Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

La Costena Chipotle Peppers In Adobo Sauc
0

5 posts in this topic

Does anyone know if La Costena chipotle peppers in adobo sauce are gluten free? The suspicious ingredient is "spices." Everything else looks fine.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Does anyone know if La Costena chipotle peppers in adobo sauce are gluten free? The suspicious ingredient is "spices." Everything else looks fine.

Update... I ate it and lived. :lol:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Update... I ate it and lived. :lol:

So glad you survived. :) I've used them and never had any problems. If you have some left over which I always do, they freeze nicely. I freeze them in an ice cube tray and the amount is usually just right for most recipes.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This brand of Chipotles is NOT gluten free.  I contacted the manufacturer and they confirmed that they are not gluten free.  She suspicious ingredients are spices AND vinegar.  Vinegar is often made from grain, so it cannot be assumed that vinegar is safe.  You must have gotten lucky if this didn't make you sick.  I wouldn't chance it again.  ;)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This brand of Chipotles is NOT gluten free. I contacted the manufacturer and they confirmed that they are not gluten free. She suspicious ingredients are spices AND vinegar. Vinegar is often made from grain, so it cannot be assumed that vinegar is safe. You must have gotten lucky if this didn't make you sick. I wouldn't chance it again. ;)

I use them all the time - well... As much as I can.

Spices cannot, legally, hide a grain. Vinegar, except " malt vinegar" , is not a concern. Obviously they don't know what is gluten or they are being advised to make a CYA statement because they don't test for gluten. I don't have a link to the US rule about spices but you could google it. I know it's been linked to on c.com many times.

http://www.cureceliacdisease.org/archives/faq/is-vinegar-safe-for-those-with-celiac-disease

Is vinegar safe for those with celiac disease?

Vinegar is a solution made of acetic acid and flavoring materials such as apples, grapes, grain and molasses. For example, cider vinegar is made from apple juice; malt vinegar is made from barley malt, Balsamic vinegar is made from grapes.

Distilled vinegars (including vinegars in foods and condiments) are gluten-free because the distillation process filters out the large gluten proteins so they do not pass through to the end product making the finished liquid gluten free.

Patients with celiac disease should not be concerned about distilled white vinegar or foods such as pickles, which may contain it. The exception to this rule is malt vinegar, which is not distilled, and therefore is not safe to consume.

Vinegar as defined by the US Food & Drug Administration:

Vinegar, Cider Vinegar, Apple Vinegar: made from juice of apples

Wine Vinegar, Grape Vinegar: made from juice of grapes

Malt Vinegar: infusion of barley malt or cereals that have been converted to malt

Spirit Vinegar, Distilled Vinegar, Grain Vinegar: dilute distilled alcohol

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,694
    • Total Posts
      921,772
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Hi thanks for this. The kidney function test I a few weeks ago came back normal but there was a question mark over ketones, they said it was all okay, then last week the doctor rang me as there was ketones in a urine sample and I have to repeat the test next week. I'm a bit confused if they weren't worried about the blood test.   I feel for your brother, that sounds awful what he's been through. I have started to get some pain in the leg that is permanently numb, I really hope I find some answers soon. Thanks again.
    • I haven't seen my gastroenterologist for a few years.  I was diagnosed celiac and have been gluten free for more than 5 years.  I've been having trouble again for the past 6 months or so.  I've done a full elimination diet and have come up with the culprit - eggs!   I did a search of the forum here and have found it's not uncommon for people with celiac to develop a sensitivity to eggs.     I can forego eating eating eggs but It's getting to be flu season.  I was planning on getting my flu shot today, as usual, at work.  The pre-shot questionnaire asks if I have an allergy to eggs.  As, I have never been tested, I don't know if this is really an "allergy".   I asked the nurse about it.  She said that if I do have an allergy to eggs,  it could be dangerous to get the vaccine.   So, I didn't ended up not getting the vaccine.  Anyone else in this boat.   Has anyone actually been tested for egg allergy?   Any advice as it pertains to the flu vaccine?  
    • Thanks for replying. You've been very helpful and given me some ideas of trying a few foods in small amounts. I wish I had rotated food months ago then it might not have got so bad. Thanks again and I wish you well.
    • Until my recent blood test results I've been having cinnamon and mint tea in the mornings, which seemed to have a positive effect calming the digestive system (and tastes good too!)  After the first step of diagnosis with high Iga TTg I took at look at the cinnamon sticks I make the tea with and it says "packed in a factory that may contain wheat, corn etc. etc." so that I guess would sound alarm bells for many I reckon. That said I'd imagine the way most of these herbs and spices are harvested isn't exactly gluten-free friendly yet I've seen quite a few recipes using it. How are people getting around this as I can't see any specific gluten-free certified cinnamon products out there? Really could do with my tea back P.S. I also have chamomile tea using the raw flowers which may have a similar background but seem to be less of a risk somehow?
    • If I do have to go back on gluten for a bit it'll at least be a temporary relief from the withdrawal symptoms (or at least what I hope are just withdrawal symptoms). Today's returning malady is acid reflux, something I'd thought I'd seen the back of recently. Really need that to calm down as PPIs the doctor gave before were evil medication and caused 10x more problems, possibly the worst I've ever felt whilst on those so won't be going back there! Although the scales seem to have stabilised in terms of weight loss in myself I feel like I'm wasting away at present, what with the random pulling sensations in muscles and tender head area I'm just scared for what other illnesses may be laying in wait related to the celiac genes  Think I'll head back for the ESR and CRP blood tests next week as the shoulder and temple pains are really worrying me right now, could just be the gluten intolerance but the other options are terrifying if not caught early. So much uncertainty, apart from the fact that none of this ever gets fully better (if at all)...
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,698
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    kkreuz
    Joined