Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Lipton Onion Soup Mix Has Barley In It
0

31 posts in this topic

I'm new to the Forum and new to having to go Gluten Free. I thought Lipton Onion Soup Mix was Gluten Free. I've looked up so many products I'm not sure where I got that information, but when I went to buy it I read the label and it said Yeast Extract (Barley). So I'm assuming it's not Gluten Free anymore, if it ever was.

Also, was wondering how to do searches that bring up less results? If that's possible. Sometimes I'll search and so many threads will come up I'm not sure where to look first! Thanks. Sorry if everybody already knows about the Lipton

L

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I'm new to the Forum and new to having to go Gluten Free. I thought Lipton Onion Soup Mix was Gluten Free. I've looked up so many products I'm not sure where I got that information, but when I went to buy it I read the label and it said Yeast Extract (Barley). So I'm assuming it's not Gluten Free anymore, if it ever was.

Also, was wondering how to do searches that bring up less results? If that's possible. Sometimes I'll search and so many threads will come up I'm not sure where to look first! Thanks. Sorry if everybody already knows about the Lipton

L

Hi! Nice to meetcha!

I didn't know that about the Lipton Onion Soup. I love the dip made with that.

I also didn't know that Yeast Extract was Barley - boy! I had no idea at all about that! I'm new to being gluten-free, too, and I'm with ya on the too many sites come up when trying to search for something.

I wonder if everything with yeast is bad - ? Also I read something about iodine on here, does that include salt?

I'm as lost as you are LOL :D but you sure just taught me something I didn't know!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeast is gluten-free, at least to start with. Yeast extract is thus normally gluten-free as well. Occasionally, spent yeast from the beer-brewing process is used when a flavor is desired (as opposed to a leavening agent, for which spent yeast is useless). "Brewer's yeast," or an extract made from it, has been exposed to barely through the brewing process, and are therefore not gluten-free.

This is a change to the ingredients of Lipton Onion Soup--it has historically been gluten-free for as long as I have been on the diet (ten years).

:(:(:angry:

What you have read about iodine is in reference to DH, and it is the elemental iodide that is the issue. Plain salt is sodium chloride (NaCl), but iodized salt contains traces of sodium iodide (NaI). If you are having an active outbreak of DH, iodine will make it worse, but iodine alone does not cause DH--gluten does.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm tempted to drive BACK to the store to double check the box but I swear that's what I saw. I was mightily disappointed as well. I'm craving chips and dip. I used to LOVE Golden Onion Lipton but read that that one had wheat so I decided to go with regular Onion and then I saw the Barley on the label. I have to say if what I saw was correct, I don't understand why a company like Lipton (or Unilever) would, in this day and age of companies striving to offer Gluten Free Products, change their recipe to include Gluten! I'm so bummed!

Yeast is gluten-free, at least to start with. Yeast extract is thus normally gluten-free as well. Occasionally, spent yeast from the beer-brewing process is used when a flavor is desired (as opposed to a leavening agent, for which spent yeast is useless). "Brewer's yeast," or an extract made from it, has been exposed to barely through the brewing process, and are therefore not gluten-free.

This is a change to the ingredients of Lipton Onion Soup--it has historically been gluten-free for as long as I have been on the diet (ten years).

:(:(:angry:

What you have read about iodine is in reference to DH, and it is the elemental iodide that is the issue. Plain salt is sodium chloride (NaCl), but iodized salt contains traces of sodium iodide (NaI). If you are having an active outbreak of DH, iodine will make it worse, but iodine alone does not cause DH--gluten does.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi to everyone by the way!

I should clarify that when I read the label it said Yeast Extract (Barley). It actually said BARLEY on it. I wasn't extrapolating that Yeast Extract is Barley. I would have had no idea Yeast Extract could be bad but it actually said Yeast Extract (Barley). So they were living up to their promise of listing Gluten ingredients I guess. I think I read Unilever made this promise and at least they stuck to it

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Wow--I can't believe they changed the ingredients to include gluten :angry:

BTW, welcome, Lily :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just pulled up this website: http://www.ceceliasmarketplace.com/2008-product-alerts.html

soup: page 336 (product alert added 4/26/10)

LIPTON - CLARIFICATION:

Kosher Recipe Secrets Onion Soup & Dip Mix is NOT gluten-free

Regular Recipe Secrets Onion Soup & Dip Mix is gluten-free

Looks like the regular Lipton dry Onion Soup is still gluten free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just pulled up this website: http://www.ceceliasmarketplace.com/2008-product-alerts.html

soup: page 336 (product alert added 4/26/10)

LIPTON - CLARIFICATION:

Kosher Recipe Secrets Onion Soup & Dip Mix is NOT gluten-free

Regular Recipe Secrets Onion Soup & Dip Mix is gluten-free

Looks like the regular Lipton dry Onion Soup is still gluten free.

Thanks for posting!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In addition, Lipton is an Unilever Company and their policy is to always list clearly, ALL forms of gluten if used as an ingredient. So, all you have to do is read the labels. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

She did read the label and it listed barley, only she was reading the Kosher version. It was a product mix-up.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeast is gluten-free, at least to start with. Yeast extract is thus normally gluten-free as well. Occasionally, spent yeast from the beer-brewing process is used when a flavor is desired (as opposed to a leavening agent, for which spent yeast is useless). "Brewer's yeast," or an extract made from it, has been exposed to barely through the brewing process, and are therefore not gluten-free.

This is a change to the ingredients of Lipton Onion Soup--it has historically been gluten-free for as long as I have been on the diet (ten years).

:(:(:angry:

What you have read about iodine is in reference to DH, and it is the elemental iodide that is the issue. Plain salt is sodium chloride (NaCl), but iodized salt contains traces of sodium iodide (NaI). If you are having an active outbreak of DH, iodine will make it worse, but iodine alone does not cause DH--gluten does.

I do have DH on my elbow. I have Morton's Salt and I also have Sea Salt, which states that it has no iodine, "a necessary nutrient".

Could it be that's why my elbow has gotten better since gong gluten-free but keeps coming back - because of the iodine? Maybe I should stick just to the sea salt?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok guys, LOL. I just walked two miles to recheck the box.

Ok, first I decided that the local bodega would probably still have the old formation and it did. Ingredients: Onions, Salt, Cornstarch, Onion Powder, Sugar, Corn Syrup, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Caramel Color, Partially Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Monosodium Glutamate, Yeast Extract, Natural Flavors, Disodium Inosinate, Disodium Guanylate

Then I walked the rest of the 2 miles to Shop & Stop and looked at the soups and Autolyzed Yeast Extract (Barley) was listed (like the 5th ingredient down).

Now, LOL, I did not check to see if it was Kosher but I looked at the front of the box and did not see any added information (like Kosher) but I guess tomorrow I'll go BACK and check again. Not tonight, gotta take a shower. I'm sweating. So perhaps the box I saw is the Kosher formation. If it is, I didn't see Kosher!!

Hey I guess I could use the exercize anyway!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

She did read the label and it listed barley, only she was reading the Kosher version. It was a product mix-up.

Just speaking in general terms, regarding Unilever :D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All I know is that I gave up on eating Lipton Onion Soup mix a couple years ago because every time I ate it I got sick. It wouldn't surprise me at all if it has gluten in it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All I know is that I gave up on eating Lipton Onion Soup mix a couple years ago because every time I ate it I got sick. It wouldn't surprise me at all if it has gluten in it.

It is manufactured with products that contain wheat so you may have been reacting to that (cross contamination) if you're sensitive. It also contains soy which certain people can be intolerant to.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok I went BACK to the store and checked every inch of that box. It doesn't say Kosher on it anywhere. I studied it for like 5 minutes. So I'm not sure what is going on.

I also had a slight reaction to the dip and chips last night (lays) but that could just be because the onion gave me heartburn (no diarrhea). But honestly, I don't see Kosher anywhere on that box!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here is Lipton's contact information:

http://www.recipesecrets.com/contact_us.aspx

Consumer Service

If you would like to speak to a live representative please call us at:

1-877-995-4490, Monday - Friday, 8:30a.m. - 6:00p.m. EST.

Confirmed by Lipton by phone today (after holding for a half hour), only Lipton Dry Mix ONION is the only remaining mix that continues to be gluten free. There has been no ingredient change and all gluten related-natural flavoring will be identified on the label, as is the policy of Unilever.

The customer representative did not have an ingredients listing for the Kosher Lipton Dry Mix.

Hope this is helpful.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks, Lisa. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok I went BACK to the store and checked every inch of that box. It doesn't say Kosher on it anywhere. I studied it for like 5 minutes. So I'm not sure what is going on.

I also had a slight reaction to the dip and chips last night (lays) but that could just be because the onion gave me heartburn (no diarrhea). But honestly, I don't see Kosher anywhere on that box!

It may just have a circle with a k in it http://www.yrm.org/koshersymbols.htm

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks, Lisa. :)

You're welcome Peter. I would also encourage all members to call companies. But, as I have also mentioned in the past, your information is only as good as your customer representative you speak with. Use multiple sources and personal experience, then make a choice. It's not a perfect world. What is black and white for one, is very gray for others. And, a product does not always pin-point an issue.

I am not sensitive to cross contamination, and I often do forget that others are. I am sorry for my oversight in that area. ;)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the information Lisa and for calling them! That was nice of you!

I guess reading labels is still the most important thing. If you just pick up a box or a jar of something without a label check something could go wrong.

The boxes I saw were probably Kosher but for the life of me it's not very evident. I'm somewhat familiar with Kosher symbols and didn't seem to see one so I'm glad I read the label (ingredients) :)

L

Here is Lipton's contact information:

http://www.recipesecrets.com/contact_us.aspx

Consumer Service

If you would like to speak to a live representative please call us at:

1-877-995-4490, Monday - Friday, 8:30a.m. - 6:00p.m. EST.

Confirmed by Lipton by phone today (after holding for a half hour), only Lipton Dry Mix ONION is the only remaining mix that continues to be gluten free. There has been no ingredient change and all gluten related-natural flavoring will be identified on the label, as is the policy of Unilever.

The customer representative did not have an ingredients listing for the Kosher Lipton Dry Mix.

Hope this is helpful.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It may just have a circle with a k in it http://www.yrm.org/koshersymbols.htm

Another symbol on kosher food is a P in a circle, meaning parve. Parve (neutral) foods are kosher and are neither meat nor dairy. Meat and dairy cannot be combined, but parve foods can be used in combination with either.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I also read the label recently when I went to buy some lipton onion soup mix and it definitely said barley!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I also read the label recently when I went to buy some lipton onion soup mix and it definitely said barley!

If this is so, then the gluten-free status has changed. Barley is kosher, but not gluten-free. :(:angry:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a new box of Lipton Recipe Secrets Onion Soup Mix I just picked up and see the ingredients have changed. This one contains autolyzed yeast extract (barley).

Guess that means I give it away, huh? Dammit!!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,672
    • Total Posts
      921,690
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • I too have heart palps, flutters, skips whatever you want to call them. Ecg shows nothing. I was told by my doctor it is due to my low iron which is due to celiac. They pretty much went away after being gluten-free. But occasionally do come back. I've actually been having them for the past 3 days. But I was glutened with really severe reaction about a week ago so not sure if its due to that. Or if iron is low right now. I am on supplements but it still goes up and down. I hear you about doctors. It seems if you don't do research yourself or ask questions they don't say or do or test for anything. 
    • For a number of years pre diagnosis I had irregular heartbeats - anything from a fluttering type thing to seemingly skipping one or more beats to rapid beats to something like a short drum riff. I had multiple ECG's which didn't find anything odd. It never did it when I was at the doctors or getting the ECG's. Sometimes it seemed to pound very hard & rapid, at these times I discovered if I just laid down flat on my back, it would restore normal rhythm almost instantly. These things happened at random whether I was at rest, sitting, standing, running or working hard. It was always short lived -- lasting only 1 to several seconds, perhaps the longest was close to a minute. I too have little faith in docs as I've had my share of being blown off, to misdiagnoses. The whole heart thing quit after I had been gluten-free for a while but if I get glutened, it returns.
    • My daughter had the HPV Vaccine last year. It was administered in three doses in April 2015, May 2015, and August 2015. Immediately after the third dose, she started having weird symptoms such has headaches, irritability, and a general feeling of being unwell (which she never had before). About three months later she started having gastro symptoms, most notably constant nausea. For several months we tried to figure out what was wrong and none of the doctors knew. After seeing many doctors and having a battery of tests, she was finally diagnosed with Celiac in August 2016. Her intestinal damage was a 3b Marsh score. No one else in our immediate or extended family has Celiac (myself and my other daughter were tested and are negative). No one else has symptoms or any indication that they could have Celiac. I feel like my daughter could have gone her whole life without being triggered and I'm feeling very guilty for making her get this controversial vaccine. I have done a lot of research and there seems to be conflicting studies regarding vaccines and autoimmune diseases. Some say there is no link, while others say there is a possible link, but it cannot be proven at this time. No one seems to know for sure what triggers Celiac...could it be vaccines? I'm wondering if anyone else feels that their Celiac Disease was triggered by a vaccine?  
    • Here is an article, albeit short, about Myocarditis and Celiac disease.  I have read before about a connection between the two and A-Fib is another one that can happen with undiagnosed Celiac. From one over-thinker to another......its the inflammation thing, along with maybe some genetic components to it.  I can't remember how long you have been gluten-free but it can take awhile for things to settle down, especially if your thyroid is wonky also.  I have Celiac and Hashi's so feel your pain, even though I have not had any cardiac involvement.  Some doctors really suck. I have a lifetime of bad with them so do not go that often, only when I have to and am leery about seeing any new ones. I am so done with that attitude of theirs. I think you need to find someone who has knowledge of Celiac and it's related conditions and who actually listens to the patient. That might be harder than finding a needle in a haystack but I wish you luck! 
      https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/12045166
    • Older people often show clinically atypical symptoms of celiac disease, which can delay diagnosis. View the full article
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,669
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    Cjplmon
    Joined