This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Gluten Free Celiac For 3 Weeks

BrookeT

BrookeT Apprentice

Hi,

I am new to all of this as I was just diagnosed with celiac 3 1/2 weeks ago through a positive blood panel & biopsy result. I have been very diligent about eating gluten-free, (including my vitamins, soaps, lotion, toothpaste and lipstick), but haven't had much improvement and am frustrated and worried. My symptoms are lots of gas, burping, discomfort in the upper center of abdomen just under my chest (indigestion?), bloating, lots of stomach noises, cramps in lower abdomen, diarrhea, and pale yellowish colored small stools which I've had for several years now. I have also in the past few months been having intermittent tingling/slight numbness in my hands and in one foot and a mild headache across my forehead over my eyes and in my temples. I also seem to have a heightened sense of smell & occasional chills. Weird stuff! Has anyone else had any of these strange symptoms? It hasn't been fun! :( I was previously diagnosed with IBS/anxiety but felt there was more to it. I did a lot of research and talked with my doc about celiac, which at first, she dismissed saying that I would have been diagnosed as a child. Through further research I learned that you can be diagnosed at any age and convinced my doctor to do a celiac blood panel which came back as "highly probable" for celiac. She seemed pretty surprised. I was then referred to a GI doc who diagnosed me through a positive upper endo biopsy. I also suffer with anxiety, which I've had most of my life but has gotten worse over the past few years. I've read that celiac can ca