2 replies to this topic

#1 Biketrials247

Biketrials247

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 06 March 2004 - 06:24 PM

Hi all, I am new to this...but here goes.

Cooking is not the problem in my kitchen. In my home, I have to work alongside my non-Celiac mother. For starters, I have to do my own shopping in order to provide myself with good foods, however I was more interested in some other problems. I am going to such great lengths to prevent any contamination of my foods when preparing meals. My preperation area is cleaner than a hospital could do with an autoclave. However, other areas may not be so well taken care of. Despite all of my care. reactions keep occurring. Recently, I watched my mother use the same rag which she uses to wipe up bread crumbs etc to wipe off the coffee maker(as well as the dripper on the inside). I feel that this may be the source of my problems. I know I am using only gluten-free material in the process, so I am beginning to wonder if I will ever be able to cook while I am still at home or not.
I guess what I am really asking is how careful do I need to be? do I need to buy a new coffee maker? is my mother spreading gluten all over our kitchen, creating an unsafe barrier between me and any food in my house?
Any suggestions on keeping a gluten-free diet, while cooking in a non-gluten-free house? or am I pretty much religated to prepackaged meals for months?

thanks,
Kevin

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 gf4life

gf4life

Our family "photo" as drawn by my daughter Hannah

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,634 posts

Posted 06 March 2004 - 06:47 PM

Hi Kevin,