#1 DucksnPucks

DucksnPucks

New Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts

Posted 01 November 2010 - 03:10 PM

Hello all,

I'm new to the Celiac family and having a rough week. I got a little lazy and allowed myself to eat small amounts of gluten last week, and the week before. I thought that since I really haven't had it bad, that my body would be ok with a corn dog here, or a small cheeseburger here. Well, the fatigue gradually began to build to the point now that I am struggling to make it through the day. Minor tummy problems, mostly C and some grumbling, though this morning I felt a bit nauseous. Big time loss of appetite and I've been losing weight now for about three weeks (about 8 pounds in three weeks).

I have been gluten free for about three days now. Fatigue seems to be the same, no real improvement. Tummy is doing OK. Appetite is still gone. How long before I start feeling better? Can it take a few weeks to get back on track? I haven't really had a major attack since 2001 when i dropped 40 pounds. That one lasted about 4 months, lots of D and stomach problems. I wasn't diagnosed then, told I had Chronic Fatigue and IBS. Since then it's been little tummy upsets here and there, lots of bloating, and little bouts of fatigue until this past July when things started going south.

Any ideas on how long it will take to get my energy back?

Thanks and much love to you all!Thanks to all for your support!

J

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Marilyn R

Marilyn R

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,486 posts

Posted 01 November 2010 - 03:54 PM

You will never get better if you cheat. :ph34r:

If you stick close to the diet, you should feel progressively better week after week, but there will be some ups and downs, and you may discover more confounding food intolerances. Six months later, I'm feeling much better.