Jump to content



   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Enfamil Poly-Vi-Sol With Iron/ D-Vi-Sol Contain Caramel Color-- Ok?


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 BrooklynFamily

BrooklynFamily

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts

Posted 10 August 2010 - 11:26 AM

Hello-
Here's a paranoid question for you fellow parents. Our son was diagnosed with Celiac disease in late June. He's been responding amazingly well to his new gluten-free diet and has gained over 4lbs in 4 weeks. Our GI doc told us to give him a multivitamin with iron and a Vitamin D supplement to help him "catch up" with these nutrients. We've been giving him Enfamil's Poly-Vi-Sol with Iron and D-Vi-Sol with since his diagnosis with NO negative reaction. When I first bought the vitamins, I called Enfamil to check that the products were gluten-free. They claimed that they were. Now, here's my dilemma... at the same time, I've been reading Danna Korn's "Kids with Celiac Disease" and at one point she lists a series of additives that are "forbidden" within the gluten-free diet. One of the ingredients is "caramel color" with the caveat that "caramel color may or may not contain gluten, depending on how it is manufactured. In the USA caramel color must conform with the FDA standard of identity from 21CFR CH.1. This statue says: 'the color additive caramel is the dark-brown liquid or solid material resulting from the carefully controlled heat treatment of the following food-grade carbohydrates; Dextrose (corn sugar), Invert sugar; Lactose (milk sugar), Malt syrup (usually from barley malt), Molasses (from cane), Starch Hydrolysates and fractions thereof (can include wheat), Sucrose (cane or beet).'" The Enfamil Poly-Vi-Sol with Iron contains caramel color and the Enfamil D-Vi-Sol contains artificial caramel color.

Obviously, I want him to get his vitamins, but I also don't want to cause even the slightest bit of damage to his intestine. Have any of you given these vitamins to your kids? Any gluten reactions? Would you trust what the company says about their product being gluten-free? Is there a way to find out EXACTLY what ingredients go into Enfamil's caramel color? Or, is there an alternative liquid vitamin that I could give our son?

Thanks!
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 psawyer

psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,028 posts

Posted 10 August 2010 - 11:56 AM

Caramel color is one of those celiac urban myths that just won't go away.

Here is Shelley Case's take on it, from Gluten-Free Diet A Comprehensive Resource Guide:

Although gluten-containing ingredients (barley malt syrup and starch hydrolysates) can be used in the production of caramel color, North American companies use corn as it has a longer shelf life and makes a superior product. European companies use glucose derived from wheat starch, however caramel color is highly processed and contains no gluten.

[Emphasis in original]
  • 1
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#3 scarlett77

scarlett77

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 199 posts

Posted 10 August 2010 - 12:31 PM

I give my son the same drops. They are fine.
  • 0
Mommy to James, who is Celiac diagnosis by blood test and confirmed by endoscopy on 9/29/2009. Our household has been gluten free since.

#4 dkelm

dkelm

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts

Posted 10 August 2010 - 12:43 PM

If you are worried, could you just get vit d drops and a seperate iron supplement? That's what we do.
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: