Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Lipton Onion Soup Mix Has Barley In It
0

31 posts in this topic

I'm new to the Forum and new to having to go Gluten Free. I thought Lipton Onion Soup Mix was Gluten Free. I've looked up so many products I'm not sure where I got that information, but when I went to buy it I read the label and it said Yeast Extract (Barley). So I'm assuming it's not Gluten Free anymore, if it ever was.

Also, was wondering how to do searches that bring up less results? If that's possible. Sometimes I'll search and so many threads will come up I'm not sure where to look first! Thanks. Sorry if everybody already knows about the Lipton

L

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I'm new to the Forum and new to having to go Gluten Free. I thought Lipton Onion Soup Mix was Gluten Free. I've looked up so many products I'm not sure where I got that information, but when I went to buy it I read the label and it said Yeast Extract (Barley). So I'm assuming it's not Gluten Free anymore, if it ever was.

Also, was wondering how to do searches that bring up less results? If that's possible. Sometimes I'll search and so many threads will come up I'm not sure where to look first! Thanks. Sorry if everybody already knows about the Lipton

L

Hi! Nice to meetcha!

I didn't know that about the Lipton Onion Soup. I love the dip made with that.

I also didn't know that Yeast Extract was Barley - boy! I had no idea at all about that! I'm new to being gluten-free, too, and I'm with ya on the too many sites come up when trying to search for something.

I wonder if everything with yeast is bad - ? Also I read something about iodine on here, does that include salt?

I'm as lost as you are LOL :D but you sure just taught me something I didn't know!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeast is gluten-free, at least to start with. Yeast extract is thus normally gluten-free as well. Occasionally, spent yeast from the beer-brewing process is used when a flavor is desired (as opposed to a leavening agent, for which spent yeast is useless). "Brewer's yeast," or an extract made from it, has been exposed to barely through the brewing process, and are therefore not gluten-free.

This is a change to the ingredients of Lipton Onion Soup--it has historically been gluten-free for as long as I have been on the diet (ten years).

:(:(:angry:

What you have read about iodine is in reference to DH, and it is the elemental iodide that is the issue. Plain salt is sodium chloride (NaCl), but iodized salt contains traces of sodium iodide (NaI). If you are having an active outbreak of DH, iodine will make it worse, but iodine alone does not cause DH--gluten does.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm tempted to drive BACK to the store to double check the box but I swear that's what I saw. I was mightily disappointed as well. I'm craving chips and dip. I used to LOVE Golden Onion Lipton but read that that one had wheat so I decided to go with regular Onion and then I saw the Barley on the label. I have to say if what I saw was correct, I don't understand why a company like Lipton (or Unilever) would, in this day and age of companies striving to offer Gluten Free Products, change their recipe to include Gluten! I'm so bummed!

Yeast is gluten-free, at least to start with. Yeast extract is thus normally gluten-free as well. Occasionally, spent yeast from the beer-brewing process is used when a flavor is desired (as opposed to a leavening agent, for which spent yeast is useless). "Brewer's yeast," or an extract made from it, has been exposed to barely through the brewing process, and are therefore not gluten-free.

This is a change to the ingredients of Lipton Onion Soup--it has historically been gluten-free for as long as I have been on the diet (ten years).

:(:(:angry:

What you have read about iodine is in reference to DH, and it is the elemental iodide that is the issue. Plain salt is sodium chloride (NaCl), but iodized salt contains traces of sodium iodide (NaI). If you are having an active outbreak of DH, iodine will make it worse, but iodine alone does not cause DH--gluten does.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi to everyone by the way!

I should clarify that when I read the label it said Yeast Extract (Barley). It actually said BARLEY on it. I wasn't extrapolating that Yeast Extract is Barley. I would have had no idea Yeast Extract could be bad but it actually said Yeast Extract (Barley). So they were living up to their promise of listing Gluten ingredients I guess. I think I read Unilever made this promise and at least they stuck to it

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Wow--I can't believe they changed the ingredients to include gluten :angry:

BTW, welcome, Lily :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just pulled up this website: http://www.ceceliasmarketplace.com/2008-product-alerts.html

soup: page 336 (product alert added 4/26/10)

LIPTON - CLARIFICATION:

Kosher Recipe Secrets Onion Soup & Dip Mix is NOT gluten-free

Regular Recipe Secrets Onion Soup & Dip Mix is gluten-free

Looks like the regular Lipton dry Onion Soup is still gluten free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just pulled up this website: http://www.ceceliasmarketplace.com/2008-product-alerts.html

soup: page 336 (product alert added 4/26/10)

LIPTON - CLARIFICATION:

Kosher Recipe Secrets Onion Soup & Dip Mix is NOT gluten-free

Regular Recipe Secrets Onion Soup & Dip Mix is gluten-free

Looks like the regular Lipton dry Onion Soup is still gluten free.

Thanks for posting!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In addition, Lipton is an Unilever Company and their policy is to always list clearly, ALL forms of gluten if used as an ingredient. So, all you have to do is read the labels. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

She did read the label and it listed barley, only she was reading the Kosher version. It was a product mix-up.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeast is gluten-free, at least to start with. Yeast extract is thus normally gluten-free as well. Occasionally, spent yeast from the beer-brewing process is used when a flavor is desired (as opposed to a leavening agent, for which spent yeast is useless). "Brewer's yeast," or an extract made from it, has been exposed to barely through the brewing process, and are therefore not gluten-free.

This is a change to the ingredients of Lipton Onion Soup--it has historically been gluten-free for as long as I have been on the diet (ten years).

:(:(:angry:

What you have read about iodine is in reference to DH, and it is the elemental iodide that is the issue. Plain salt is sodium chloride (NaCl), but iodized salt contains traces of sodium iodide (NaI). If you are having an active outbreak of DH, iodine will make it worse, but iodine alone does not cause DH--gluten does.

I do have DH on my elbow. I have Morton's Salt and I also have Sea Salt, which states that it has no iodine, "a necessary nutrient".

Could it be that's why my elbow has gotten better since gong gluten-free but keeps coming back - because of the iodine? Maybe I should stick just to the sea salt?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok guys, LOL. I just walked two miles to recheck the box.

Ok, first I decided that the local bodega would probably still have the old formation and it did. Ingredients: Onions, Salt, Cornstarch, Onion Powder, Sugar, Corn Syrup, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Caramel Color, Partially Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Monosodium Glutamate, Yeast Extract, Natural Flavors, Disodium Inosinate, Disodium Guanylate

Then I walked the rest of the 2 miles to Shop & Stop and looked at the soups and Autolyzed Yeast Extract (Barley) was listed (like the 5th ingredient down).

Now, LOL, I did not check to see if it was Kosher but I looked at the front of the box and did not see any added information (like Kosher) but I guess tomorrow I'll go BACK and check again. Not tonight, gotta take a shower. I'm sweating. So perhaps the box I saw is the Kosher formation. If it is, I didn't see Kosher!!

Hey I guess I could use the exercize anyway!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

She did read the label and it listed barley, only she was reading the Kosher version. It was a product mix-up.

Just speaking in general terms, regarding Unilever :D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All I know is that I gave up on eating Lipton Onion Soup mix a couple years ago because every time I ate it I got sick. It wouldn't surprise me at all if it has gluten in it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All I know is that I gave up on eating Lipton Onion Soup mix a couple years ago because every time I ate it I got sick. It wouldn't surprise me at all if it has gluten in it.

It is manufactured with products that contain wheat so you may have been reacting to that (cross contamination) if you're sensitive. It also contains soy which certain people can be intolerant to.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok I went BACK to the store and checked every inch of that box. It doesn't say Kosher on it anywhere. I studied it for like 5 minutes. So I'm not sure what is going on.

I also had a slight reaction to the dip and chips last night (lays) but that could just be because the onion gave me heartburn (no diarrhea). But honestly, I don't see Kosher anywhere on that box!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here is Lipton's contact information:

http://www.recipesecrets.com/contact_us.aspx

Consumer Service

If you would like to speak to a live representative please call us at:

1-877-995-4490, Monday - Friday, 8:30a.m. - 6:00p.m. EST.

Confirmed by Lipton by phone today (after holding for a half hour), only Lipton Dry Mix ONION is the only remaining mix that continues to be gluten free. There has been no ingredient change and all gluten related-natural flavoring will be identified on the label, as is the policy of Unilever.

The customer representative did not have an ingredients listing for the Kosher Lipton Dry Mix.

Hope this is helpful.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks, Lisa. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok I went BACK to the store and checked every inch of that box. It doesn't say Kosher on it anywhere. I studied it for like 5 minutes. So I'm not sure what is going on.

I also had a slight reaction to the dip and chips last night (lays) but that could just be because the onion gave me heartburn (no diarrhea). But honestly, I don't see Kosher anywhere on that box!

It may just have a circle with a k in it http://www.yrm.org/koshersymbols.htm

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks, Lisa. :)

You're welcome Peter. I would also encourage all members to call companies. But, as I have also mentioned in the past, your information is only as good as your customer representative you speak with. Use multiple sources and personal experience, then make a choice. It's not a perfect world. What is black and white for one, is very gray for others. And, a product does not always pin-point an issue.

I am not sensitive to cross contamination, and I often do forget that others are. I am sorry for my oversight in that area. ;)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the information Lisa and for calling them! That was nice of you!

I guess reading labels is still the most important thing. If you just pick up a box or a jar of something without a label check something could go wrong.

The boxes I saw were probably Kosher but for the life of me it's not very evident. I'm somewhat familiar with Kosher symbols and didn't seem to see one so I'm glad I read the label (ingredients) :)

L

Here is Lipton's contact information:

http://www.recipesecrets.com/contact_us.aspx

Consumer Service

If you would like to speak to a live representative please call us at:

1-877-995-4490, Monday - Friday, 8:30a.m. - 6:00p.m. EST.

Confirmed by Lipton by phone today (after holding for a half hour), only Lipton Dry Mix ONION is the only remaining mix that continues to be gluten free. There has been no ingredient change and all gluten related-natural flavoring will be identified on the label, as is the policy of Unilever.

The customer representative did not have an ingredients listing for the Kosher Lipton Dry Mix.

Hope this is helpful.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It may just have a circle with a k in it http://www.yrm.org/koshersymbols.htm

Another symbol on kosher food is a P in a circle, meaning parve. Parve (neutral) foods are kosher and are neither meat nor dairy. Meat and dairy cannot be combined, but parve foods can be used in combination with either.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I also read the label recently when I went to buy some lipton onion soup mix and it definitely said barley!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I also read the label recently when I went to buy some lipton onion soup mix and it definitely said barley!

If this is so, then the gluten-free status has changed. Barley is kosher, but not gluten-free. :(:angry:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a new box of Lipton Recipe Secrets Onion Soup Mix I just picked up and see the ingredients have changed. This one contains autolyzed yeast extract (barley).

Guess that means I give it away, huh? Dammit!!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,357
    • Total Posts
      920,528
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Well, I have never cruised on Carnival, but I am sure they can accommodate you.  I assume that you have already alerted them that you require gluten free meals.  If not, please contact Carnival immediately. Here are my own tips.  Some folks eat off the buffet line, but not me or hubby except for coffee/drinks and baked potatoes (jacketed) and fruit that we wash in the restroom (people touch everything!)  Okay, I am OCD, but my last glutening which occurred the previous summer made me sick for three months (GI tested my antibodies to prove it).   When we board, I go to the buffet restaurant ASAP and ask to speak to the Head Waiter (they are usually there greeting customers and often trying to up sell to specialty restaurants.   Let them know you have celiac disease and must be gluten free.  They may try to tell you that each dish is clearly marked gluten free, but really?  Who's to say that some other passenger is not going to switch spoons (or I have seen passengers wandering around with serving spoons...I kid you not!  The staff usually will  go downstairs and fetch a gluten free meal for me from the main dining room's kitchen as there is usually a dedicated area for allergies.  We have to wait up to 20 minutes or so but it is worth it.  Starving?  Get a baked potato wrapped in foil until your gluten-free meal arrives.  Now, do not do this every single time.  Those folks have to go down several levels to fetch food and you don't want to be a pain.  But if the main dining area is closed, they need to make an effort to keep you safe.  On our last cruise, we were advised not to eat anywhere but the main dining room and that included room service (they are not trained to handled allergies).  My headwaiters have sent goodies (prepackaged gluten free rolls and cookies for us to keep in our room.  We can always grab whole fruit (I wash it first) to snack on.  I bring gluten-free non-perishable items with me to eat while at port in case we can't find anything (which can be often).  Again, when we get back to our ship, we contact our headwaiter and he/she can prepare some snacks until we have dinner.   Be grateful and not picky.   We eat all meals in the dining room (or at least as much as possible).  Our headwaiter had a few other celiacs on our cruise this summer, so they prepared some gluten-free waffles, etc. for our breakfast!  What a treat!  At breakfast, we'd have different waiters, so our headwaiter would always instruct our waiters each and every time!  They even let me tour the kitchen and showed me the allergy section.   The only time I did not feel safe was at the buffet.  We once ordered gluten-free pizza and I realized (I watched) that that restaurant didn't really have the gluten-free thing down), do I called him on it.  Got the manager etc.  So, be careful.  Other cruises made us frozen Udi"s which was just fine with us.  They covered it up in foil so that we would not get any cross contamination from their pizza oven. So, have fun!   Tipping?  We prepaid our gratuities, but we gave our headwaiter an extra $200.00 for his time.  For us, it was well worth the service and safety of our food.  It does not hurt to slip some of the tip ahead of time (like after your first meal!)  
    • <strong>Celiac Disease & Gluten-free Diet Information at Celiac.com. Gluten Free Diabetes ::The 3 Step Trick that Reverses Diabetes Permanently in ... View the full article
    • I had a biopsy done (2 samples, 1 on a lesion and 1 next to lesions), and also more bloodwork done. All came back negative. However, I only had been eating gluten for 2 weeks prior, and it took a week of gluten for lesions to reappear. I also used a topical steroid off and on (1x a week approximately) for a month or so before testing. The dermatologist told me to stay off gluten though, and said she wants to do more allergy testing (her next open testing appt is in 6 months!!). I know I'm not the DR, but I dont think it's allergies...without a doubt, my skin begins clearing about 2 weeks post gluten-free diet...this is without changing anything else in my lifestyle. And when i had to go back on gluten before my biopsy, it took about a week, but did reappear. Now, about 2 weeks post biopsy and gluten-free, it had begun clearing until i worked outside all day in heat, humidity,  sweat etc and it has definitely irritated all the places that were healing (not new breakouts, just aggravating what was going away!). All that being said, i have a friend who is an MD( who's hobby is to attend conferences on skin conditions!), and she has told me that without a doubt, I have celiac/DH.  I think I just feel like I need test results and paperwork to show for it...especially to show family members who are unsupportive (gross understatement!) of the extreme changes I've had to make!
    • Sorry ! I have never cruised before.  Just wanting to follow your topic.  Good luck! Have a great,  safe vacation.  
    • Hi there, I hope you're all having a good day! I'll be heading on a week-long Carnival cruise shortly and had a few questions: -What is the tipping protocol? I've prepaid gratuities, but feel like the food request will warrant something extra. Should I tip the headwaiter? Hostess? Regular waiter? Chef? Those cooking at, say, the sandwich or pasta bars? If so, how much is appropriate, and should I tip at the beginning of the cruise, the end, or split it up? -It looks like the main dining room will be closed during lunch hours on most days. Any recommendations on safe bets for midday meals? I'll be on the Carnival Sunshine, for what that's worth. Thank you so much for any information you can share!  
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,432
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    rbeckler60
    Joined