This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Where Your Contribution Counts!
    eNewsletter
    Support Us!

How Do U Clean Gluten Off A Grill?

jasonD2

jasonD2 Experienced

I recently grilled out with my aunt and uncle and at first i was gonna cook my stuff on aluminum but i then looked at the internal temperature of the grill and it was 600 degrees...i figured at that point the grill was completely clean so i didnt use the foil and i felt fine after. im grilling at my friends pool this weekend and am less likely to trust that grill. should i just heat it up again? is there anything i can use to wipe down the grill surface? im a chemist and i know 100% alcohol removes all proteins so maybe ill just wipe it over with some rubbing alcohol

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

psawyer Proficient

It has been posted here that a sustained temperature of 650F for 30 minutes will break down the proteins. I have also seen 600F posted as sufficient.

These are beyond the temperatures possible in a normal oven, although the self-clean cycle does do it.

It is the 30-minute part that causes me some concern. I preheat my gas grill before cooking, with the lid down, but not for half an hour.

kareng Grand Master

I would use some foil or maybe buy one of those grill pan things for cooking fish.

skigirlchar Newbie

i actually have a similar situation this weekend so thanks for posting this now. i need to call the host tomorrow for our pre-party reminder check for me (i'm lucky that my friends are willing to "cater" to my dietary needs.)