19 replies to this topic

#1 Aphreal

Aphreal

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 149 posts

Posted 22 July 2010 - 06:11 PM

I researched the places we go and Chick Fil A is one of them. I found that the waffle fries were listed as gluten-free. Ok... suspect but OMGOSH I love them. So I took a chance and failed. Within 20 minutes I was running to the bathroom. When I got home, I told my hubby I ate gluten so I was pretty useless for the rest of the day. I suggested they probably didn't have a dedicated fryer. Well, he worked at Chick fil a back in the day and told me that yes, they fry everything in the same oil.

I shoulda known better, I don't eat fries anywhere else due to this so what was I thinking? I chaulk it up to a noob move.. because well.. Im a noob to all this and still learning. Just wanted to save someone else the pain.

Tiff
gluten-free since 7-12-10
Started exhibiting symptoms 1979
DXed IBS 1987
Self Dx Gluten sensitive via elimination diet July 2010
Gluten free since July 12 2010
Carb&Sugar light August 2010
experimenting with being Grain light

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Frances03

Frances03

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 268 posts

Posted 22 July 2010 - 07:17 PM

As far as I know, Chick-Fil-A DOES have dedicated fryers. Every one I've been in does! They are very knowledgable about their gluten free options! They seem to always know what I need when I say I can't have gluten. Their salads are prepared away from anything with gluten and kept sealed and away from other foods. They even mark mine with an orange sticker at some restaurants. Their fries are never near the breaded chicken. I LOVE this restaurant, they are very informed and make an EFFORT to help those of us with Celiac. They dont add anything to their fries either. I love them.
41 year old homeschooling mom of 5
ttg iga 88, reference range 0-19 gliadin peptide antibody iga 105, reference range 0-31