48 replies to this topic

#1 vbecton

vbecton

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 167 posts

Posted 27 May 2010 - 09:14 AM

Hey guys! I'm still very new to this whole celiac disease thing, but I've just received my Enterolab box to gene test & test for gluten sensitivity...plus other things. I ordered this out of desperation for some sort of answers after all my blood work has repeatedly come back negative. As with so many people on here, I just want some answers. I'm currently gluten free, so I refuse to do a gluten challenge just for a biopsy.

So here's my question. My local Celiac support group isn't keen on Enterolab and said his testing methods were antiquated. From what I've read about Enterolab, it seems his testing methods are progressive and he seems to be able to find far more info about gluten intolerance than any other lab out there. What are your thoughts about my Celiac group not supporting Enterolab's testing?
Diagnosed with Celiac Disease, July 2010, after 20 years of chronic low blood sugar and GI issues. I blame undiagnosed Celiac Disease for not becoming a professional marathon runner and being such a pathetic athlete in college. I was robbed :)

Gluten Free 04/2010
Dairy Free 06/2010
Soy Free 05/2010
Legume Free 05/2010
Caffeine Free 05/2007

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Skylark

Skylark

Glutenologist

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,490 posts

Posted 27 May 2010 - 10:10 AM

If you look in the biomedical literature, there is virtually nothing about stool antibody diagnostic testing. Enterolab has made the decision to only patent their tests, rather than doing proper controlled studies and publishing in the peer-reviewed scientific literature. This means that anyone with good scientific training (like me) will regard Enterolab with deep suspicion.