This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Unusual Celiac Case

trilobitian

trilobitian Newbie

Hello all. I'm new to the forum (I have been perusing it for a few months now but never registered) I am 25 years old and was just diagnosed with Celiac disease in February.

I started going to the Mayo clinic because I had chronic hives (the second time in 4 years that I have had these hives that just don't go away.) My doctor and I spent many weeks and months trying to figure out why I had these hives. In the processes we discovered my immune system was in really bad shape. And then one of my tests came back positive for celiac sprue. So I was transferred to a new doctor who did the upper endoscopy on me and declared that yes, I did have celiac disease. So I've been gluten free now since then.

I went back to Mayo about a month ago and discovered that my immune system is not improving, it is continuing to drop.

My hives area also not going away.

We're beginning to think that these are not related to the celiac at all.

I have found that I seem to have a sensitivity to Annatto. So I've cut that out of my diet. My hives definitely get worse after I have that. And now I'm suspecting soy. I've read that soy has been discovered to have a lot of gluten contamination from the GROWING process. Ugh. (This genetic modifying and monoculture the United states loves so dearly is out to kill us celiacs I swear) So now I think I need to watch my soy intake.

As of now, I've had hives for over a year now, straight with only a few weeks here and there where I had some relief from them.