Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Modified Food Starch - Avoid?
0

14 posts in this topic

I've read conflicting articles about modified food starch, so wanted to check with some of you to see what your experience is with it. I've been avoiding it completely. I was diagnosed in March, but it seems recently that it doesn't take much at all for me to get really sick, so I'm pretty cautious. I've read that modified food starch is usually corn unless specified, but I've seen labels that have both modified food starch and modified corn starch, so I'd assume that mfs is wheat?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I've read conflicting articles about modified food starch, so wanted to check with some of you to see what your experience is with it. I've been avoiding it completely. I was diagnosed in March, but it seems recently that it doesn't take much at all for me to get really sick, so I'm pretty cautious. I've read that modified food starch is usually corn unless specified, but I've seen labels that have both modified food starch and modified corn starch, so I'd assume that mfs is wheat?

It SHOULD be corn based if it is in the US, however, to be 100% sure you should always check with the manufacturer.

Personally, if it is a main stream widely known US brand I tend to trust it. If it is some unknown small or local brand then I will call and check.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In the US, if the food starch is derived from wheat it must be declared a "wheat ingredient" on the label.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I find myself avoiding it too because I'm SUPER sensitive...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In the US, as stated, if it is wheat that fact must be clearly disclosed. It is most commonly tapioca* or corn. It is never rye or barley, so in the US if it does not say wheat then it is gluten-free.

*Some people, including some celiacs, are sensitive to tapioca.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




In the US, as stated, if it is wheat that fact must be clearly disclosed. It is most commonly tapioca* or corn. It is never rye or barley, so in the US if it does not say wheat then it is gluten-free.

*Some people, including some celiacs, are sensitive to tapioca.

I have a newly diagnosed friend who LOVES tapioca and has been experiencing some glutened symptoms recently...could it be related to the tapioca?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It SHOULD be corn based if it is in the US, however, to be 100% sure you should always check with the manufacturer.

Personally, if it is a main stream widely known US brand I tend to trust it. If it is some unknown small or local brand then I will call and check.

As others have said, if it's from wheat It MUST say so. No need to call anybody.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a newly diagnosed friend who LOVES tapioca and has been experiencing some glutened symptoms recently...could it be related to the tapioca?

There are people on here who have said they have trouble with tapioca.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a newly diagnosed friend who LOVES tapioca and has been experiencing some glutened symptoms recently...could it be related to the tapioca?

It's possible to be intolerant to tapioca--I am particularly sensitive to it. It's not related to gluten, but a separate sensitivity. I get a very dry mouth from the time I take a bite and later, stomach pain. It's different from my gluten reaction.

Your friend could try omitting tapioca for a week or so and then trying it alone and see how she feels. This approach is the best way to ferret out problem foods.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There are people on here who have said they have trouble with tapioca.

My daughter and I both have major problems with tapioca.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

How can we be sure the item with the ingredient "modified food starch" is a made in America product? So much has some components made in another country.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

How can we be sure the item with the ingredient "modified food starch" is a made in America product? So much has some components made in another country.

You can't, but if it is sold in the US, it must conform to US label regulations, and wheat, if present, must be disclosed. I personally haven't encountered modified wheat starch in over a decade on the diet.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've seen wheat starch a couple of times but clearly labeled.

Tapioca and I are not really friends. I don't get super sick from it but I do get minor issues sometimes. I'm sparing with it and I don't eat it often.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've been puzzled by the "modified food starch" for a long time also. Fanta orange pop (and other flavors) say that on the label. & I've always been wary of it. There is a high-end grocery store in my town that has another brand of pop for sale right next to the Fanta. It carries a Gluten-Free label, as if to suggest that the other brands are not. I don't know where Fanta is made, since I don't have a bottle in front of me, but I will stop worrying about it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,670
    • Total Posts
      921,685
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • So my heart has been doing weird stuff post gluten challenge. Skips beats, arrhythmias, chest pain. It was getting a bit better then worse again in July.   My cardiologist has done 2 stress tests, halter monitor, and we have not caught anything other then harmless pvc's. But I KNOW this is not right for my heart and it has gone wacky out of sync and we never catch it on a damn test. All of my doctor's were connected out of a larger practice, so the GI, cardio, neuro, and primary care can all see the mountains of tests I had and think I am a nutcase the moment I walk through the door. I will admit that I informed the old GI about the DGP test being positive and I sent over some info on the test as they were basically using TTG and old gliadin tests, and they were receptive. But for the most part, I do not trust doctors. I was once told I was in false labor when I actually had 13 gallstones and an infection in my bile duct. I have more horror stories, as we all do. So, my protein and RBC were low in the hospital but all up to good levels now so it is not a vitamin deficiency. My heart has already skipped multiple beats today. The other day, it again went out of rhythm for just 20 seconds or so. I am not drinking coffee or alcohol because of the acidity, so it is not that. I was glutened on August 24th and probably once in July. Does anyone have weird heart issues that vanish eventually? If so, how long does it take? I am an over-thinker, which has its pros and cons. I know we are at an increased risk for CAD which is not really my concern right now. My gut is inflamed, my thyroid is inflamed and my adrenal gland was effected by all of this. I sort of wonder if an exposure to gluten causes some kind of myocarditis, an inflammation that would not be picked up a sonogram per se, and may eventually vanish with a gluten free diet. Has anyone ever had experience with myocarditis? I did a lot of reading on Roemheld syndrome, gastro-cardio syndrome, which is basically a set of cardio symptoms resulting from your gut. Praying it is just that! I just feel like now that I have a diagnosis, I need to rebuild a team of doctors that I feel have my back. This is a sucky disease that can have a lot of ill effects and I need a team I feel is intelligent, supportive and willing to research. I already have a new GI and a great Endocrinologist. I am seriously contemplating a new cardio and neuro as they both talk to me like I am a 12 year-old with "hysterical girl syndrome".
    • I was not officially diagnosed with narcolepsy when I was younger and still haven't.  However, even in my junior high and high school years and on through my college years staying awake was always a struggle for me.  maybe the gluten was a factor back in junior high and just didn't realize it.    There were times in church and other times I would just BAM fall asleep without warning.  Frustrating and somewhat embarrassing to say the least.  Now that I have been off gluten for close to a year now, the "feeling" of needing to sleep is becoming less and less.  Still have periods of sudden sleepiness, but not as often any more.
    • when they first came out, I read the ingredients on them, and they don't seem to contain malt.  But the company, at that time specifically posted on the website that they  are not gluten-free.  So I don't drink them.
    • Rum is naturally gluten free, but in cases where it is flavored, spiced, etc. you have to be careful where they might add a malt in the natural flavorings. I been using Admiral Nelsons coconut rums in cooking for finishing off stir frys, and adding a bit of flavor to caramelized ingredients for a few years now, I have never had issues with those. As for the Morgan, I would be careful with the spiced version as they might use a malt based ingredient in it. I did a bit of research and like you found no conclusive evidence to if it contains gluten or not. The plain rum from them is listed on many and been tested by several groups and has come up gluten free. On a side note if your a celiac or have intestinal damage I would avoid alcohol or drink in moderation. I personally only use it in cooking.
    • Hi, It seems they advertise it as a malt beverage.  Malt is made from barley normally, so it would not be gluten-free.  Unless they specify the malt is corn malt, it is always assumed to be barley malt per FDA labeling regs.  
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

    There are no registered users currently online

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,669
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    Cjplmon
    Joined