This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Enzymes?

blondie1985

blondie1985 Rookie

Anyone take them? I ran in to a woman in Henry's the other day who was telling me that I should be taking an enzyme of some sort with my celiac diagnosis. Something about it helping to eliminate any sorts of "accidental" gluten I may consume? Insight/advice anyone?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

elocin71 Apprentice

ok i'm a newbie myself but my ND gave me such a product. the enzyme she was referring to was probably dipeptidyl peptidase IV (DPP IV). i used it once for possible glutening from eating at chevy's but honestly i couldn't tell if it helped. i will be curious to see if anyone else has experience with these enzymes. i posted a question about it once but all i got back was that they were skeptical of taking something every day for the rest of their lives.

Anyone take them? I ran in to a woman in Henry's the other day who was telling me that I should be taking an enzyme of some sort with my celiac diagnosis. Something about it helping to eliminate any sorts of "accidental" gluten I may consume? Insight/advice anyone?

Lisa Mentor

I think she was making reference to a product called "Glutenese". It's been subject of much debate on this forum. It makes some outstanding claims, but it's not meant for people with Celiac Disease. Just it's name is a turn off to me and leaves me suspicious.