Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  

Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:

Ads by Google:

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Flour

15 posts in this topic

I'm a baker at heart, and I love to make cookies. (I do make other desserts too, but cookies is usually what I make.) But as I said in my intro thread I just recently went gluten free. I want to know what kinds of flour are (in your opinion) best to use. There are so many flours out there that I have never even know existed that are gluten free. I hear coconut flour is good in a lot of types of cookies. But what else do you use? Also what is a good general purpose flour? (IE if I wanted to make gravy or use it to thicken a sauce... or whatever.)

(PS a lot of my cookies are chocolate cookies. Do you know of a good cocoa that doesn't have gluten? Or most cocoas usually safe?)

Ads by Google:

Gluten free baking is a bit of a learning experience because you have to reject a good part of what you already know. Gluten free doughs and batters have a totally different consistency and texture than gluten ones and it takes a bit of experimenting to find out what the doughs/batters should look like. Also, the flours all have their own unique tastes and behavior patterns. I think it is best to start out using a basic mix like Pamela's until you get used to this. Then you can try mixes with other types of flours to learn what tastes you like. Then you can start buying the individual flours and experimenting for yourself. It is a good idea to buy yourself a good gluten free cookbook (be careful here because some authors use their own flour mix for all their recipes and if it happens to be a flour you don't like or don't tolerate, the book is a waste of money unless you can find a good sub for that flour). Gluten free baking is all about learning substitutions - for whatever - whether it be certain flours, eggs, milk, butter......