20 replies to this topic

#1 Amwilkes

Amwilkes

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 17 July 2010 - 05:50 AM

I have read several book on Celiac Disease and they say that the following item are gluten free (cabbage, turnips, beans and cucumbers).
In my medical book it say that the above item are rich in Gluten?????
Does anyone or has anyone had similiar controversy.

I am now totally confused as we have been eating the above items as we thought they are gluten free. Can someone shed some light as to which is correct.

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 skimomma

skimomma

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 17 July 2010 - 08:18 AM

I have read several book on Celiac Disease and they say that the following item are gluten free (cabbage, turnips, beans and cucumbers).

I am now totally confused as we have been eating the above items as we thought they are gluten free. Can someone shed some light as to which is correct.

I am no expert but have read some things that might be useful. I don't think vegetables have gluten, but from a site called Breaking the Vicious Cycle (and book) it says folks with celiac, IBS, crohns, they should avoid them at least for awhile until the gut heals then add as tolerated. If you find the link click on "Elaine" - this lady is amazing and although the tape quality isn't great, I learned a lot from listening. Good luck!

#3 kareng

kareng

Gobble! Gobble!

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,240 posts

Posted 17 July 2010 - 08:35 AM

On the off chance that this is not a joke: are you talking about glutamine? That's an amino acid found in some foods but it's not gluten. Otherwise, I would love to know the source of your info. :)

Thanksgiving dinners take 18 hours to prepare.  They are consumed in 12 minutes.  Half-times take 12 minutes.  This is not a coincidence.  - Emma Bombeck

dancing-turkey.gif

#4 Skylark

Skylark

Glutenologist

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,490 posts