Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

"But You Can Eat Whole Wheat, Right?"
0

122 posts in this topic

I saw a sign today advertising for a homemade specialty bread store. I scanned the list of what they make to see if they had any gluten free bread. No such luck, but the last product they listed was "Spelt bread for people with Wheat allergies" :o

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I saw a sign today advertising for a homemade specialty bread store. I scanned the list of what they make to see if they had any gluten free bread. No such luck, but the last product they listed was "Spelt bread for people with Wheat allergies" :o

Depending on what allergenic protein a wheat-allergic person reacts to, spelt might be safe. At least they didn't suggest it as safe for celiacs.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Depending on what allergenic protein a wheat-allergic person reacts to, spelt might be safe. At least they didn't suggest it as safe for celiacs.

Really? I thought Spelt was just another (older) form of wheat. I thought I saw someone with a wheat allergy post here that they reacted to spelt, so I guess that's where I got confused. Thanks for the info.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Really? I thought Spelt was just another (older) form of wheat. I thought I saw someone with a wheat allergy post here that they reacted to spelt, so I guess that's where I got confused. Thanks for the info.

Actually I think you are right. Spelt is wheat and I do think someone allergic to or intolerant to wheat would react. But I could of course be wrong.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Depending on what allergenic protein a wheat-allergic person reacts to, spelt might be safe.

This is the way I understand it too. Some people with a wheat allergy can use spelt.

Of course, that does not hold true for Celiacs :)

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Really? I thought Spelt was just another (older) form of wheat. I thought I saw someone with a wheat allergy post here that they reacted to spelt, so I guess that's where I got confused. Thanks for the info.

It's a varietal of wheat, but not the same species as common wheat(or sub-species; there appears to be some confusion). Some of the proteins in the two species will be identical and someone who reacts to those proteins in common wheat will also react to spelt. However, some of the proteins will be different, and someone who reacts to a protein that is only in common wheat will not react to spelt.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Spelt contains gluten. It is not identical to modern wheat, but neither is barley or rye. Celiacs must avoid all forms of gluten, including spelt.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

These are so funny. I'm brand new to this board but I can completely relate to this thread. I realized through an elimination diet in March of this year that I'm extremely gluten intolerant and I've also given up dairy which bothers me too. (May re-introduce wheat to get a celiac's diagnosis as I have many classic symptoms but am dreading the process).

Anyhow, I have been scrambling myself to figure out what is safe and not safe (never thought about make up...will have to research that next)

Anytime I travel or eat out I panic...I realize that nobody but me can be trusted when it comes to what foods are safe for me. In a hotel restaurant in Rhode Island I was already crashing from something I ate and was really struggling. There was a risotto on the menu and I asked the waitress to ask the chef if it was dairy free and if there was any soy sauce. I had already learned not to trust the servers. She comes back and says no soy sauce and dairy free. Risotto comes out...in a cheese sauce, which I discovered after taking a big bite. They did comp my meal.

I too have been asked many of the same questions :"You CAN eat white bread though?" and "What do you eat then?"

Honestly I'm eating 100% healthier since I've had to take control of my diet.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm having trouble accepting that my son won't eat as well as I can feed him at school. I am going to start sending him lunch, but since being diagnosed we eat SO healthy. Then he goes to school. I took him to school at lunch time today and saw what they were feeding him...and oh goodness. It made me wish I had fed him before he went to school. Being a Celiac has made everyone in my family healthier.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here is a conversation I had with my Dad's sister. She's supposed to be a nurse...and supposedly the smart one?!?

ME: I can't eat anything with wheat in it...

HER: Oh. So you can only eat White bread? (I HATE THIS LINE!!!)

ME: No. White bread is just bleached wheat. I can't have any wheat at all...

HER: OK...So how bout this cake mix? *holding up a box of regular betty crocker cake mix*

ME: No. Not that either

HER: Oh. Well, You can still eat Ravioli out of the can right? Or spaghetti from a box?

ME: NO. I have to eat special spaghetti, regular pasta is made from wheat...

HER: Ok. I got it. So you can eat Kraft Mac and Cheese Right?

ME: *head palm* No.

Needless to say I NEVER let her cook for me....

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here is a conversation I had with my Dad's sister. She's supposed to be a nurse...and supposedly the smart one?!?

ME: I can't eat anything with wheat in it...

HER: Oh. So you can only eat White bread? (I HATE THIS LINE!!!)

ME: No. White bread is just bleached wheat. I can't have any wheat at all...

HER: OK...So how bout this cake mix? *holding up a box of regular betty crocker cake mix*

ME: No. Not that either

HER: Oh. Well, You can still eat Ravioli out of the can right? Or spaghetti from a box?

ME: NO. I have to eat special spaghetti, regular pasta is made from wheat...

HER: Ok. I got it. So you can eat Kraft Mac and Cheese Right?

ME: *head palm* No.

Needless to say I NEVER let her cook for me....

Oh, that's just frightening.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here is a conversation I had with my Dad's sister. She's supposed to be a nurse...and supposedly the smart one?!?

ME: I can't eat anything with wheat in it...

HER: Oh. So you can only eat White bread? (I HATE THIS LINE!!!)

ME: No. White bread is just bleached wheat. I can't have any wheat at all...

HER: OK...So how bout this cake mix? *holding up a box of regular betty crocker cake mix*

ME: No. Not that either

HER: Oh. Well, You can still eat Ravioli out of the can right? Or spaghetti from a box?

ME: NO. I have to eat special spaghetti, regular pasta is made from wheat...

HER: Ok. I got it. So you can eat Kraft Mac and Cheese Right?

ME: *head palm* No.

Needless to say I NEVER let her cook for me....

I guess she slept through her nutrition classes. Wow I can't believe a nurse could be that clueless, scarey.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I guess she slept through her nutrition classes. Wow I can't believe a nurse could be that clueless, scarey.

She's one of those foodiots. Ask her where the flour trees grow. You might get an interesting answer. ;)

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I can't believe a nurse could be that clueless

Related story... a friend had gastric bypass surgery and is having trouble with her diet. She suspects she might have lactose intolerance so she called her doctor who said, yogurt and cheese don't have lactose because they're processed so she can go ahead and eat them.

:blink:

I can maybe sort of understand an average person may not know this but a doctor? One who deals with gastric bypass patients who have to drastically change their diets? You'd think they'd be up on basic food intolerance knowledge.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

yogurt and hard cheese have very little lactose.....

2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I can maybe sort of understand an average person may not know this but a doctor? One who deals with gastric bypass patients who have to drastically change their diets? You'd think they'd be up on basic food intolerance knowledge.

Doctors....LOL! Even though I have a print out, right on my refrigerator door that tells me the lactose content of "commonly eaten foods", and yogurt is pretty low in lactose, I still eat soy yogurt. Although, I will admit, because of a lack of not-gross cheese substitutes out there, I still indulge in "regular" cheese, with the help of "Lactaid." I tried once to eat a regular yogurt, and got sick as a dog, even with the Lactaid. I guess we are all different, and we all have to make choices about how far we are willing to "push" our diet. Lactose, unlike gluten, does not make my belly extend, which is the symptom I find most painful and annoying. My clothes don't fit, my back hurts, ugh, it's hell. But Lactose...if I screw up its just a few trips to the potty with D. I take 2 lactaid before a sandwich with a slice or two of cheese, and that is fine, but if I am having a "cheese plate" (a common snack with my BF and I...(different cheeses and rice crackers...yum..), I have to take 3 - 4 Lactaid. It's probably better if I avoid 'cheese plate lunch' day, but hey, it's a risk I am willing to take!

You can find out the general amount of lactose in commonly eaten foods. That way, you have a formal, educated answer to the lactose content of food, and you can make your own choices. I found a great table here:http://digestive.niddk.nih.gov/ddiseases/pubs/lactoseintolerance/

They have an excellent chart about half-way down the page. I printed 3 and hung on my fridge, one on bf's fridge, and carry one in my purse. Good luck!

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
yogurt and hard cheese have very little lactose.....

But very little does not equal none. Besides, he didn't make that distinction so she continued to eat cottage cheese, cream cheese, yogurt, etc.

I'm severely lactose intolerant and been dairy free for a long time so I know my stuff when it comes to lactose, cassein and whey. Lactaid doesn't work for me but I suggested to my friend that she try Lactaid milk or soy milk to see if she feels better.

I don't want to stray too far off topic, just wanted to highlight that nurses and docs can be just as ignorant about food intolerances as anyone else.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

But very little does not equal none. Besides, he didn't make that distinction so she continued to eat cottage cheese, cream cheese, yogurt, etc.

Everyone has a different tolerance level. I was severely intolerant of milk, cream, ice cream and frozen yogurt. I could eat cheeses, cream cheese, sour cream, yogurt, butter, without any problem.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Kind of like asking someone who's can not eat shellfish if they can have shrimp if you remove the shell.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When you have a gastric bypass you lose the part of your intestine that digests lactose. You are told before surgery that you will become lactose intolerant. To me it didn't make any difference since I had been severely lactose intolerant since the age of 18. I'm surprised that the above doctor who performs this surgery for a living wouldn't have informed all of his patient's of this beforehand. ?????

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's possible that he has had other bypass patients report that cheeses, etc. did not give them issues. I know someone who still drinks milk post-bypass, so I think problems/severity is variable.

If the cheese is properly aged (which almost no cheese is these days) then it should contain no lactose. But that takes years. It's just like dry wine - given the proper conditions and the right starting ingredients, fermentation should continue until all sugars have been consumed.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please keep in mind, guys, the conversation you are joining is two years old, and

many of the participants may not be around anymore. Very amusing thread to resurrect

though. :D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,099
    • Total Posts
      920,357
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • I_would_widen_the_search_to_your_whole_environment.....Carefully_consider_what_else_was_different_when_you_felt_better.
    • Thanks a lot for your advice and the link. I will surely check upon GCED. But, doesn't a negative HTTG (can't do IgA ttg as IgA deficiency) result mean that I am not exposed to gluten ? 
    • Thank you for going through my long post and responding. I have been both dairy and gluten-free free for 10 months now. Yes, even I was worried about other food allergies. I mentioned it to my GI doc and asked if I need food allergy test to eliminate other allergens. He said, food allergy tests give a lot of false positives and are not accurate. He said: not everything is because of food allergy and it's refractory celiac which is causing issues as the jejunum biopsy, done recently, is showing villous flattening.

      My doubt: 1. If I have so much damage in my small intestine (villous flattening) then how was I keeping fine for 6-7 months ( eating eggs, soy, rice and meat) - was constantly losing weight though - but was able to work out regularly - not much fatigue. 2. If it is other food allergens ( out of mentioned allergens, I take eggs, soy chunks, almonds only) why does it happen only few times and not always - I keep well for 7-8 days and then fall sick again - this without any change in diet.  
    • Oh, Trish at the GlutenFreeWatchDog tested Planter's honey roasted peanuts three years ago.  The can did not state gluten-free, but showed no gluten ingrediants (per Kraft policy).  Test result: less than 5 part per million which is pretty much gluten-free.  
    • What if it were something else that glutened you?  Maybe you ate too much of a good thing?  I once (three months post dx) ate too much gluten-free fried chicken, vomited, passed out and fractured my back (osteoporosis) in the process.  Paramedics, ER doc and Cardio all thought I was having a heart attack.   No.  It was sheer gluttony and bad bones.  Not good to overload with a damaged gut.    Maybe you did get some contaminated nuts.  Afterall, anything processed is suspect.  What might be well tolerated by some, might be too much for others.  We all have our various levels of gluten intolerance.   The old 20 parts per million is just a guideline, but science does not really know (lack of funding......doe anyone really care enough to find out?)  My hubby has been gluten-free for 15 years.  When I was first diagnosed, I tried to eat the gluten-free foods that I normally gave him.   Problem was he was healed and I was not.  Things like Xanthan Gum in commercial processed gluten-free breads make me feel like I have been glutened, but it is just (and still is) an intolerance.  So no bread for me unless I make it myself using a different gum.   Too lazy, so I do without.   so, ask your doctor if you really want to know or lay off the cashews and test them again in a month using a certified gluten-free nut.  I wish this was easier!    
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,134
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Alinapep
    Joined