the other tests done too if this one comes back negative.
    • http://www.cureceliacdisease.org/screening/ Was your hubs tested for total IgA to see if he's IgA deficient? Read this thread: http://www.mayomedicallaboratories.com/test-catalog/Clinical+and+Interpretive/83660
    • Yes, bone density problems are all part of the celiac "umbrella" so to speak and yes, osteoporosis tends to happen more rapidly and at earlier ages than normal when malabsorption is happening. At age 43, it's not normal to have osteoporosis as you describe so that's another part of the jigsaw puzzle. Time to receive blood test results back from the doc are entirely dependent on the particular lab they were sent to. Yep, it's time for you to start keeping a very close check on the PSA in light of your father having had prostrate cancer. I would think you should get a PSA every year. I really would have liked to see him do a urinalysis. With the prostrate cancer your father had, it would seem a close watch should be kept on you for bladder cancer as well. The first symptom of that is blood in the urine but it's generally microscopic before you're ever able to actually see it. That happens to be the 8th most common cancer in men & it's moving up in the rankings. I know this because my hubs had it. The good news is that it's also one of the easiest and most successfully treated provided it's caught early. Certainly starting @ age 50, men should see a urologist every year. BTW, in the last year before I found out I was celiac, I turned up with microscopic blood in my urine. I got it checked out thoroughly since I know about bladder cancer & all tests, ultrasounds, cystoscopy, CT scan etc... turned out fine. The docs were stumped & finally said, "apparently that's just what your body does". Guess what? That's not "just" what MY body does. Once I went gluten-free, I have had no more microscopic blood in my urine. Interesting eh? Before now I didn't realize you are in Canada. The doc didn't do the full celiac panel but I understand the initial screening protocols in Canada only order the TTG but if that comes back negative be sure & press for the full panel as cyclinglady said. We have several here who tested like cyclinglady so it's not a rare thing, it's just not the norm. I'm glad he's doing the B-12 & Ferritin -- those can be big clues.
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,663
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    Steph0903
    Joined