Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Lipton Onion Soup Mix Has Barley In It
0

31 posts in this topic

I'm new to the Forum and new to having to go Gluten Free. I thought Lipton Onion Soup Mix was Gluten Free. I've looked up so many products I'm not sure where I got that information, but when I went to buy it I read the label and it said Yeast Extract (Barley). So I'm assuming it's not Gluten Free anymore, if it ever was.

Also, was wondering how to do searches that bring up less results? If that's possible. Sometimes I'll search and so many threads will come up I'm not sure where to look first! Thanks. Sorry if everybody already knows about the Lipton

L

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I'm new to the Forum and new to having to go Gluten Free. I thought Lipton Onion Soup Mix was Gluten Free. I've looked up so many products I'm not sure where I got that information, but when I went to buy it I read the label and it said Yeast Extract (Barley). So I'm assuming it's not Gluten Free anymore, if it ever was.

Also, was wondering how to do searches that bring up less results? If that's possible. Sometimes I'll search and so many threads will come up I'm not sure where to look first! Thanks. Sorry if everybody already knows about the Lipton

L

Hi! Nice to meetcha!

I didn't know that about the Lipton Onion Soup. I love the dip made with that.

I also didn't know that Yeast Extract was Barley - boy! I had no idea at all about that! I'm new to being gluten-free, too, and I'm with ya on the too many sites come up when trying to search for something.

I wonder if everything with yeast is bad - ? Also I read something about iodine on here, does that include salt?

I'm as lost as you are LOL :D but you sure just taught me something I didn't know!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeast is gluten-free, at least to start with. Yeast extract is thus normally gluten-free as well. Occasionally, spent yeast from the beer-brewing process is used when a flavor is desired (as opposed to a leavening agent, for which spent yeast is useless). "Brewer's yeast," or an extract made from it, has been exposed to barely through the brewing process, and are therefore not gluten-free.

This is a change to the ingredients of Lipton Onion Soup--it has historically been gluten-free for as long as I have been on the diet (ten years).

:(:(:angry:

What you have read about iodine is in reference to DH, and it is the elemental iodide that is the issue. Plain salt is sodium chloride (NaCl), but iodized salt contains traces of sodium iodide (NaI). If you are having an active outbreak of DH, iodine will make it worse, but iodine alone does not cause DH--gluten does.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm tempted to drive BACK to the store to double check the box but I swear that's what I saw. I was mightily disappointed as well. I'm craving chips and dip. I used to LOVE Golden Onion Lipton but read that that one had wheat so I decided to go with regular Onion and then I saw the Barley on the label. I have to say if what I saw was correct, I don't understand why a company like Lipton (or Unilever) would, in this day and age of companies striving to offer Gluten Free Products, change their recipe to include Gluten! I'm so bummed!

Yeast is gluten-free, at least to start with. Yeast extract is thus normally gluten-free as well. Occasionally, spent yeast from the beer-brewing process is used when a flavor is desired (as opposed to a leavening agent, for which spent yeast is useless). "Brewer's yeast," or an extract made from it, has been exposed to barely through the brewing process, and are therefore not gluten-free.

This is a change to the ingredients of Lipton Onion Soup--it has historically been gluten-free for as long as I have been on the diet (ten years).

:(:(:angry:

What you have read about iodine is in reference to DH, and it is the elemental iodide that is the issue. Plain salt is sodium chloride (NaCl), but iodized salt contains traces of sodium iodide (NaI). If you are having an active outbreak of DH, iodine will make it worse, but iodine alone does not cause DH--gluten does.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi to everyone by the way!

I should clarify that when I read the label it said Yeast Extract (Barley). It actually said BARLEY on it. I wasn't extrapolating that Yeast Extract is Barley. I would have had no idea Yeast Extract could be bad but it actually said Yeast Extract (Barley). So they were living up to their promise of listing Gluten ingredients I guess. I think I read Unilever made this promise and at least they stuck to it

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Wow--I can't believe they changed the ingredients to include gluten :angry:

BTW, welcome, Lily :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just pulled up this website: http://www.ceceliasmarketplace.com/2008-product-alerts.html

soup: page 336 (product alert added 4/26/10)

LIPTON - CLARIFICATION:

Kosher Recipe Secrets Onion Soup & Dip Mix is NOT gluten-free

Regular Recipe Secrets Onion Soup & Dip Mix is gluten-free

Looks like the regular Lipton dry Onion Soup is still gluten free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just pulled up this website: http://www.ceceliasmarketplace.com/2008-product-alerts.html

soup: page 336 (product alert added 4/26/10)

LIPTON - CLARIFICATION:

Kosher Recipe Secrets Onion Soup & Dip Mix is NOT gluten-free

Regular Recipe Secrets Onion Soup & Dip Mix is gluten-free

Looks like the regular Lipton dry Onion Soup is still gluten free.

Thanks for posting!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In addition, Lipton is an Unilever Company and their policy is to always list clearly, ALL forms of gluten if used as an ingredient. So, all you have to do is read the labels. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

She did read the label and it listed barley, only she was reading the Kosher version. It was a product mix-up.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeast is gluten-free, at least to start with. Yeast extract is thus normally gluten-free as well. Occasionally, spent yeast from the beer-brewing process is used when a flavor is desired (as opposed to a leavening agent, for which spent yeast is useless). "Brewer's yeast," or an extract made from it, has been exposed to barely through the brewing process, and are therefore not gluten-free.

This is a change to the ingredients of Lipton Onion Soup--it has historically been gluten-free for as long as I have been on the diet (ten years).

:(:(:angry:

What you have read about iodine is in reference to DH, and it is the elemental iodide that is the issue. Plain salt is sodium chloride (NaCl), but iodized salt contains traces of sodium iodide (NaI). If you are having an active outbreak of DH, iodine will make it worse, but iodine alone does not cause DH--gluten does.

I do have DH on my elbow. I have Morton's Salt and I also have Sea Salt, which states that it has no iodine, "a necessary nutrient".

Could it be that's why my elbow has gotten better since gong gluten-free but keeps coming back - because of the iodine? Maybe I should stick just to the sea salt?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok guys, LOL. I just walked two miles to recheck the box.

Ok, first I decided that the local bodega would probably still have the old formation and it did. Ingredients: Onions, Salt, Cornstarch, Onion Powder, Sugar, Corn Syrup, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Caramel Color, Partially Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Monosodium Glutamate, Yeast Extract, Natural Flavors, Disodium Inosinate, Disodium Guanylate

Then I walked the rest of the 2 miles to Shop & Stop and looked at the soups and Autolyzed Yeast Extract (Barley) was listed (like the 5th ingredient down).

Now, LOL, I did not check to see if it was Kosher but I looked at the front of the box and did not see any added information (like Kosher) but I guess tomorrow I'll go BACK and check again. Not tonight, gotta take a shower. I'm sweating. So perhaps the box I saw is the Kosher formation. If it is, I didn't see Kosher!!

Hey I guess I could use the exercize anyway!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

She did read the label and it listed barley, only she was reading the Kosher version. It was a product mix-up.

Just speaking in general terms, regarding Unilever :D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All I know is that I gave up on eating Lipton Onion Soup mix a couple years ago because every time I ate it I got sick. It wouldn't surprise me at all if it has gluten in it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All I know is that I gave up on eating Lipton Onion Soup mix a couple years ago because every time I ate it I got sick. It wouldn't surprise me at all if it has gluten in it.

It is manufactured with products that contain wheat so you may have been reacting to that (cross contamination) if you're sensitive. It also contains soy which certain people can be intolerant to.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok I went BACK to the store and checked every inch of that box. It doesn't say Kosher on it anywhere. I studied it for like 5 minutes. So I'm not sure what is going on.

I also had a slight reaction to the dip and chips last night (lays) but that could just be because the onion gave me heartburn (no diarrhea). But honestly, I don't see Kosher anywhere on that box!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here is Lipton's contact information:

http://www.recipesecrets.com/contact_us.aspx

Consumer Service

If you would like to speak to a live representative please call us at:

1-877-995-4490, Monday - Friday, 8:30a.m. - 6:00p.m. EST.

Confirmed by Lipton by phone today (after holding for a half hour), only Lipton Dry Mix ONION is the only remaining mix that continues to be gluten free. There has been no ingredient change and all gluten related-natural flavoring will be identified on the label, as is the policy of Unilever.

The customer representative did not have an ingredients listing for the Kosher Lipton Dry Mix.

Hope this is helpful.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks, Lisa. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok I went BACK to the store and checked every inch of that box. It doesn't say Kosher on it anywhere. I studied it for like 5 minutes. So I'm not sure what is going on.

I also had a slight reaction to the dip and chips last night (lays) but that could just be because the onion gave me heartburn (no diarrhea). But honestly, I don't see Kosher anywhere on that box!

It may just have a circle with a k in it http://www.yrm.org/koshersymbols.htm

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks, Lisa. :)

You're welcome Peter. I would also encourage all members to call companies. But, as I have also mentioned in the past, your information is only as good as your customer representative you speak with. Use multiple sources and personal experience, then make a choice. It's not a perfect world. What is black and white for one, is very gray for others. And, a product does not always pin-point an issue.

I am not sensitive to cross contamination, and I often do forget that others are. I am sorry for my oversight in that area. ;)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the information Lisa and for calling them! That was nice of you!

I guess reading labels is still the most important thing. If you just pick up a box or a jar of something without a label check something could go wrong.

The boxes I saw were probably Kosher but for the life of me it's not very evident. I'm somewhat familiar with Kosher symbols and didn't seem to see one so I'm glad I read the label (ingredients) :)

L

Here is Lipton's contact information:

http://www.recipesecrets.com/contact_us.aspx

Consumer Service

If you would like to speak to a live representative please call us at:

1-877-995-4490, Monday - Friday, 8:30a.m. - 6:00p.m. EST.

Confirmed by Lipton by phone today (after holding for a half hour), only Lipton Dry Mix ONION is the only remaining mix that continues to be gluten free. There has been no ingredient change and all gluten related-natural flavoring will be identified on the label, as is the policy of Unilever.

The customer representative did not have an ingredients listing for the Kosher Lipton Dry Mix.

Hope this is helpful.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It may just have a circle with a k in it http://www.yrm.org/koshersymbols.htm

Another symbol on kosher food is a P in a circle, meaning parve. Parve (neutral) foods are kosher and are neither meat nor dairy. Meat and dairy cannot be combined, but parve foods can be used in combination with either.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I also read the label recently when I went to buy some lipton onion soup mix and it definitely said barley!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I also read the label recently when I went to buy some lipton onion soup mix and it definitely said barley!

If this is so, then the gluten-free status has changed. Barley is kosher, but not gluten-free. :(:angry:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a new box of Lipton Recipe Secrets Onion Soup Mix I just picked up and see the ingredients have changed. This one contains autolyzed yeast extract (barley).

Guess that means I give it away, huh? Dammit!!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,641
    • Total Posts
      921,552
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Hi Kasia2016, Yes, celiac disease symptoms can vary widely.  Some people have no symptoms, we call that silent celiac.  Other have difficulty walking (gluten ataxia), skin rashes (dermatitis herpetiformis), and thyroid disease (Hashimoto's thyroiditis).  The list goes on and on.  GI symptoms can vary widely too, from mild symptoms at times to severe symptoms.
    • Hi egs1707, Welcome to the forum! Irene is right, you should not be gluten-free until all testing is completed.  The celiac disease tests are checking for immune system reactions and damage, and when you go gluten-free that starts to decline.  So the tests may not show the true immune reaction that is going on or the normal damage.  They may not show any damage in fact and you could get a false negative diagnosis.  You body starts healing and out the window go the test results.  Your doctor gets an "F" grade if they told you to go gluten-free now. But you aren't alone in having a doctor who doesn't understand the celiac disease testing process.  Many of them are woefully ignorant of proper testing for celiac disease.  That why the current estimate is somewhere in the range of 85% of celiacs in the USA are undiagnosed.  It doesn't help when doctors screw up the testing themselves.  Or refuse to test people.  Which is also far too common. I was vegetarian for 5 years.  I am not anymore and don't recommend it.  It is hard enough living gluten-free and finding safe food to eat and adequate nutrition for healing a damaged body.  I used to eat a lot of soy products when I Was vegetarian, but now soy makes me physically sick.  We can sometimes develop reactions to foods we eat a lot of while our guts are inflamed IMHO.  Soy is not a healthy food anyway from my reading. I can't do dairy now but may people who start out lactose intolerant end up being able to eat dairy after they have recovered. The best advice I can give is to avoid as much processed food as you can, and eat mostly whole foods you cook yourself at home.  When you do cook, cook big, and freeze the leftovers.  That way you can quickly take a small portion of food out of the freezer and reheat it.  Being celiac it is more important to learn how to cook.  Unless you are wealthy all those gluten-free processed foods add up quick.  Plus gluten-free processed foods often are lacking in fiber and vitamins. You'll want to watch out for vitamin deficiencies also.  Since celiac disease damages the villi in the small intestine, the vitamins and minerals etc are not digested and absorbed well.  So celiacs can be low on vitamin D, calcium,  and one other one I forget.  Vitamin B-12 may be low also ( it is important for nerve health).  Then there are some vitamins that vegetarians tend to have problems getting enough of also to consider. Adjusting to living with celiac disease means adjusting to a new diet and some lifestyle changes.  There's lots of us that make that change every year though, it's not impossible.  You will most likely end up eating better, more nutritious food than many of your peers.  And you will avoid a pletora of additional health concerns that can come along with untreated celiac disease. Learning to cook can be an adventure and you may enjoy it once you start.  you may find your taste in foods changes once you have been gluten-free for a while too. Recovery from celiac disease can take some months.  The immune system is very serious about protecting us and doesn't give up quickly.  Also it always remembers so it will react to even small amounts of gluten.  I live with gluten eaters at home and I do fine.  I just am careful about rinsing dishes off and so forth before using them. There is a Newbie 101 thread at the top of the coping with forum subsection.  It may provide some helpful info.  
    • That's great to hear you are feeling better Nightsky.  I really think when our GI systems are in distress already that it doesn't take much to set off symptoms.  Once I eliminated the other foods that cause me symptoms that helped a lot too.  And added some extra vitamin D to my diet and selenium. Many of us have developed reactions to other foods besides gluten and need to avoid them to keep symptoms at bay.  For me nightshades, carrots, soy, dairy, and celery all cause symptoms.  It took me awhile to figure out all those food culprits, but it made a big difference getting them out of my diet. But we are all individuals, and our bodies react individually.  So you may or may not have additional food intolerances develop. Celiac is one of those life journey things and we learn as we go.  Just keep the bottle of aspirin handy!
    • Pastry chain goes gluten-free, using mangoes ... But gluten is also believed to cause celiac disease, non-celiac gluten sensitivity, and wheat allergy, ... View the full article
    • I know that Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce  in the US is gluten free, I also know that in Canada it is NOT. This is a very reliable site: http://www.glutenfreedietitian.com/vinegar/ But it is in the US. I'm agast that the Irish Celiac Society says malt vinegar is gluten free.  I wouldn't use it. No sense taking any chance at all.
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,644
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    Jross69
    Joined