Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

What Should I Be Looking For In Salad Dressing?
0

23 posts in this topic

I'm still very new with gluten free, but pretty used to thoroughly reading ingredient labels since I have been a vegetarian for almost 10 years.

My question is- what should I look for, as far as gluten ingredients or "hidden" gluten containing ingredients in salad dressings and condiments (like mustard, ketchup, hot sauce etc...)

I feel like I never know what I'm reading unless it says at the bottom "contains wheat" or something obvious like "wheat flour."

Thanks!!

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I'm still very new with gluten free, but pretty used to thoroughly reading ingredient labels since I have been a vegetarian for almost 10 years.

My question is- what should I look for, as far as gluten ingredients or "hidden" gluten containing ingredients in salad dressings and condiments (like mustard, ketchup, hot sauce etc...)

I feel like I never know what I'm reading unless it says at the bottom "contains wheat" or something obvious like "wheat flour."

Thanks!!

In the U.S, wheat must be clearly listed as such. No guessing there. I can't remember the last time I've found a condiment with hidden gluten, and really almost none with gluten at all. They won't have rye or oats, which leaves barley, and in the mustards that I've seen with it, it's been clearly listed.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In the U.S, wheat must be clearly listed as such. No guessing there. I can't remember the last time I've found a condiment with hidden gluten, and really almost none with gluten at all. They won't have rye or oats, which leaves barley, and in the mustards that I've seen with it, it's been clearly listed.

For salad dressings, I go straight to the Wish Bone. Theirs are clearly marked GLUTEN FREE - if they are

Matter of fact, they have 2 identical looking Ranches, one is marked gluten-free and one is not.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Kraft has a coorporate policy to label clearly any gluten containing ingredients, so you can always feel safe with a Kraft product. I haven't seen any dressing that aren't gluten-free but We only use a few flavors. Have found that a lot of bottled marinades have wheat in them. Iguess to make them a little thicker.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Kraft has a coorporate policy to label clearly any gluten containing ingredients, so you can always feel safe with a Kraft product. I haven't seen any dressing that aren't gluten-free but We only use a few flavors. Have found that a lot of bottled marinades have wheat in them. Iguess to make them a little thicker.

Stay away from blue cheese dressings, and a lot of imported/foreign mustards are not safe.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

very helpful! thanks guys- what about when things say 'Natural Flavor'?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Stay away from blue cheese dressings, and a lot of imported/foreign mustards are not safe.

Blue cheese does not contain gluten. We had a thread about that before. Maybe cheeses made in Europe?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Annie's makes several dressings that are both gluten free and vegan. I have a few of the Annie's, but I prefer to make my own dressing. Olive oil and vinegar with some seasonings and you have dressing. http://www.anniesnaturals.com/ (click on FAQ's)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm still very new with gluten free, but pretty used to thoroughly reading ingredient labels since I have been a vegetarian for almost 10 years.

My question is- what should I look for, as far as gluten ingredients or "hidden" gluten containing ingredients in salad dressings and condiments (like mustard, ketchup, hot sauce etc...)

I feel like I never know what I'm reading unless it says at the bottom "contains wheat" or something obvious like "wheat flour."

Thanks!!

Things like modified food strarch. Some labels will say after it from: corn or rice or wheat. If it doesn't tell you the source don't use it. Also anything from malt like malt vinegar because malt is from barley. Maltodextrin is OK and gluten free. Wishbone robusto italian dressing is gluten free and does say so in small print on the back where the ingredient list is.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm still very new with gluten free, but pretty used to thoroughly reading ingredient labels since I have been a vegetarian for almost 10 years.

My question is- what should I look for, as far as gluten ingredients or "hidden" gluten containing ingredients in salad dressings and condiments (like mustard, ketchup, hot sauce etc...)

I feel like I never know what I'm reading unless it says at the bottom "contains wheat" or something obvious like "wheat flour."

Thanks!!

FOOD LABEL INGREDIENTS to Avoid

  • Caramel flavoring or coloring
  • Emulsifiers
  • Flour
  • Gluten stabilizers
  • Fillers
  • Hydrolyzed, hydrogenated, or texturized vegetable protein
  • Hydrolyzed plant protein
  • Malt or malt flavoring
  • Modified food starch
  • Stabilizers
  • Vegetable gum or protein
    • These ingredients are found in:
    • Processed cheeses
    • Soups
    • Gravies
    • Sauces
    • Chili sauces
    • Seasoning mixes
    • Pickled items
    • Mustard
    • Catsup
    • Vinegar
    • Chip dips
    • Steak sauces

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

FOOD LABEL INGREDIENTS to Avoid

{{snip}}

I'm not sure where that list came from, but it is full of long-discredited information, particularly in light of FALCPA, which has been in effect since January 1, 2006.

Malt is a valid issue--it comes from barley. If any of the other things contain wheat, it will be explicitly stated as "wheat."

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm not sure where that list came from, but it is full of long-discredited information, particularly in light of FALCPA, which has been in effect since January 1, 2006.

Malt is a valid issue--it comes from barley. If any of the other things contain wheat, it will be explicitly stated as "wheat."

OOPS! sorry. those of us diagnosed 20 years ago still remember the old rules when tings weren't clearly marked. Sorry, dating myself.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm not sure where that list came from, but it is full of long-discredited information, particularly in light of FALCPA, which has been in effect since January 1, 2006.

Malt is a valid issue--it comes from barley. If any of the other things contain wheat, it will be explicitly stated as "wheat."

Agreed!

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Things like modified food strarch. Some labels will say after it from: corn or rice or wheat. If it doesn't tell you the source don't use it. Also anything from malt like malt vinegar because malt is from barley. Maltodextrin is OK and gluten free. Wishbone robusto italian dressing is gluten free and does say so in small print on the back where the ingredient list is.

Modified Food Starch, in the US, is almost ALWAYS derived from corn. If, it is derived from wheat, it must be listed by law as "Modified Food Starch (wheat)".

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Soy sauce. It's obvious on it's own, but I'm always surprised by how many non-Asian salad dressings have it. Annie's Goddess dressing is the one that I totally didn't expect, because it definitely doesn't taste like it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Annie's makes several dressings that are both gluten free and vegan. I have a few of the Annie's, but I prefer to make my own dressing. Olive oil and vinegar with some seasonings and you have dressing. http://www.anniesnaturals.com/ (click on FAQ's)

I am SO glad to see this posting for Annie's Naturals. They have really good gluten free salad dressings. But just because they are called "SALAD" dressings, don't limit them to just salads.

For those non-vegetarians... use their:

Shitake Mushroom or Lemon & Chive as a fish marinade for about 4 hours.

Lite Honey Mustard as a pork chop/tenderloin marinade

Roasted Red Pepper Vinaigrette as a chicken or turkey marinade.

Artichoke Parmesan on a flank steak. (WAY Yummy!)

Or get creative and chose your own combinations!

~Wheatfreedude~

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What about Kraft ranch salad dressing & and dip? i can't find any info that says gluten free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What about Kraft ranch salad dressing & and dip? i can't find any info that says gluten free.

Kraft will clearly disclose any source of gluten in their products. All you have to do is read the label. If you don't see the gluten, it isn't there. Most of their dressings are gluten-free, but I can't speak specifically to the ranch as I don't use it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm still very new with gluten free, but pretty used to thoroughly reading ingredient labels since I have been a vegetarian for almost 10 years.

My question is- what should I look for, as far as gluten ingredients or "hidden" gluten containing ingredients in salad dressings and condiments (like mustard, ketchup, hot sauce etc...)

I feel like I never know what I'm reading unless it says at the bottom "contains wheat" or something obvious like "wheat flour."

Thanks!!

Use Wishbone - they clearly label which of their dressings are "GLUTEN FREE" on the back with the Nutritional Information. I know alot of folks on here trust Kraft to label "Wheat" - I do not and have had gotten sick after eating some Kraft Dressing I thought was safe on my salad. Now I don't eat it unless I call the company and confirm that it is gluten free or it says gluten free.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Personally I feel very comfortable eating Kraft dressings. They will not hide wheat but I also know that people have various intolerances to a lot of different ingredients. That could include whole, natural foods (fruits and veggies, for example).

Their Ranch dressing is my favorite although I've pretty much avoided it for a few months as it contains milk (as well as eggs). I figure since I was only diagnosed 4 months ago, I probably was (or am) lactose intolerant. You need to buy what you're comfortable using.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Kudos to Lisa and GlutenFreeMama for recommending gluten free salad dressings that are also ALL NATURAL.

Please, please, please.... do not get me wrong. If you are comfortable with Kraft's items and they are working for you, continue to use them.

I simply know that there is a rather large group on this board that don't like to eat items with ingredients that are unfamiliar to us.

With that said, here's Krafts Ingredient Statement for their Ranch:

WATER, SOYBEAN OIL, SUGAR, GARLIC JUICE, BUTTERMILK, CONTAINS LESS THAN 2% OF SALT, MODIFIED FOOD STARCH, WHEY, PHOSPHORIC ACID, MONOSODIUM GLUTAMATE, EGG WHITES, VINEGAR, XANTHAN GUM, CITRIC ACID, POLYSORBATE 60, SPICE, NATURAL FLAVOR, ENZYMES, WITH SODIUM LACTATE, NATAMYCIN, AND CALCIUM DISODIUM EDTA AS PRESERVATIVES. CONTAINS: MILK, EGG.

You may want to contact Kraft and find out why they use the following ingredients and what they are:

- Phosphoric Acid

- Monosodium Glutamate

- Polysorbate 60

- Sodium Lactate

- Natamycin

- Calcium Disodium EDTA

~Wheatfreedude~

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The topic is gluten in dressings and condiments. Let's see if we can stay on topic.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,688
    • Total Posts
      921,755
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Yeah I ended up allergic to corn, olives, sesame, whey, and peanuts and intolerant to dairy, soy, yeast, enzyme issues with breaking down meats, and egg yolks, along with extreme bloat with any kind of carbs/sugars in moderate amounts. And very adverse reactions to certain artificial sweeteners. So your not alone in all the other issues cropping up, it happens as our bodies adjust.  I eat a bunch of stir frys with veggies, egg whites, plenty of  avocados, and toasted and raw forms of almonds, coconut, cashews, walnuts, hemp seeds, pumpkin seeds, flax seeds, sancha inchi seeds, chia seeds, and sunflower seeds in all forms including making them into butters, spreads, and incorporating them into sauces.   Most meals are forms of soups, omelettes, and stir frys. I do the seeds and nuts on rotation same with my veggies and snack on fruits in small amounts along with some homemade baked goods I make for markets. I do suggest a rotation of foods, my dietician said I need to rotate my foods to prevent more issues, making sure I am off one one for at least 7-14 days at a time completely. I find changing up the spices and rotating my cuisine base works well. I also make puddings, and protein shakes along with nut/seed milks, and different bases and extract flavorings to get my random cravings Taken care of. Guess take what you can from this and and see how it can help you,    As to the tinging, I ended up with both B vitamin and magnesium deficiency issues, the magnesium one caused a fire like tingling in my arms, legs and back, along with muscle pain. Ended up on a doctors best powder form of it so I can dose it out right, and found epsom salt bathes helped.  
    • Hi, I've gained so much knowledge on this forum over the past few months, which I am so thankful for. I can see how much hell people are going through with this disease and it's so lovely to see how much support and advice people give to others on here. I'd like a little bit of reassurance and advice myself from anyone that can help. I've been gluten free for six months. Two weeks after going gluten free I realised I also had a problem with corn so cut out processed food. Over the following weeks and months I continually had problems with food; fruit, dairy, a lot of vegetables, nuts, soya....it's basically dwindled down to just eating potatoes (not white potatoes), cucumber, lettuce, small amounts of red onion, spring onion, sprouts and beetroot. There may be more things I could be okay with but to be honest I'm too scared to try.  Is this all normal? Am I an extreme case? I've been taking some digestive enzymes and probiotics for about six weeks, my acid reflux has dramatically decreased but I always have a lot of loud noises going on in my guts, I'm guessing this is the probiotics working.  I've lost nearly 3st in weight since this started - which I'm not complaining about as I was overweight due to thyroid problems. I've had loads of blood tests done recently, all organs are working 'great' according to my doctor, the only thing they've picked up on is ketones, I seem to be having a glucose problem, which might explain my exhaustion and weight loss. I also have permanent numbness and sometimes tingling in one of my legs and sometimes hands and one shoulder, I thought it could have vitamin B12 deficiency but that's okay according to blood tests. I would be greatful for any replies. Thanks for reading.
    • Hi everyone, I am doing job in restaurant at evening 5 to 12 during working hours no time to do a dinner. I'm thinking to make a shake but don't know the gluten free vitamin or supplement brand which one is good for me and easily available in Berlin Germany to make me fit cause last one week i feel weak. I'm 28 year old. Sincerely
    • Hey there just wanted to warn anyone that has other allergies- these crackers may not be a good choice! I'm mildly sensitive to MSG- I only react if there's a giant amount like in Chinese food or Ramen noodles, etc.  I literally have a to eat TONS of a the offending food before reacting.  Anyway, I was excited to try these Trader Joes pumpkin crackers, kept hearing about them on the radio .... and they're gluten free!  (I have Hashi's).  I ate about 3/4 of the box last night. Woke up this morning with a red itchy face and nasal congestion, headache, anxiety. Hallmark symptoms for me of high MSG intake. (It does say yeast extract on the side but it's pretty far down the list). So if you're sensitive.... stay away! Apparently these particular crackers are loaded with it. 
    • I admit, my blood panel was "mildly positive" with only the DPG IGA being the positive, yet I had a Marsh Stage IIIB (pathologist report) though my visual on the endoscopy was fine.  celiac disease can be hard to diagnose, that is for sure.  
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,689
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    Kelly Calcagno
    Joined