This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Brain Fog Worse Since Going Gluten-Free?

Fey

Fey Rookie

Has anyone else had problems with brain fog getting worse after going Gluten Free?

I've been diagnosed with Fibromyalgia since 2004. I'm not new to brain fog, but that and most of my fibro symptoms hadn't been this bad in a very long time. Fatigue during the day accompanied by racing mind/insomnia at bedtime.

I'm pretty new to the whole thing. This is my 13th day gluten-free, and the symptoms got much better at first, and then I think I got glutened last Wednesday and things have gotten progressively worse since. My migraine (main cause that led me to Celiac) is gone, only leaving behind the occasional headache (usually after I eat).

I bought some Sublingual Vit B last week, along with a good multi vitamin. Eliminated as much dairy as possible from my diet, and watching for soy as well though still having some of that. No make up, no CC from my SO, switched toothpaste, shampoo and conditioner to gluten-free.

Possible culprit could also be Xanax withdrawal since my current brand is not gluten-free and I've only taken 1/4 of my usual dose a day since starting the diet. It's "as-needed" prescription and my anxiety has improved greatly to the point where I almost don't need any at all, and I should be getting a gluten-free brand in 2 days.

I know the answer is probably "it'll take time to heal" but if anyone has any pointers or any experience they'd like to share (i.e. how long your symptoms lasted), please do!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

txplowgirl Enthusiast