This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Top Priorites To Watch For

suebright

suebright Rookie

As a basic newbie I would really appreciate the input from those with more experience concerning the most important things to pay attention to. For example could you please name the top two most important things to watch for apart from the obvious one of checking for gluten & cross contamination. Thanks.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Bobbijo6681 Apprentice

Not sure exactly what you are looking for here..... but hopefully I can help in some way.

Hidden places for gluten can be:

Shampoo/condition/lotions/bodywash...etc.

toothpaste

dish soap

chapstick/lipstick

old tupperware type containers

old wooden spoons or other porius surfaces

cast iron skillets

non-stick pans if the coating is starting to wear off or is scratched

seasoning/sauces/marinades

some people are even so sensitive that they get CC'd when they touch door knobs or light switches that have been glutened.

Some people are sensitive to flour dust in the air, not that it gets on your skin, but you inhale it and therefore end up ingesting some.

Hope this was some help for you!! Welcome to the club and good luck with the change, it can be challenging, but is worth all of the effort.

tictax707 Apprentice