Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            

arrowShare this page:

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    

Photo
- - - - -

What Should I Be Looking For In Salad Dressing?

• Please log in to reply

22 replies to this topic

#1 lischro

lischro

Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 48 posts

Posted 28 July 2010 - 09:17 AM

I'm still very new with gluten free, but pretty used to thoroughly reading ingredient labels since I have been a vegetarian for almost 10 years.

My question is- what should I look for, as far as gluten ingredients or "hidden" gluten containing ingredients in salad dressings and condiments (like mustard, ketchup, hot sauce etc...)

I feel like I never know what I'm reading unless it says at the bottom "contains wheat" or something obvious like "wheat flour."

Thanks!!

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 lovegrov

lovegrov

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,537 posts

Posted 28 July 2010 - 10:32 AM

I'm still very new with gluten free, but pretty used to thoroughly reading ingredient labels since I have been a vegetarian for almost 10 years.

My question is- what should I look for, as far as gluten ingredients or "hidden" gluten containing ingredients in salad dressings and condiments (like mustard, ketchup, hot sauce etc...)

I feel like I never know what I'm reading unless it says at the bottom "contains wheat" or something obvious like "wheat flour."

Thanks!!

In the U.S, wheat must be clearly listed as such. No guessing there. I can't remember the last time I've found a condiment with hidden gluten, and really almost none with gluten at all. They won't have rye or oats, which leaves barley, and in the mustards that I've seen with it, it's been clearly listed.

#3 conniebky

conniebky

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 347 posts

Posted 28 July 2010 - 10:48 AM