This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Positive Biopsy, Negative Blood Tests

ToHelpMySon

ToHelpMySon Newbie

This is my first time here and I am desperately seeking some help and advice. My son is 16 months old and he has had severe acid reflux since birth and has been seen by Denver Children's Hospital since that time. At the age of 12 months he had a 2nd UGI, which showed continued reflux and because his Pediatrician felt he should have outgrown it they decided to do an upper endocscopy, which happened at about 15 months of age. They discovered a very nodular duodenum and took a biopsy, which came back as POSITIVE for Celiac Disease, surprising not only them but me too. They said Celiac could be the reason he is still refluxing.

Well, he had blood work done 4 weeks ago and it came back NEGATIVE for Celiac Disease and the GI is saying they need to consult their "Celiac Guru" @ Children's to decide the next step. I have been talking to some helpful moms on Infant Reflux Disease Dot Com and they have told me that the biopsy is the gold standard for Celiac testing and that they believe he has Celiac 100% and should go on a gluten-free diet regardless of what the doctors say. I happen to agree and want to see if anyone here agrees.