Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Food Label Question
0

13 posts in this topic

can you eat something with the ingredient "modified food starch" it's so hard to find foods without all the "hidden" ingredients. extremely frustrated.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

In the US, if its made from wheat, they have to label it. I have heard in the US its usually made from corn because corn is cheaper and more shelf stable. I wonder why all this "stuff" is in products sometimes. I see salsa with just the basic tomatoes, onions, peppers, salt, citric acid. Another brand has mod food starch, autolyzed yeast, etc. Why? Why? :angry:

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Modified food starch gives the salsa a consistency that sticks to your genetically modified, canola oil fried corn chips better. ;)

And yes, in the US if modified food starch is made of wheat it has to be declared on the label.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ya, as far as Celiac & Gluten Intolerance- you're fine- its usually from corn

but as far as health- we are being fed a crapload of crap :( i had a SEVERE reaction to High Maltose Corn Syrup that i wouldnt wish on most people... i was researching it, and basically they said that it's "relatively new to human consumption" so that "they" really dont know what it does to people... great...

i also heard from a best friend- her friend's husband was bragging about his latest business trip to China... he was responsible for making sure they were seperating the "Natural Flavors" from the "Fragrances" at this particular factory.... ewwwww

careful out there- we're part of a science experiment :/

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ya, as far as Celiac & Gluten Intolerance- you're fine- its usually from corn

but as far as health- we are being fed a crapload of crap :( i had a SEVERE reaction to High Maltose Corn Syrup that i wouldnt wish on most people... i was researching it, and basically they said that it's "relatively new to human consumption" so that "they" really dont know what it does to people... great...

i also heard from a best friend- her friend's husband was bragging about his latest business trip to China... he was responsible for making sure they were seperating the "Natural Flavors" from the "Fragrances" at this particular factory.... ewwwww

careful out there- we're part of a science experiment :/

WOW...and we wonder what's going wrong with this world.... :blink:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Now I am more confused than ever. I am also newly diagnosed and the list I received from the dietician says no modified food starch. When I google it, it says in North America it is fine for people with Celiac's. After reading these answers I am not sure if it is ok or not. If a label says Modified Food Starch, if it is made from wheat will it say ( wheat ) afterward, so you know the diference?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In the US, modified food starch HAS to say wheat, it that's where it comes from. That is very unlikely.

As to the list your dietitian gave you, it may be woefully out of date. The one I got from the dietitian at my doctor's prohibited all vinegar, liqour, artificial food color and flavor among other substances now known to be gluten free.. Thank goodness I now know better.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

but as far as health- we are being fed a crapload of crap :( i had a SEVERE reaction to High Maltose Corn Syrup that i wouldnt wish on most people... i was researching it, and basically they said that it's "relatively new to human consumption" so that "they" really dont know what it does to people... great...

High Maltose corn syrup.

Now that is a new one on me!!

Maltose is a sugar derived from barley so it's a no-no.

Maltose is also used as a sugar in many Asian sweets.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

High Maltose corn syrup.

Now that is a new one on me!!

Maltose is a sugar derived from barley so it's a no-no.

Maltose is also used as a sugar in many Asian sweets.

Your post has me confused. The maltose in high maltose corn syrup is not derived from barley. It's derived from corn. Maltose is found naturally in barley, but it's also manufactured from many grain starches by processing them with alpha-amylase. Commercially it's made from barley, wheat, corn, rice, tapioca or cassava. Unfortunately, a lot of foods do not list the source of the maltose so you have to know whether the manufacturer is one that consistently declares barley as well as wheat-derived intredients. If you're lucky enough to run across high maltose corn syrup, there would not be gluten in that ingredient.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Skylark:

Your post has me confused.

I was led to believe that maltose was barley sugar.

You see maltose as a sugar in a lot of Asian sweets in Asian markets.

Do food labelling laws have to declare wheat if it's derived from wheat in the US?

Which, of course, doesn't help if it's made of barley.

If maltose is an ingredient alone and it does list wheat is it safe?

Does the fact that it's paired with corn make it corn.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here is what the Canadian Celiac Association has to say about Maltose:

A simple sugar obtained by enzymatic breakdown of starch (potato, rice, barley or wheat). Although barley or wheat may be used in the production of maltose, the manufacturing process renders maltose gluten-free.

In the US, *any* wheat-sourced ingredient must be disclosed as wheat.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Skylark:

Your post has me confused.

I was led to believe that maltose was barley sugar.

You see maltose as a sugar in a lot of Asian sweets in Asian markets.

Do food labelling laws have to declare wheat if it's derived from wheat in the US?

Which, of course, doesn't help if it's made of barley.

If maltose is an ingredient alone and it does list wheat is it safe?

Does the fact that it's paired with corn make it corn.

Where did you get the idea that maltose was always barley sugar? Maltose is simply a disaccharide like sucrose or lactose. Maltose is named from the process of "malting" grains, where they are soaked until they sprout, and then air dried. In the process enzymes in the grain convert the starches into sugars including maltose. Malting is done to many different grains, including corn, wheat, rye, barley, millet, tapioca, or rice. Asian maltose syrup is often made from rice or corn. As you note, wheat maltose has to be declared. Major manufacturers like Kraft, Con-Agra, and Unilever have also committed to declaring barley-derived ingredients. In the US, corn is much cheaper than barley, so it's not reasonable to assume that maltose on a label would usually be barley-derived.

Your phrase "paired with corn" doesn't make sense to me. "High maltose corn syrup" is a single ingredient, a sugar syrup manufactured from corn. It has nothing to do with gluten-containing grains and is only an issue for people with corn sensitivity.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
"High maltose corn syrup" is a single ingredient, a sugar syrup manufactured from corn.

In an ingredient list, the ingredients are separated by commas. The string of words "high maltose corn syrup" contains no commas--it is one ingredient. It is corn syrup that has a high concentration of the sugar maltose (which occurs naturally in corn).

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,120
    • Total Posts
      919,468
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Hi Alok, I suggest not eating any soy.  Soy is one of the top 8 food allergens in the USA.  Soy has other things about it that are not helpful to us.  Plus it is often sprayed with pesticides that are not so great for people.  Maybe you can try some other food for a while?  Also it might help to wash all your vegetables before using them. Just some ideas, I hope they help.
    • What she said!     The antibody panel is an important part of follow-up!
    • I have Celiac, Hashi's thyroid disease, Sjogren's Syndrome and Reynaud's Syndrome.  All have gotten better, inflammation wise, after 11 years gluten free.  I am very strict with my diet, never take chances if I feel the food is not really gluten free and limit the number of times I go out to eat.  I am not saying I never go out but it is normal for my husband and I to not see the inside of a restaurant for 3-4 months at a time and then I only eat at the places that have never glutened me.  I am lucky in that the state I live in has 3 restaurant chains that are run/owned by Celiac's, so they get it right every time. You have not been gluten free for very long, in reality.  It took me three years to completely rid myself of all symptoms related to the disease.  I was 46 at the time of diagnosis.  I know it is hard to accept that healing can take that long but you have to measure it differently.  Looking back, you should feel better than you did a year ago.  As time goes on, healing slowly takes place until you realize that certain problems have disappeared.  It is not as cut and dried as taking an antibiotic for an infection. http://www.drweil.com/drw/u/ART03424/Elevated-Creactive-Protein-CRP.html  Read this article on elevated c reactive protein. It is by Dr. Weil, who is a Harvard trained physician who chose to go the more natural route to healing people.  All his stuff is interesting.  Yes, your elevated level will most likely come down, as you heal better.  Pay attention to it but don't let it freak you out too much! 
    • Hi Calla, I think the safe answer is 12 weeks on gluten for a blood test.  I am pretty sure they say 2 weeks on gluten for the gut endoscopy.  But usually people/doctors don't want to  do an endoscopy before a positive blood test, so catch 22 there. There's a chance you still have active antibodies in your blood after 3 weeks off gluten.  But nobody can tell you for sure.  If you can get you doctor to test you now and in 9 more weeks if you are negative now, that might work.  If the doctor is willing to do 2 tests, that would be great. The best thing would have been to do all celiac disease testing before going gluten-free.  But sometimes it doesn't work out that way. The University of Chicago celiac center has an FAQ that answers some of your questions. http://www.cureceliacdisease.org/faq/i-dont-have-the-money-to-get-tested-for-celiac-disease-but-a-gluten-free-diet-makes-me-feel-better-is-it-okay-to-start-the-diet-without-being-diagnosed/ Welcome to the forum!  
    • Couldn't have said it better!  
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,159
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Anns
    Joined