Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Lucky Charms


  • Please log in to reply

4 replies to this topic

#1 MelindaLee

 
MelindaLee

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 375 posts
 

Posted 14 September 2010 - 05:33 PM

I occationally LOVE a bowl of Lucky Charms. I know they are horrible for me, but what can I say???? I haven't had any since going gluten free. I know GM is usually good about labeling any unsafe ingrediants. I don't see anything that is unsafe, but am I missing anything? I really don't want to give in to my craving and suffer. :blink:
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Skylark

 
Skylark

    Glutenologist

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,490 posts
 

Posted 14 September 2010 - 05:53 PM

As far as I know, oats are generally unsafe. They are too likely to be CC with a fair amount of wheat from wheat growing in the oat fields, grain elevators, and trucks. The only oats that are safe for celiacs (if you tolerate oats at all) are the specially grown and handled gluten-free ones.

If you want a sweet, flavored cereal, Trix doesn't have any gluten ingredients. I don't know how careful they are about CC from other cereals when they package it.
  • 0

#3 TrillumHunter

 
TrillumHunter

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 688 posts
 

Posted 15 September 2010 - 03:40 AM

I'd say no the Lucky Charms. I understand the craving as that's one of my guilty faves I held onto from childhood, too. But, it's all about the marshmallows and we can have those! My mil buys big bags of those dehydrated marshmallows from a bulk style Amish store. Put them on some Rice Chex and it's a good substitute.
  • 0

#4 lovegrov

 
lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,537 posts
 

Posted 15 September 2010 - 07:24 AM

Yes, you're missing something -- oats and oat flour. Unless a product has oats that are specially grown and processed to avoid contamination, oats are an absolute no-no because of heavy wheat contamination.

richard
  • 0

#5 Kim27

 
Kim27

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 153 posts
 

Posted 15 September 2010 - 07:53 AM

Fruity Pebbles are gluten-free too if you have a sweet, junky cereal craving. I eat those with no problems.
  • 0
Thanks!!!


---------------------------------------------------
Kim

Newly diagnosed Celiac trying to learn the ropes

Very Positive tTG 3/10
Positive EGD/Biopsy 4/10




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: