Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Colorings, Red #40, Yellow #5
0

8 posts in this topic

After being diagnosed a few weeks back, and getting advice from others and my father who is gluten intolerant. I do get conflicting views of what is good or bad.

One of the ingriediants my Dad had mentioned to stay away from seems to be in LOTS and LOTS of things, especially candy. He had said he remeber that Red #40, and Yellow #5 both could contain gluten. But now he doesn't remeber where that was, and I haven't been able to find much reference to it on the web.

Does anyone know, is Red #40 and Yellow #5 ok? I'm thinking it could be one of those "depends" cases. As I see Gobstoppers and Nerds both have the above ingrediants, but Wonka phone support says they are both gluten free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I don't think you'll find that either one of these dyes ever has gluten. I've never found an artificial color with gluten.

Many ingredients that you are told to be careful about are actually always or nearly always gluten-free.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Both of those candies are gluten free. 99.9% of the time these flavorings are gluten free but you still have to check when you see that unless it is a brand that will not hide anything, like Kraft.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I forgot what company it was, but I remember reading that they put gluten in a few of their colorings. You just have to be careful.

but Wonka phone support says they are both gluten free.
If the info is fairly recent then I don't think there would be any problem eating those :D Enjoy.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As I see Gobstoppers and Nerds both have the above ingrediants, but Wonka phone support says they are both gluten free.

article Gluten-Free Candy, as of October 2011 on about.com listed:

The following Nestle candy products are NOT gluten-free:

Wonka Nerds

Everlasting Gobstopper

now i don't know what to believe. i talked to someone who studied gluten free at college and he said that if it doesn't' say Gluten free on the package it probably has gluten. even lunch meats have gluten. So far i only know of Boar's Head meats that are gluten free

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




article Gluten-Free Candy, as of October 2011 on about.com listed:

The following Nestle candy products are NOT gluten-free:

Wonka Nerds

Everlasting Gobstopper

now i don't know what to believe. i talked to someone who studied gluten free at college and he said that if it doesn't' say Gluten free on the package it probably has gluten. even lunch meats have gluten. So far i only know of Boar's Head meats that are gluten free

Welcome to the board. You are replying to a very old thread and things do change. If you have doubt about a product call the company directly. There are many lunch meats that are safe. Hormel has many that are safe as does Oscar Meyer and others. Best to get prepackaged rather than from the deli slicer since the slicer can be a source of CC. Some companies are very good at labeling, Kraft and Unilever products are a good example, if you don't see a gluten ingredient it is safe. If you are having trouble figuring out whether a particular item is safe for you start a topic about it here and perhaps someone will know.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

article Gluten-Free Candy, as of October 2011 on about.com listed:

The following Nestle candy products are NOT gluten-free:

Wonka Nerds

Everlasting Gobstopper

now i don't know what to believe. i talked to someone who studied gluten free at college and he said that if it doesn't' say Gluten free on the package it probably has gluten. even lunch meats have gluten. So far i only know of Boar's Head meats that are gluten free

As ravenwood just said, nearly every deli meat out there is gluten-free.

As for the Nerds and Gobstoppers, the ingredients themselves are gluten-free, but they are made in a facility that also makes things with gluten. Some folks don't eat things made in shared facilities; many do. Your choice.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

. i talked to someone who studied gluten free at college and he said that if it doesn't' say Gluten free on the package it probably has gluten.

Really? a college course is being offered on "gluten free"?? wow--that's new.

And that is not necessarily true--many, many packages of food items in the stores do not have a "gluten free" label and they are naturally gluten free--like boxes of oranges and packages of beef, etc.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,375
    • Total Posts
      920,572
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • https://www.facebook.com/groups/SingaporeCeliacs/
    • Today was the big day when I went to the GI and this is the first time I have felt heard and taken care of.  I told him about the two celiac blood tests  (in my first post) normal, he said that often happens, even with people who do have celiac and he needed to see the report and pictures from my endoscope.    I had filled out the appropriate Kaiser paperwork for Sutter to send all my medical records, but they ended up sending a disc with records to me, which Sutter said they could not use.  We also talked about gluten sensitivity v. celiac, and he said a lot of people are sensitive to gluten even if they don't have celiac. He said that my symptoms sound like classic IBS, which can be caused by any number of things.  He asked if I would try the FODMAP diet, which limits certain foods and requires no gluten. He said my symptoms sound like classic IBS, which he said can be caused by any number of things, including gluten sensitivity.  He has asked if I would try the FODMAP diet, which has restricted foods as well as no gluten because most gluten products have wheat in them.  So, since I am planning on going gluten free anyway, and I don't want another endoscope or blood tests if absolutely necessary, I am going to try the FODMAP diet and see what happens. I filled a consent form at the GI office today to have all my records sent to him so he can view the endoscope pathology report and photos.  I have an appointment with a Registered Dietician on September 30, and follow up appointment the GI in 4 months. 
    • gluten-free andee, according to an article on celiac.com  that talks about this subject see this link http://www.celiac.com/articles/24406/1/Celiac-Diease-and-Other-Autoimmune-Diseases-Equals-Low-Inflammatory-Diet/Page1.html Quoting the author "In the author's personal experience, a gluten-free diet has many limitations. The reactivity between alpha gliadin and corn, millet, oats, rice and dairy has been denounced as invalid by gastroenterologists and celiac disease researchers. While at a medical school in Missouri, biopsies did not show improvement in villous atropy until all alpha gliadin sources and corn, millet, rice and oats were removed from the diet."  Note this research is two years old but hilites the problem with non-gluten rice protein that you are having. It is the alpha gliadin sources that it causing the cross reactivity you are experiencing when you eat rice protein's. She says quoting "Celiac disease has gotten the most attention in antibody research, but the current data on cross-reactivity of antibodies is allowing a better understanding of gluten sensitivity. Antigen reactivity to alpha-gliadin can trigger immune attacks on many individuals beyond those with positive DQ 2, DQ 8 and TTG test results. She goes on to say "A low inflammatory diet customized to each person through testing for cross-reactivity or elimination diet protocols is needed to restore a state of health and well-being."  which sounds exactly like what you are doing. If you are still having problems after elminating rice a 30 day elimination of all the alpha gliadin proteins might be in order.  Corn is a common reactivity problem I hear with a gluten allergy from my friends as well as the obvious lactose problems that can be common among celiacs.  But rarely do you hear Rice allergy's brought up in context of a gluten allergy. I am glad you are making progress on finding your triggers. Read the whole article for yourself to see if there are nuggets of truth I did not highlight in my response. I hope this is helpful. Good luck on your journey to health. Posterboy,
    • One other thing - you might be able to tolerate some dairy if it's only the FODMAPs problem. I discovered that many cheese such as cheddar have effectively no lactose. And my wife sometimes makes 24 hour yoghurt, which also has effectively no lactose. Those have been fine for my tummy.
    • Celiacs got better gluten-free. Post-war, grains became available again and the same patients got sick again. 1952 the Gluten-Free Diet is officially ... View the full article
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,451
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Chelsealarita
    Joined