Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Is Clear Sambuca Romana gluten-free?
0

4 posts in this topic

Is clear Sambuca Romana gluten-free?

TIA!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Hard liquor is distilled away from the grain mash used to make it, so it has no detectable gluten. The flavorings in Sambuca would also be naturally gluten-free. All distilled spirits and vinegars are considered safe for celiacs. You may run across outdated information that says otherwise, as in the past celiacs were advised to avoid grain alcohols and vinegars.

The one thing I'll add is a few super-sensitive folks on this board do find they can't tolerate grain alcohols or vinegars. It's very unusual, but if you ever think you might be reacting to something distilled, you're not crazy or totally alone. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am a super sensitive celiac and I can drink Ouzo by Metaxa. I know it's not quite the same thing as Sambuca, but it is close. I haven't tried Sambuca, I have had problems with other distilled spirits.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks! I had some this weekend and totally forgot that it might not be gluten-free. I just started the diet last week and really didn't have GI symptoms to begin with so I couldn't tell by drinking it. That was the only questionable thing I've had so far (to my knowledge)!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0