Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Gluten Free Jerky


  • Please log in to reply

12 replies to this topic

#1 bellis

 
bellis

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
 

Posted 17 July 2010 - 07:34 AM

I purchased Primal Strips, a Meatless Vegan Jerky product from Primal Spirit Foods. THe package clearly states Gluten Free on it. It lists as an ingredient (Gluten-Free) Soy sauce (Water, Non-GMO Soybeans, Wheat, Sea salt) how can this be listed gluten free. Glad i ate 2 bites before reading this. Anyone else ever had this problem?
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 kayo

 
kayo

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 324 posts
 

Posted 17 July 2010 - 07:45 AM

That's whacky. I'm not familiar with the product but I suspect the labeling is wrong. Can you contact the manufacturer?
  • 0
40 year old former foodie on a quest to feel better!

-IgE to oats and rye
-Diagnosed with Colitis via endoscopy/colonoscopy Oct '10
-Following FODMAP diet since June '10, Positve SIBO test, July '10
-Diagnosed non-celiac gluten intolerant June '10 (celiac in March '10, endocsocopy in Oct '10 shows no signs of celiac)
-Osteopenia June '10
-Gluten free since July '09 & Soy free since December '09
-Dairy free since '06
-IBS & Sjogren's diagnosed '05
-RA diagnosed as a toddler


#3 bellis

 
bellis

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
 

Posted 17 July 2010 - 07:50 AM

That's whacky. I'm not familiar with the product but I suspect the labeling is wrong. Can you contact the manufacturer?

i tried, i left a message. When you look at thier product info, they have removed the gluten-free tag on thier website. And they no longer list wheat in thier soy sauce on the site. as my stomach begins to gurgle.... I am Mad!!!

PrimalSpiritFoods.com
  • 0

#4 bellis

 
bellis

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
 

Posted 17 July 2010 - 07:53 AM

That's whacky. I'm not familiar with the product but I suspect the labeling is wrong. Can you contact the manufacturer?


I'm finally that guy, "Help, I've been glutened!" I can joke now kinda, but i know the cramping is probably on the way.
  • 0

#5 i-geek

 
i-geek

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 366 posts
 

Posted 17 July 2010 - 08:17 AM

I'm thinking that the company doesn't understand what "gluten-free" means. I don't think I would trust any of their products.
  • 0

#6 looking4help

 
looking4help

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 81 posts
 

Posted 17 July 2010 - 12:44 PM

Please let us know if the company contacts you back and let us know what they say.

This is just maddening! I had issues yesterday and took pepto on the advice of someone here and it made me feel so much better! I mean I was still ick but at least I could take my daughter to her dr. appt that had been scheduled for a month.

Hope you feel better quick!
  • 0
Self Diagnosed April 2010
Gluten Free April 2010

#7 Skylark

 
Skylark

    Glutenologist

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,490 posts
 

Posted 17 July 2010 - 01:04 PM

I hope you don't get too sick. :( I'd report them to the FDA. That label is illegal and dangerous.

http://www.fda.gov/S...ors/default.htm
  • 0

#8 GlutenFreeManna

 
GlutenFreeManna

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,887 posts
 

Posted 17 July 2010 - 01:37 PM

Perhaps it has such a small amount of soy sauce that the gluten content is below the legal ppm limit to be considered a gluten-containing item? Sort of like McDonalds' fries that have wheat but can be called gluten free (not trying to start the Mcdonald's debate up, just using it as an example). That's all I can think of...
  • 0
A simple meal with love is better than a feast where there is hatred. Proverbs 15:17 (CEV)

#9 bellis

 
bellis

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
 

Posted 17 July 2010 - 02:53 PM

I hope you don't get too sick. :( I'd report them to the FDA. That label is illegal and dangerous.

http://www.fda.gov/S...ors/default.htm

I thought about it. I think i will wait to here from the company and give them a chance to respond. I went back to their web page and looked at their labeling, and they currently do not advertise to be gluten free. They have also removed wheat as an ingredient in their soy sauce. I will wait to here back from them, i saved the package. Maybe i can get some free GLuten free jerkey out of it!
  • 0

#10 bellis

 
bellis

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
 

Posted 17 July 2010 - 02:57 PM

Perhaps it has such a small amount of soy sauce that the gluten content is below the legal ppm limit to be considered a gluten-containing item? Sort of like McDonalds' fries that have wheat but can be called gluten free (not trying to start the Mcdonald's debate up, just using it as an example). That's all I can think of...

I suspect you are right. But i do wonder why on the web page it is no longer listed as gluten free. I will know soon enough. It's been about 7 hours since the incident and this is where i usually start getting the bad pain. So far nothing too unusual.
  • 0

#11 bellis

 
bellis

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
 

Posted 17 July 2010 - 03:04 PM

Please let us know if the company contacts you back and let us know what they say.

This is just maddening! I had issues yesterday and took pepto on the advice of someone here and it made me feel so much better! I mean I was still ick but at least I could take my daughter to her dr. appt that had been scheduled for a month.

Hope you feel better quick!

Nothing too bad at the moment. A little dizzy and my favorite, GAS!. But no major cramps yet! I really appreciate the genuine concern, and love coming on here for help. What a battle we face dailly just trying to live normal lives.
I will certainly update as soon as i here from the company. I have left them emails on both the company website and their facebook page. Voicemail too.

God bless
-Bryan
  • 0

#12 GFinDC

 
GFinDC

    A little farting never hurt anybody... :-).

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,147 posts
 

Posted 18 July 2010 - 08:50 AM

Thanks for pointing this out Bryan. It does always pay to check the ingredients, even if they do put gluten free on the front label. Some companies have no clue it seems.
  • 0
Proverbs 25:16 "Hast thou found honey? eat so much as is sufficient for thee, lest thou be filled therewith, and vomit it."
Job 30:27 My bowels boiled, and rested not: the days of affliction prevented me.
Thyroid cyst and nodules, Lactose / casein intolerant. Diet positive, gene test pos, symptoms confirmed by Dr-head. My current bad list is: gluten, dairy, sulfites, coffee (the devil's brew), tea, Bug's Bunnies carrots, garbanzo beans of pain, soy- no joy, terrible turnips, tomatoes, peppers, potatoes, and hard work. have a good day! :-) Paul

#13 bellis

 
bellis

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
 

Posted 20 July 2010 - 02:00 PM

THey called me back and said that they have removed the wheat from the Soy suace even though they have had it tested for Gluten. She claimed they had a process that removes the gluten from the wheat during fermentation.
They however do not list their product as gluten free but say that it is. ?
I will say it was deeelicousss!
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: