#1 GlutenNoMore

GlutenNoMore

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 15 October 2010 - 01:32 PM

Hi,

I've been having issues with my stomach for years, but the past month or so it has gotten worse. I went to see a doctor who listened to me patiently and asked a lot of questions. She is testing me for wheat intolerance and vitamin deficiencies, thyroid, and put me on a Gluten Free diet. She also prescribed Diflucan for two weeks because of yeast. This was 11 days ago.

I did really well eating gluten free, until a mistake I made yesterday. I bought some oatmeal that I thought said gluten free, but after I got a stomach ache and numerous bathroom visits, I investigated and realized it said guilt free... My son laughs at me for that!

Well, today, my skin is dry and itchy, I'm really crabby and irritable, and when I tried to put my contacts in this morning, got a really horrible burning pain in my eyes. Kind of like putting soap in your eyes. I am very new to the gluten free lifestyle.. is it possible that all this is part of the reaction to consuming a non-gluten free item yesterday??
Alice

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Takala

Takala

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,555 posts

Posted 15 October 2010 - 01:48 PM

Yup!

#3 ravenwoodglass

ravenwoodglass

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,792 posts

Posted 15 October 2010 - 02:35 PM

Yea it sure could be related to the glutening. You may want to hold off on oatmeal for a little while also until you are well healed. Some of us don't tolerate even gluten free oats and you don't want to be taking chances right now. When you feeling better and have healed go ahead and add them back in to see if they agree with you.
I hope your feeling better soon.
Courage does not always roar, sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying
"I will try again tommorrow" (Mary Anne Radmacher)

celiac 49 years - Misdiagnosed for 45