Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Barley Derived Ingredients That 'Have No Gluten Remaining'
0

2 posts in this topic

Just came across this a couple days ago:

http://glutenfreeworks.com/blog/2010/10/04/barley-malt-ingredients-in-labeled-gluten-free-foods/

We've all seen companies that say something is so processed that the tests can't detect any gluten, yeah? The above article had some interesting information on the unreliability of tests that detect barley, specifically. Even recommended that companies who are making gluten free foods might want to avoid barley derived products like malt until the test quality improves more.

Figured this might be of interest for all us label readers. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Thanks for posting this. I am one of those who don't consider any item that has had gluten 'processed out' is safe for us. Hopefully the FDA will soon get it's regs together so this item can no longer be hidden in flavors and allow companies to leave it out of the ingredients list if they use it in processing. Some of us may tolerate small amounts of gluten but I want to know if it is there even if the amount is small.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0